We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Ranked #95 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Arrival”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Choose a different hotel. Curtesy van stopped early in the evening and started late in the morning. Had to take a taxi to the hotel, $25..At check in
I believe the clerk noticed my sec. Code since he had the back of my credit card facing him. He called for a cab to pick me up in the morning. Then I checked my account and had been charged without being told $25.00. Called down to the reception and was told that it was for incidentals? ? They have no movies or minibar? When leaving in the morning there was a limo service waiting,? I thought it was suppose to be a regular cab. The charge was now another $25. So never again, would be better to have paid $100 for a close nicer hotel at the airport.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us as it allows us to continually improve. As you mentioned, we do offer shuttle services between the hours of 6:00 am and 8:00 pm, daily. We do charge $25 in incidentals, which may be put towards a broken item, smoking in the room, or towards something purchased in our mini-mart. However, the incidentals fee will be refunded to your card within 3 business days if was not used during your stay. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    223
    108
    39
    24
See reviews for
281
165
44
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Walking distance to Old Town, 5 minutes away from Downtown and Sea World , its the best location for the traveler. Clean rooms , secure parking and is next to the entrance to the 5 freeway.The free breakfast is really goo too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Gus O,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear our hotel has an “excellent location and is “really clean”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porter Ranch, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This Old Town hotel is easy on and easy out to the freeway, the only way to be closer would be on the merge lane. Rooms are small but clean and tidy, very efficiently put together. But the in room coffee was terrible, the breakfast was not up to par and the quality was so bad it tarnished the whole experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Steve P,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We are pleased to hear your guest room was “clean and tidy, very efficiently put together”. We Work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are delighted you took notice. Please know your other concerns are being addressed with our staff so that future travelers will not have a similar experience. We hope you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us in the future. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Not only was it a nice value, but the staff were very helpful. From allowing us to check-in early (our flight was in town quicker than anticipated) to allowing me to hit the hot tub before the pool area opened (my fibromyalgia was acting up), to the great coffee at breakfast each morning, this hotel is a no-doubter for any return trips to the area.

The hotel is located less than a mile from the Marine Corp Recruit Depot (we were there for our son's boot camp graduation), easily within walking distance if you don't feel like taking the free shuttle offered by the hotel, as well as within easy walking distance to Old Town, where you'll find all kinds of interesting shops and restaurants. While there is no on-site restaurant, there are quality options that offer free delivery, as well as the aforementioned options within walking distance.

The room was clean and bug-free, with modern amenities and good water pressure. The beds were clean and comfortable, and the air conditioning was in proper working order. The pool area was clean, and the water perfect for swimming or relaxing in the hot tub.

Everybody we dealt with at the front desk were extremely nice and always willing to help, especially Park and Harold, and including the shuttle drivers (who are always the best to ask about local attractions, etc.). In fact, when my pregnant wife was feeling faint after a long day at our son's boot camp graduation, our driver made it her mission to get us to our hotel first, even though we were not the first stop she intended to make on that trip.

The area seemed very safe, as we were able to comfortably walk the short distance to Old Town for numerous meals (check out Miguel's, and especially Old Town Mexican Cafe) and shopping (tourist traps, including the Old Town San Diego State Historic Park) without ever feeling to be in any sort of danger.

There are cheaper options in the area, but I found that the few extra dollars we spent were a wise investment on a great three-day stay, and we'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Be sure to sign up for the free shuttle offered at the front desk upon check-in, some time slots fil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geezis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Geezis,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear your “room was clean” and that our staff was “extremely nice and always willing to help”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property, as well as outstanding quality service and are proud to hear we have achieved just that. Please thank your son on our behalf for his future services for our country. We look forward to seeing you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Normal room, good bed, free wifi is weak almost impossible to use. small swimming pool which i did not use (good for children), very close to the airport and to get on the highway. breakfast is free but includes only coffee some cakes a belgian waffle machine. eggs, yogurt and vegetables not there..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Shaul C,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our hotel. We are pleased to hear your guest room had a “good bed”. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast that includes two options of cereals, instant oatmeal, toast, danish, assorted fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh Belgian waffles, coffee, tea, and a range of juices which changes daily. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard San Diego Old Town
#120 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Old Town Inn
#22 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Western Inn & Suites
#136 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Address: 2380 Moore St, San Diego, CA 92110-3016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Green Hotel in San Diego
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
La Quinta San Diego
San Diego La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing