We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Luxury Hotel”
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Offenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Luxury Hotel”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Location and ambience: The US Grant is located centrally in the Gaslamp district. All important sights are in walking distance. The hotel has a luxrious, traditional-American interior. *****

Rooms: Rooms are large with especially large bathrooms. Interiors are luxurious. *****

Breakfast and Restaurants: I did not have breakfast or dinner at the hotel. n/a

Service: Service was v gd. There was also a turn-down service for rooms which was more bothersome than helpful if I was at my room. ****

Bang/Buck ratio: The hotel was worth the money (I was on a conference rate, though). However, if you do not care for luxury, you may find a better personal b/b ratio. ****

Overall rating: **** 1/2

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fradoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    634
    220
    73
    62
See reviews for
412
963
144
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The staff was amazingly helpful and kind. The luxury was superb. The decor was beautiful! We came there for a business trip for my husband, and brought our young son. It wasn't such a great place for kids, but without kids it would have been just wonderful :-) Gaslamp is right around the corner, as well as a shopping center and bus/trolley stops. Great location for food and getting places. Because it is in the city, the noise from trucks and people is quite loud. We did enjoy the stay, and especially the staff!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel surpassed my expectations, my family and I ended up here after running away from a horrible hotel. The beds were comfortable, everything was spotless, the staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. This is definitely a home away from home, I couldn't ask for more. The only thing I didn't like was that it didn't have free wifi service, but I survived that. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and is definitely on my top list of great hotels in San Diego.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Let me start by staying, I did not stay in the sleeping room here. But I did do all the negotiating for my colleagues stay during our conference closeby. I did visit the hotel and view the public areas.

Beautiful elegant hotel -- Very nice art gallery and dining on lobby level. Nice meeting rooms downstairs.

Was so happy to get the Fed. Gov't rate for my colleagues to stay at this superb hotel - when we could no longer get the rate at the Westin Gaslamp around the corner. It was an easy walk to the conference and they had a beautiful hotel to come back to in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvenueFoch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I spent a few days at the US Grant and had a blast.
Quick check-in, staff used my name every time, food was probably the highlight of my stay.
Kids n wife loved the food.
Staff provides excellent service.
Great location for gas lamp.
Will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yousouf j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

After my fiance and I left another hotel that had misrepresented itself on-line, we decided to drive around San Diego a bit to see what was available. We recognized the U.S. Grant from an on-line review and decided to walk in. And thank God we did!!!! The service was simply sensational. When we walked toward the check in counter and met Raymond Morales we knew we were in good hands. Raymond said there was nothing available but he was able to work some magic and immediately was able to accommodate us. He (as well as the other staff members) could not be more helpful. The rooms were lovely and spacious, the hotel was impeccable. So helpful and friendly they all were that we decided to have dinner at the hotel even after Joseph the concierge had given us many options to choose from. Excellent choice. Their restaurant (I forget the name) was fantastic, Sergio (the waiter) was knowledgeable, provided excellent service. Dinner was amazing. I could not recommend this hotel more than what I am doing right now. If you are a young couple looking for a classy, beautiful yet affordable hotel in the middle of the hip and happening area of San Diego yet want to feel you want to be transported to another era where service, class and beauty rank much higher than anywhere else in a big city, this is the place for you. If I could give it 10 stars I would.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review on your recent stay!

We are all overjoyed to share this wonderful review of your experience in the historic US GRANT, A Luxury Collection Hotel. It appears that you received the full treatment from the Front Desk to the room to the acclaimed Grant Grill Restaurant and Lounge. Each of the people mentioned that made a memorable impact will be celebrated for their achievement!

Please do come visit us again soon and congratulations on your engagement! It appears that you have a lifetime of memories in the making and we were happy to be there for this brief sojourn.

Sincerely,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Wonderful palace with large impeccably decorated and furnished rooms. We booked a superior room (top floor, jacuzzi) - the bath tub was really big! All members of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Great cocktails at the bar and appetizers. Breakfast is à la carte and is very good. The hotel is perfectly positioned for all downtown attractions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,188 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing