We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Ranked #55 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed only one evening during a lay over in San Diego. The airport shuttle was convenient; however, the hotel was outdated. When we arrived in our room, there was only lotion and conditioner on the counter (no soap or shampoo). I ran the hot water for 10 minutes and it continued to be luke warm at best. The staff was mediocre (there was a wait to check in, no assistance with baggage offered). We took a cab to the gas lamp district for dinner and it ran about $40 round trip. If you are looking for a quick stay near the airport, this may be adequate, but I would not recommend for vacation purposes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrbco03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We welcome all feedback as a training opportunity whether constructive or positive. We have addressed your concerns with our staff. We do offer a complimentary shuttle service to the Gaslamp District downtown four times a day. During the first quarter of 2013 we finished a multi-million dollar renovation of our guestrooms, lobby, business center and restaurant. We have just completed updating our rooms with new mattresses and bedding.

If you return I am confident that you will experience the level of service you are accustomed to receiving and that we are accustomed to providing. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    359
    133
    37
    17
See reviews for
222
307
68
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Hotel staff at all levels and disciplines were well trained and courteous. They responded to special requests quickly and accurately whether it was for breakfast or lunch, or room accommodations. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you Jack A for your excellent review. We appreciate your kind remarks and they have been shred with our staff. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward toward next time. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

It has been a long time since I have stayed at a Hilton due to stiff competition, especially when it comes to bang for the buck. I picked this hotel as my flight into SAN didn't get in until 11:20 on Friday and by the time I debark, retrieve bags and get to public transportation, it will be almost midnight. Most hotel shuttles stop at 11PM; but Hilton runs until midnight. After making reservations on-line and opting for the unbelievable $5 upgrade option (theirs first-then mine second), I spoke to the desk to verify the late hour pick up. Super sharp female receptionist told me to call when I reached the pick up area and not to worry if it was after midnight as they would wait for me. Things did get screwed up at the carousel and my bags were the last off from a full flight. By the time I crossed the overhead to the pickup area it was well past midnight and the van was waiting at the curb! At check in the receptionist gave me a double upgrade to a 9th (top) floor suite. I was initially confused by the zig zag course to get to the elevator when I realized the design of the hotel isolated the elevator cores from the guest rooms, which made for a super quiet room early the next AM when I wanted to sleep in a bit. The room was absolute quality throughout from linens, to amenities, to design, configuration, views and appointments. It has been a long time since I have seen this quality in a large chain hotel. The next morning, breakfast was calling as dinner on the flight was a long time ago. The hostess was charming and very thoroughly explained all of the breakfast options-continental or full Buffett or menu- and she showed me to a great bay view table. I don't care for precooked scrambled eggs & was going to order poached eggs from the menu, even though I would pay a premium to do so. The waitress explained that I could get the full Buffett, same price and the kitchen would poach my eggs. Nice little extra. The Buffett was huge, top quality, many healthy choices, great yogurt, fruit & juice selections as well as numerous hot & cold options. What a pleasant surprise to see such a well done breakfast Buffett. $122 room + $5 upgrade + $27 big breakfast (incl. tip) and $5 tip for the free shuttle for a total $159 for a top quality hotel experience is a GREAT value in my book. I need to mention the incredibly well trained and very friendly staff who are running this operation. It is such a refreshing experience compared to the larger competition on the same island where I have stayed in the past.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPTAINCUISINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you CAPTAINCUISINE for taking the time to write such a raving review of your stay. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including your interactions with our staff. Your comments have been shared with our staff and they have been recognized. Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for the night due to a layover in the airport. They had the best customer service, amazing views of the bay, and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in a hotel. I will go back next time I'm in town. I've stayed over 11 nights across the country this month and this is by far the best hotel of all!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank C1658XOmelissas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you so much for the great compliments! We greatly appreciate your business and are very pleased that you enjoyed our new mattresses and bedding. We look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The Sheraton overbooked and had to put us up at the Hilton for one night. The hilton has a great views and they just got on new box springs and mattresses that are super comfy. all the staff are very friendly . After seeing them just once they remembered who we were. I think I would choose this hotel over the Sheraton next door.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank kortkass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you kortkass for the great review! We are glad you had the opportunity to stay with us and were able to enjoy our location on San Diego Bay. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed at this great location after visiting family for the holidays. We had a wonderful harbor view with every amenity needed for an after-holiday respite.
The rates were very reasonable and transportation to the airport was available free of charge.
There are a couple of good restaurants nearby, but the hotel also provides service to others not in walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you joanne j for you exellent rating! We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we cannot wait to welcome you back soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week. Excellent location near all parkways. Room was over looking the marina.
My only neg. was the food at the hotel. Ate there once and it was enough us us. There are many excellent restaurants near by. Some in walking distance.
The parking gates work some times. Had to re- do my card 4 times.
I still give this hotel a 4 star rating

Room Tip: Top floor over looking the navy yard great view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Towel reuse. Energy lighting. Energy efficient air conditioning and heating. Energy efficient windows through the hotel
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience. We appreciate your rating and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
#53 of 279 in San Diego
1,364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#61 of 279 in San Diego
1,580 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Property: Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Address: 1960 Harbor Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92101-1013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel in San Diego, CA is located just minutes away from the exciting adventures and beautiful landscapes that San Diego has to offer. Boasting incredible views of the harbor and marina, the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island sets the tone for any trip, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Lounge at the pool, host your next meeting in our stylish boardroom, or simply relax in your spacious guest room or suite, complete with luxurious bedding and bath amenities and a delicious room service menu. Enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle, and FREE in-room high-speed wifi Internet access. Here at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel, the only thing we overlook is the harbor, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing