We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for a couple of nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Ranked #102 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The La Quinta in Old Town was fine. We used it as a "base of operations" for exploring San Diego and it worked well. However, it isn't really a destination in and of itself. I'd rate it as a low four or high three star hotel. We would probably stay here again because it was a good value, but we'd look for something a little nicer first.

Here is what we liked:
- Clean & quiet room
- Great location!
- Nice staff.

Here is what would have bumped it up a star or two:
- Fix the broken stuff (broken first floor ice machine, broken hot tub, loose hand railing)
- Better breakfast. We stayed five days and only ONE day did they bring out the good stuff (scrambled eggs, sausage, and yogurt). The rest of the days it was your typical waffles, dry pastries, and orange juice.)
- No parking charges. (Even though it is expected, I always feels a little bummed when I see the $40-$50 bill at the end of my stay for parking.)

In summary, we had a nice clean place to stay while we explored Old Town, Sea World, the beaches, etc... but I wouldn't give this place five stars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Derek_UT,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are delighted to hear our hotel is a “good place to stay” and that we have “nice staff”. We work hard in providing excellent quality service and are pleased you took notice. Please know your concerns are being addressed with our staff so that future travelers will not have a similar experience. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 753 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Ana, California
11
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Freeway access is great, short walking distance to Old Town San Diego. Hotel very reasonably priced, staff friendly, efficient and the rooms are clean and comfortable, I slept so soundly.
A nice continental breakfast spread, loved the waffles!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is a “great place to stay”. We work hard in providing outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we offer a complimentary breakfast, including waffles, and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego! Again, thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank JerMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here for the convenient location to Old Town (didn't want to rent car) and the price to meet up with my son who's a marine. Expect Marine families on the weekends after graduations at MCRD. Didn't bother us as we expected that in advance. Location is great, walked to Old Town and used the bus depot there to go to mall. Took a trolly tour from Old town which was easy and worth it. Airport shuttle was great and on time. Room was as expected. Something was wrong with the a/c unit as it would only shut off by unplugging it but it wasn't a big deal to us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dmskee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport. We are delighted to hear that our hotel’s “location is great”. As you mentioned, we are within close proximity to several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are glad you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

hotel was nice and clean and modern room. breakfast was just OK seems like they cater too pet owners and families. in the courtyard pool lots of noisy kids and not a peaceful place to sit, read or relax. overall was fairly priced and close to old town not a bad deal but stayed there too long 8 days

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank arnoldmeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport. We are pleased to hear our hotel “was nice and clean and modern room”. As you mentioned, we recently went under a renovation and are delighted you enjoyed your guest room. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A 5 Star Experience. Clean, comfortable, affordable, and very friendly personnel. And a great location to many of San Diego's best places to visit! Old Town Shopping, La Jolla, Sea Port Village, and Gas Town area are all very easy to get to and offer unique restaurants, shops, and site seeing that is really unique to San Diego. A must to see when you are there. Winter or Summer you will not be disappointed in your visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport. We are thrilled to hear you received a “5 star experience” at our hotel. We work hard in providing outstanding quality service and are delighted you took notice. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Earlier this month we needed to get to the airport for an early morning flight so opted to stay at La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. It's an ideal location, just a few minutes from the airport by the hotel's free shuttle, and it was the perfect spot for exploring Old Town on foot and finding dinner before turning in for an early night. The room was comfortable and spotless, everything worked and there is free Wi-Fi...always a plus. The only negative was the lack of hot water at 5.00 a.m. Even after two showers and using the bathroom sink the water was barely lukewarm. I mentioned it on checkout and later in the online survey sent by La Quinta. There was a quick reply with apologies and a comment that the water problem had been addressed. Breakfast starting at 6.30 a.m. was included in the rate but we unfortunately missed this as we needed to grab the first airport shuttle at 6.00 a.m. A few people have mentioned how quiet their room was, despite the proximity to the I-5 freeway. That statement couldn’t be truer. We heard absolutely no traffic noise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport. We are pleased you had a “quiet and convenient” stay at our hotel. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary shuttle services to and from the airport and are delighted you were able to benefit from them during your stay; especially after missing out on our breakfast. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Western Inn
#128 of 278 in San Diego
348 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Old Town Inn
#11 of 278 in San Diego
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport

Address: 2380 Moore St, San Diego, CA 92110-3016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Green Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
#77 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £81 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
La Quinta San Diego
San Diego La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing