We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Ranked #59 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 December 2013

very close to anything one would need in San Diego. Clean hotel and friendly staff. location is the key for this place. just jump in and you can see the bay on one side and downtown on the other. very quiet and great rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jonathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience. We are glad you were able to enjoy our beautiful location on the bay and our friendly staff. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to having you back in the near future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Clean, comfortable, friendly and efficient. Checking in and out was very easy. Rooms were clean. The only downside is paying so much for parking -- $21 per day, but that seems to be the case everywhere in San Diego.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you Melissa B for your five star review. We greatly appreciate your business and the feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Nice room with a good view. Everything appeared clean and no funky smell. Shower head was a little low for my taste and the heating/cooling system was a bit noisy but otherwise a nice room. Very convenient to the airport only taking us ~20 minutes including dropping off our rental car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Shawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your business trip. We are pleased you enjoyed our location, cleanliness and complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. We look forward toward having you back when your business or leisure travels bring you to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet area of San Diego, it's close to the airport, and has a beautiful view.

Although I'm a Hilton Honors Gold Member, the receptionist didn't tell me about the benefits I have, neither offered my room upgrade.

The room is good. It has pretty much everything you need besides a mini-bar. Comfortable bed, and an average bathroom.

The breakfast is ok, there's not a lot of options, but it could be worse, definitely.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the pier.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGuterres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our property. We are happy you were able to enjoy our location on San Diego Bay and the quietness of Harbor Island. We look forward toward welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband was working near San Diego so I planned a business trip to San Diego to see him for a few days before my business meeting so this was both business and a romantic get away. It was my first trip to San Diego, this hotel was in a great location and the staff was very accommodating. The free shuttle service to/from the hotel/airport was great. Great view! I would choose this hotel again when I return to San Diego.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you Linda C for your five star review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your romantic getaway and business trip. We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your accommodations and service. We cannot wait to welcome you back. Thank again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

If you book at a special rate anticipate being treated like you belong at a no star motel regardless of your Hilton Honors Status. Front desk staff is rude and unwelcoming. Room had drywall texture falling from ceiling. Absolutely the worst experience for a Hilton property. The resturant is mediocre at best, over cooked food served cold. Price does not indicate quality at any level.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiskeyMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review you experience. You have our most sincere apologies for the service deficiencies you experienced. I can assure you that you experienced an exception and not the rule at the Hilton Harbor Island as you can see based on other reviews. I am confident when you return you will experience a level of service you are accustomed to receiving and we are accustomed to providing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed here during a conference at the San Diego convention center. The hotel is a short (free) bus ride form the airport, located at one end of the two 'fingers' of harbor island which is a man-made peninsula that over-looks the airport on one side and San Diego bay on the other. My room over-looked the bay (and downtown area) which provided wonderful sunrise and daytime views. I barely noticed any plane noise. The best and pretty unique feature for me was the shoreline path that runs along the length of the island - this is ideal for running/walking (no stops for traffic) and is well-used by both hotel guests (2 other hotels located here) and locals. I walked along here at sunset/early part of the night several times and would consider it as safe as the downtown area. There are restaurants at both ends of the fingers which look good but I did try either of these. I used a shuttle bus courtesy of my conference to access the convention center/downtown area which took about 15-20 minutes - not sure if the hotel bus also provides this service. If not, you may be looking at a taxi ride or a pretty long walk along the coast to get downtown. The hotel itself is typical of this type - very comfortable with friendly staff and the standard trimmings.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a bayfront room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDlondon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our property. We are glad that you will able to enjoy your stay while attending a conference downtown. We do offer a complimentary shuttle to and from downtown four times a day. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport - Old Town
1.1 mi away
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#50 of 278 in San Diego
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Address: 1960 Harbor Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92101-1013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £115 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel in San Diego, CA is located just minutes away from the exciting adventures and beautiful landscapes that San Diego has to offer. Boasting incredible views of the harbor and marina, the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island sets the tone for any trip, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Lounge at the pool, host your next meeting in our stylish boardroom, or simply relax in your spacious guest room or suite, complete with luxurious bedding and bath amenities and a delicious room service menu. Enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle, and FREE in-room high-speed wifi Internet access. Here at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel, the only thing we overlook is the harbor, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing