We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Ranked #95 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

y husband & I were looking for modest hotel, that was reasonably priced & located, and that's what we got. The room was rather small and a little shabby but it was clean and quiet. The staff was cheerful & efficient, so that was good too. The breakfast was the usual LQ fare, but they did offer hard boiled eggs, & we appreciated that. It was my first encounter with the "nickel & diming" fees that I have read about, so I was surprised by a nightly fee for the room safe. I imagine next year there will be a pool fee too. I guess it pays to ask. The parking was a little tight for the car we'd rented but appreciated that it was on site. We did have a coupon code, so that made it a reasonably priced room for California in the spring.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank losita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Losita,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you were able to appreciate it during your stay. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Choose a different hotel. Curtesy van stopped early in the evening and started late in the morning. Had to take a taxi to the hotel, $25..At check in
I believe the clerk noticed my sec. Code since he had the back of my credit card facing him. He called for a cab to pick me up in the morning. Then I checked my account and had been charged without being told $25.00. Called down to the reception and was told that it was for incidentals? ? They have no movies or minibar? When leaving in the morning there was a limo service waiting,? I thought it was suppose to be a regular cab. The charge was now another $25. So never again, would be better to have paid $100 for a close nicer hotel at the airport.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Stig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is invaluable to us as it allows us to continually improve. As you mentioned, we do offer shuttle services between the hours of 6:00 am and 8:00 pm, daily. We do charge $25 in incidentals, which may be put towards a broken item, smoking in the room, or towards something purchased in our mini-mart. However, the incidentals fee will be refunded to your card within 3 business days if was not used during your stay. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Nieuw-Vennep
1
Reviewed 9 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Walking distance to Old Town, 5 minutes away from Downtown and Sea World , its the best location for the traveler. Clean rooms , secure parking and is next to the entrance to the 5 freeway.The free breakfast is really goo too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Gus O,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear our hotel has an “excellent location and is “really clean”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This Old Town hotel is easy on and easy out to the freeway, the only way to be closer would be on the merge lane. Rooms are small but clean and tidy, very efficiently put together. But the in room coffee was terrible, the breakfast was not up to par and the quality was so bad it tarnished the whole experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Steve P,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We are pleased to hear your guest room was “clean and tidy, very efficiently put together”. We Work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are delighted you took notice. Please know your other concerns are being addressed with our staff so that future travelers will not have a similar experience. We hope you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us in the future. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Not only was it a nice value, but the staff were very helpful. From allowing us to check-in early (our flight was in town quicker than anticipated) to allowing me to hit the hot tub before the pool area opened (my fibromyalgia was acting up), to the great coffee at breakfast each morning, this hotel is a no-doubter for any return trips to the area.

The hotel is located less than a mile from the Marine Corp Recruit Depot (we were there for our son's boot camp graduation), easily within walking distance if you don't feel like taking the free shuttle offered by the hotel, as well as within easy walking distance to Old Town, where you'll find all kinds of interesting shops and restaurants. While there is no on-site restaurant, there are quality options that offer free delivery, as well as the aforementioned options within walking distance.

The room was clean and bug-free, with modern amenities and good water pressure. The beds were clean and comfortable, and the air conditioning was in proper working order. The pool area was clean, and the water perfect for swimming or relaxing in the hot tub.

Everybody we dealt with at the front desk were extremely nice and always willing to help, especially Park and Harold, and including the shuttle drivers (who are always the best to ask about local attractions, etc.). In fact, when my pregnant wife was feeling faint after a long day at our son's boot camp graduation, our driver made it her mission to get us to our hotel first, even though we were not the first stop she intended to make on that trip.

The area seemed very safe, as we were able to comfortably walk the short distance to Old Town for numerous meals (check out Miguel's, and especially Old Town Mexican Cafe) and shopping (tourist traps, including the Old Town San Diego State Historic Park) without ever feeling to be in any sort of danger.

There are cheaper options in the area, but I found that the few extra dollars we spent were a wise investment on a great three-day stay, and we'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Be sure to sign up for the free shuttle offered at the front desk upon check-in, some time slots fil...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geezis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Geezis,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport. We are thrilled to hear your “room was clean” and that our staff was “extremely nice and always willing to help”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property, as well as outstanding quality service and are proud to hear we have achieved just that. Please thank your son on our behalf for his future services for our country. We look forward to seeing you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town/Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
1
Reviewed 28 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Western Inn
#131 of 278 in San Diego
345 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego SeaWorld/Zoo Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport

Address: 2380 Moore St, San Diego, CA 92110-3016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Green Hotel in San Diego
#66 Business Hotel in San Diego
#77 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £81 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn San Diego Old Town Hotel San Diego
La Quinta San Diego
San Diego La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing