We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staya on the waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
Ranked #59 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Parking can be tricky in this area and there is a charge for it because there really isn't any on this peninsula. The rooms were nice, comfy beds and quiet rooms. Definitely request a waterfront view with a balcony if possible. The breakfast downstairs on the weekend was very good too with a large spread of items.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our green efforts as it is one of our top priorities. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great location, Great view and Great service. Breakfast is wonderful. Shuttle is very responsive. Great place to stay to catch a flight or to see San Diego. We would not hesitate to stay here again for overnight travel or for a prolonged visit to San Diego.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you John L for your five star review! We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward toward your next visit to San Diego. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The view from the San Diego Hilton was very nice. It overlooks the ocean. It is adjacent to the marina, which holds some fine boats. The hotel is clean, and the staff are nice. The restaurant in the hotel is good, and the bar is also good. I attended a meeting at this hotel, and everything was at a standard I would expect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments regarding are staff, room and location. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

An exceptional visit from beginning to end! Clean rooms, friendly staff, delicious breakfast and dinner meals. The mattress/pillows felt fluffy and new. In room iron was clean and not rusty as I've seen in other chains. The view of the harbor is amazing. There is a fully outfitted exercise room and outdoor pool for working off the calories from the all you can eat buffet breakfast. Sunset was visible from the restaurant window. I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you Karl B for the wonderful review! We are thrilled you enjoyed all aspects of our property and cannot wait to welcome you back! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This place is a Union friendly and allow workers work with dignity.we were about 30 rooms from my co-workers and we all agree to stay only and buy at those hotels with union workers,at the same time worker are more to work with love and passion,everything was so nice and clean,rooms,restaurant excellent service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

We greatly appreciate you review and your business. We look forward to welcoming you and your group back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A surprisingly intimate hotel for both Hilton and at an airport. Felt more personal and friendly than expected. Rooms were nice, especially if get one with harbor view. Other side looks out at a nice view as well. Nice walking path out front. So-so restaurant next door and average hotel restaurant. The hotel is a little out of the way except for the airport and it is expensive to park there ($21 per night). If you want to see San Diego, you will need a car. Still pretty close to downtown and to Point Loma which was a surprise treat with its lighthouse and tide pools. Much more comfortable and intimate than the usual airport hotel. No executive lounge.

Room Tip: We had a great view of the harbor. The other side should have been a nice view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our quiet and intimate location. We hope to seen you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights from 5-10 February 2014. Not the best location but it was near to the venue of the conference (@ Sheraton).

The hotel provides free shuttle pick up from the airport and 4 times a day to the city. However, please note that you have to call the hotel reception if you need a pick up from the airport or downtown. There's only 4 scheduled timing for downtown which are 10am, 2pm, 4pm and 8pm. Special mention to front office supervisor, mr morales Gabriel, he has been very helpful during our stay. Bravo to him and keep up the excellent service!

Otherwise, a cab from gaslamp to the hotel will cost about $15. Or you can ask at the reception for a free shuttle to the airport, that's where you can take bus 922 ($2.50 per trip) to downtown where you can change to other transportation. Get the day pass ($5 for unlimited rides) which is more worth it.

Check in was swift (great to be a Hilton honors member). Checked in to room with marina view (west facing) on the 8th floor. Room was big with a king bed. I love the pillows! Firm yet fluffy! However, the mattress was to soft for my likings. Nevertheless I did had great night sleep.

No minibar in room. Coffee maker machine and Coffee Bean coffee available. Iron and ironing board available. Another Hilton without in room slippers. No shower gel provided. No mug for toothbrushing in bath room. Bath room was kinda small. May be a problem for ladies who wish to put on their make up. Hair drier available.

Room fixtures looks brand new. Can't find any flaws, except a minor tear found on the desk chair. Otherwise perfect!

Love the small balcony that offer great view of the marina.

We've gotten a family & fun package that includes wifi and breakfast. However it seems that wifi is free for all guests and only continental breakfast was given to us. The continental was quite pathetic to my standard. If you want to upgrade to a fell buffet breakfast that only add in 6 extra items ( sausages, scramble eggs, Californian biscuit and beacons etc) which cost an extra $6 each.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank noelloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac G, Manager at Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for your detailed review! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit during your conference and Gabriel provided great customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 286 in San Diego
5,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 286 in San Diego
2,789 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island

Address: 1960 Harbor Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92101-1013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in San Diego
#72 Business Hotel in San Diego
#78 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £89 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel in San Diego, CA is located just minutes away from the exciting adventures and beautiful landscapes that San Diego has to offer. Boasting incredible views of the harbor and marina, the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island sets the tone for any trip, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. Lounge at the pool, host your next meeting in our stylish boardroom, or simply relax in your spacious guest room or suite, complete with luxurious bedding and bath amenities and a delicious room service menu. Enjoy our complimentary airport shuttle, and FREE in-room high-speed wifi Internet access. Here at the Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island hotel, the only thing we overlook is the harbor, and we look forward to welcoming you as our guest soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island Hotel San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing