We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality is the best in San Diego” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #48 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
“Hospitality is the best in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Absolutely amazing, home away from home! Love the impeccable hospitality, cleanliness and dinning! Thank you Steven, Demi, Nicholas, Jesse, Clifford, Anthony, Alberto, Cecil, Jamie, Roz, Damien and Oscar for an absolutely amazing 30 day luxury stay! But above all, you became my family.

Green Features: An absolute "must see" scenic vegetable and herb garden.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
You are a very special guest Gail! In fact, I would say you are more family than guest after your extensive stay with us! So proud to have met and exceeded all of your expectations over the course of this month long vacation and all of the names you have recognized will be recognized internally as well. We can't wait for your next visit! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    624
    218
    73
    61
See reviews for
404
946
144
635
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Truly the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Service was exceptional in every detail. Most comfortable beds, perfect shower heads, directions and recommendations for everything you can imagine. An impromptu tour by Clifford made us appreciate this historic building even more!!

Green Features: I was very impressed at their environmental awareness programs in place. Thank you for doing your part.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
That is an amazing review Jennifer! You are one of the lucky few to receive one of Clifford's historical tours! I am pleased that it made such an impact on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to relive that great experience. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I arrived at the US Grant around 9:00PM, beautiful hotel, almost similar to the Fairmont properties located in Vancouver, Victoria, and Banff. I’m not sure if it’s because it was 9:00PM, the hotel seemed rather empty. The huge lobby only staffed two employees, and it even made me wonder if the hotel even had room service because it was so empty.

I checked into my Superior Room with a single king bed, the room was gorgeous, nicely renovated, with large washrooms. One nice touch was that the housekeeping placed two pieces of chocolate on the bed. I received complimentary internet service that was worth $14.95 as part of my SPG Gold status.

The property is a bit old, which is expected. However their rooms seem to be renovated and they’ve tried to keep the original design of the hotel. Elevators were the traditional small sized ones you’ll find in old properties, and there’s a musky old smell in the hallways. Doesn’t really bother me too much though.

Housekeeping and every staff in the hotel was friendly. One thing to note was the valet, when I was coming back from my visit to Pacific Beach, he actually remembered my name upon me getting off the car. Bravo!

Overall quite a nice stay. The location proximity to the Westfield Horton Plaza was a nice touch, as you can walk over and grab some cheap food instead of eating at the hotel. Check-out was a breeze, and my folio was printed out as requested. I parked at the US Grant for three days but they adjusted it to two. So it was fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudosandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for the kind review Sudosandwhiches! At first I was concerned about being compared to another hotel brand but what matters is that you clearly hold them in high esteem so I appreciate it very much! I am glad our uniquely adorned rooms and classic style exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back quite soon! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

great hotel. Concierge mike so helpful. everyone very friendly and helpful. Beautiful hotel, very clean. room was great, location close to all of sandiego
great value for the cost of the room. Bed and pillows were so comfortable. Loved the chocolate every evening

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Greetings Jil,

We truly appreciate your sharing your sentiments on our hotel and services. 102 years in the making and our story is still not yet fully told. We are happy that we were able to create some memorable experiences for you and hope that other Trip Advisor readers agree!

Please come back again soon and continue to explore what differentiates us from the rest.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We loved the US Grant Hotel. From the beautifully restored lobby to the friendly and knowledgeable staff, we considered ourselves lucky to be staying there.
The rooms were well appointed and spacious. We had a corner room with a large bathroom.
The wait for the elevators was never more than 30 seconds.
Just 2 blocks from the Gaslamp district, the concierge and front desk staff could suggest a multitude of excellent dinner/drinks locations. Petco park is within walking distance - and I am not one who LOVES to walk- LOL. Going at a leisurely stroll, it took us 20 minutes to get there.
Look forward to returning to San Diego and staying at the US Grant again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagofan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Greetings Chicagofan 66,

It appears you are a fan of great cities, great hotel experiences and are loyal to Trip Advisor. We appreciate your bringing all of these worlds together for this great review. While you may be a Chicago fan today, we hope to woo you over to San Diego for your nickname!

Thank you again for your generous review and we hope to see you again soon,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Pro: It was all perfect! The hotel is beautiful André located in the heart of Gaslamp Quarter. I can't wait to stay there again. The staff was very helpeful, but Sam was the best!
Cons: Valet parking is very expensive!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luciane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Please accept our appreciation for your gracious review.

We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with our Trip Advisor readers. We know they, just like you had some high expectations for an exceptional stay and we hope that your review builds confidence in their selection!

On the other note, thank you for your name recognition of Sam our Social Host. He has been with us since opening and is a gentleman and true asset to our organization. We will celebrate him accordingly!

Come back and see us again soon,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
219 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

From the moment you arrive, it is very beautiful. They staff was friendly, courteous and attentive. When we arrived, they sent up a variety of fruit and a welcome card. Albert and Mark from the concierge desk advised us and helped us set up or travel arrangements. For the first few days we walked or used a transit card for trolleys and buses to get to various attractions, zoo, seaworld, museums, etc. We were in San Diego for a week. The last few days we used a company called TravCar. The great thing about them, they don't jack up the prices like the airport rentals, its a flat fee and they are open until 9:30 pm. You can return the car the same day, get a shuttle to your hotel and don't have to pay for parking. if you want a quick good economic breakfast, IHOP express and Jamba Juice are both around the corner. Horton Plaza, the mall is right across the street as well. At Ross, we picked up a few extra travel essentials.
There were a few hiccups with tidyness of the room and turndown service, but all we addressed immediately. My two boys loved getting the chocolates and one night cookies. My one visit to the Grant Grill I was not impressed with the food or drinks (see other review). After a long day of local attractions, it was great having the large jetted tub for relaxation.

Overall the stay was exceptional. For the price it was a steal. Comfortable, oppulent, quiet, great staff. Thank you to Jared Dayton for setting up our accomodations. Thank you to all the staff for giving us a wonderful stay in San Diego. Contact them directly for best rates. If you are on the fence between this hotel and another, take this one, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Call directly for best rates, ask for Jared Dayton. Ask about getting upgraded to the historic 11th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Greetings Jon,

We adore the detailed approach you have taken to outline your experience at THE US GRANT. We believe that whether traveling with family, for work or for romantic pursuits or other this 102 year old icon is a destination in and among itself. Your understanding of the intricacies of personal preference has benefited us with this 5 Star review. We appreciate that. we also appreciate your sharing all the balanced feedback we deserve.

If one strives to be helpful to other potential global explorers seeking to find a suitable place to enjoy an experience then by all means you have succeeded!

We hope to see you again and look forward to surprising your little ones with chocolate cookies once again!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#68 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,812 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#19 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing