We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Ranked #63 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Interesting wedding venue”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three nights when a family member had both wedding ceremony and reception there. It is a restored hotel from the days of old Hollywood, with vintage photos on the walls of the public areas. As a wedding venue, it had a lot to offer; outdoor space and indoor as well. The ceremony was held in the main lobby, and the reception downstairs in a lovely room, with an old school style clamshell background behind the seating for the bride and groom. There was an adjacent outdoor area where one could step outside. The food was very good, and the service as well. All in all,everyone was satisfied with this as a wedding venue. As for the rooms, I saw several in the main building and would say that the furnishings were nicer in the main building than in my accommodations. I stayed in one of the Suze suites which are ideal for families. Didn't think the decor was as nice, but there are are adjoining rooms, one with bunk bed, and two separate bathrooms, which was a plus, especially for getting dressed for the wedding, and the main reason we chose the suite. There were a few issues in the first room we were booked into, and we wound up switching rooms. The staff was very helpful and accommodating in resolving these issues. I would suggest choosing a room carefully, since some are next to an outdoor pool which unfortunately we didn't get to use because of bad weather! There is a vintage bar in the building with typical bar food. Location is a few minutes drive from downtown, in a neighborhood with restaurants. Parking is convenient in the on site lot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyQu15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
I know I speak for all of the team members here when I say that we thoroughly enjoy hosting all of our wedding events and sharing the memories with you. To this day there are still guests returning to the Lafayette who were married here from the 40's to present and it is amazing to hear the stories of their ceremonies. Our Mississippi Ballroom is ideal for a wedding reception with a great dance floor, the original clam shell backdrop of the stage that you mentioned and outside patio adjacent to the main floor. Please contact our Catering Department with inquiries on availability for a site tour. We're happy that the Suze Suite worked so well for your preparations even though you had issues with the initial room and had to move. Also that the weather was not favorable for the pool - next time you're able to make it to San Diego hopefully it lives up to it's reputation. Thank you again for the review of your stay as well as your family members special day, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    394
    123
    64
    43
See reviews for
446
318
74
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We were really excited to stay at The Lafayette Hotel because we're budget travelers and it looked so nice online and due to budget we don't get to stay in a lot of nice places. Although it's really nice in person, it's just not as "glamorous" as the photos online made it seem so we were a bit disappointed. We were given a room right outside the pool which would have been handy if we went swimming but the pool was so crowded with screaming, splashing kids we didn't venture out. We were down in SD to visit the zoo and explore downtown and the hotel was very centrally located to both. The room was nice and clean just a little small.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseinthemash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for choosing the Lafayette, our apologies if your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I am assuming you were with us over the Holiday weekend (Labor Day) as I do remember the pool to be quite crowded most of the time due to the three-day weekend. We again apologize for the inconvenience as we do wish for all of our guests to have a good time by the pool. Hopefully you had a great time at the Zoo and exploring downtown, there is certainly a lot of ground to cover between the two. Feel free to contact us directly if you should be returning to San Diego so that we might arrange a quieter room for your next stay and inform you of any events at the hotel. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked the Lafayette on Booking.com for a 4 night stay, mainly because of the glowing reviews and the affordable price. We thought this looked like a cute "boutique" hotel, but I guess I should have dug a little deeper before booking.

First of all, the neighborhood where this hotel resides is nothing special and isn't where I would choose to stay if I didn't know better. The hotel sits on a busy street and if you get a room facing the front, be prepared for a lot of street noise coming though the old windows.

When we first entered the hotel, the first thing I noticed was the old and musty smell. The lobby was decorated nicely, however - kind of cool and retro. We were treated very nicely at the front desk and directed to the underground/secure parking (which was nice, since I would have been hesitant to park outside, afraid my rental would get vandalized).

When we got to the room, everything went downhill. I swear, they must have given us their worst room they had (#238)! Very small and dingy, no cool/retro wallpaper or freshly painted walls like they advertise, smelly, loud and on the front of the building, overlooking the trash/recycling area for the hotel. After closer inspection, we found a FILTHY A/C filter, dust on top of the t.v., cracked/dirty bathroom tile, dirty windows, peeling paint, and furniture that looks like it was bought at Goodwill. The bathroom was tiny with no counter space to put your toiletries. The last straw was when my boyfriend sat next to me on the end of the lumpy bed and the mattress flipped up, almost dumping us both on the floor.

Even though our reservation was pre-paid and non-refundable, I was ready to leave and just lose the money we had spent; nonetheless, I agreed to let my boyfriend call the font desk to see if we had any options. After 15 min of waiting for a manager to call back, the girl from the front desk called back and offered to move us to a better room. We were shown the suite right next door and although it was more spacious and had better decor/furniture, it still felt old and still sat facing the noisy street (plus the doors to the room's balcony did not seem safe/secure at all).

The only reason this hotel was given more than one star is because the front desk staff was great and allowed us to check-out, refunding my pre-paid amount in full. I was a bit disappointed that the manager on duty didn't bother to speak to us at all and apologize for our experience but I'm not surprised either. It's obvious that the management is the main problem with this hotel.

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Our sincere apologies that your expectations were not met with the quality of your guest room or sense of security regarding the area. I can assure you that the area around the hotel is very safe and personally have never heard of any incidents in the immediately vicinity that would cause concern. We do thank you for your feedback and it has already been communicated to our Management team for careful consideration. I do appreciate that the front desk staff was able to help ease your concerns although ultimately I wish it resulted in you staying with us. Please contact me directly if you would like additional follow-up and we hope it wasn't too difficult relocating elsewhere in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel may not be downtown but offers good accommodation with an interesting choice of local restaurants/eating places within walking distance. This was our fourth visit and we have never been dissatisfied. Great for all ages. Spent a great afternoon by the pool listening to cool jazz, eating and drinking - excellent service provided by the attentive friendly staff. Every room has a picture of a 30s/40s film star/celebrity.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have more shade
See more room tips
Green Features: Towels changed when left on floor. Separate trash and recycling bins in common areas.
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you very much for returning to stay with us! Although we are not downtown it is a short drive to everywhere in San Diego. We like to recommend the North Park area to our guests as it is much closer (5 minutes) and has an array of great restaurants and bars for entertainment. It's great that you had a relaxing day by the pool and thank you for the kind comment about the staff. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and have a nice safe trip back to London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed here with a friend over 9 nights and it was a perfect stay. When we checked in we were given a poolside room which had a lovely view of the pool area. The room was in great condition and was very clean and the staff at reception were very helpful. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us for such an extended period of time! Poolside rooms are either ground level with a patio or we have second floor with balconies that all have direct views of our famous Weissmuller pool. I will make sure to relay your comments to all of the front desk team and am pleased you found everyone to be so helpful. We would definitely like you to stay with us again, please contact us directly when you figure out a time and date you can return and we would love to assist you. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This hotel is in the North Park area of San Diego, only 10 minutes from the airport, downtown, etc. So, great location. Also, not being right downtown you don't get burned for a $40 per night parking spot and the nightly rate was very reasonable. The area itself is loaded with any kind of restaurant you might want and you are only minutes away from Trader Joes, Starbucks, etc.
The hotel is groovy and hip. The pool area is awesome with a serious fun vibe. Maybe not the best place for toddlers or babies but my 11 and 13 year olds loved the action. During the day music is on and the place gets packed, but by 10PM, the place is very quiet. If you want a deck chair grab one first thing in the morning.
We stayed in a Suze Suite which was perfect for our 2 kids, and us. The bathrooms are small but there are 2 in these rooms so, no problem!
We really enjoyed our 3 nights here and would stay again. Good staff, decent rooms, and more atmosphere than you can shake a stick at!

Room Tip: Families should stay in a Suze Suite, and ask for an upstairs room to help keep the noise down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adognamedrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your review of you and your families stay with us. I believe you covered all aspects of the Lafayette! 10 minute drive from all area attractions (or a fairly inexpensive cab ride) including SeaWorld, the San Diego Zoo and downtown Gaslamp District. I would suggest taking a peak at the pictures of the Suze Suites to really get a visual on the room as they are perfect for family vacations such as yours. Very glad that your children enjoyed the pool party as well, generally we suggest with toddlers and babies during the weekend to come a bit earlier or a bit later as it does get fairly crowded mid-day. Thank you again for staying with us, please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Melissa Ruiz & Aimee Moya provided amazing service. The entire staff at Lafayette is cordial, respectful, professional, and friendly.

We always enjoy the Suze suite as it's so kid friendly- the kids always love drawing on the chalk board.

Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronan O, Front Desk Supervisor at The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for choosing the Lafayette! We will make sure that Melissa, Aimee and the rest of the staff receive your kind words. Our Suze Suites (or family) suites are perfect for any family traveling together as they are equipped with bunk-beds for the kids and as you mentioned a chalk board for them to entertain themselves with. We hope the rest of your trip was as amazing as your time with us and hopefully you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,128 reviews
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#58 of 278 in San Diego
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pearl Hotel
#26 of 278 in San Diego
973 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows

Property: The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows
Address: 2223 El Cajon Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92104-1103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
#12 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#63 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1946, the Lafayette has been the site of historical glamour, and offers a unique change from a typical hotel experience. Among its famous guests were Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Ava Gardner and Betty Grable. Inside, the Mississippi Ballroom took center stage where Hollywood’s stars came to dance the night away. Conveniently located to all shopping, entertainment and business areas, the historic Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows is, indeed, the best lodging choice in San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Lafayette Hotel, Swim Club & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel San Diego
Lafayette San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing