We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U.S. Grant Hotel, San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Ranked #44 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A super place to stay and a wonderful historice hotel. We stayed at the U.S. Grant for 2 days prior to our cruise and thoroughly enjoyed it. Conveniently located near the Gaslamp District. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK89KDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

I have been seeing more pre and post cruise stays and I love it! Although many trip personas stay with us, few match the excitement of either someone about to go on a cruise or someone that just came from a cruise. We are happy to be your pre and post staycation anytime! Jared, Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 2,511 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel on a pleasure visit to San Diego. If you are a history buff (as I am) you will love this landmark hotel. It has an interesting history (be sure to read about it online and to look at the old photos in the hotel lobby) and is gorgeous inside. I chose to stay here as it was a piece of San Diego history. It also happens to be in a great location downtown. If you are walkers (as we are) you can walk everywhere from the hotel (down to the pier attractions, including Seaport Village) and up to Balboa Park (up 5th to Laurel). And...the trolley happens to have a stop at the Civic Centre just behind the hotel so you can travel right from the hotel to Tijuana for a visit if you like (or to the shopping outlets or to Old Town). The hotel is also right next to the Gas Lamp district where restaurants abound.

In terms of the room, it was a Superior Room which was spacious, tastefully decorated with an ample sized bathroom (which included a large Princess shower). While there was no balcony, our room overlooked the garden which was very nice. The amenities include a turn down service, wifi (free only in the lobby) and valet parking (if you so choose). The bed is heavenly to sleep on (we had a king) with lots of pillows to sit back on and fresh white linens (no bed bugs here). While there is no coffee maker in the room, coffee and tea are complementary down in the Grant Grill. If you are environmentally conscious you can choose a green option and forego linen and towel changes and will be rewarded at the hotel. Service is exceptional at this hotel. Staff are polite, friendly and any concerns are addressed promptly. While we did not try the Grant Grill (too many other restaurants to choose from), it has an excellent reputation. We could not resist a drink in the bar though - an iconic experience.

I highly recommend a stay here. Look for great travel deals online as it can be costly to stay here, but if you want to stay somewhere memorable in San Diego with character, history and excellent service it is well worth it!

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldlyWench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Greetings Worldly traveller,

Thank you for your review clearly speaking to so many of the things that set us apart from our competition. We agree on all fronts but are saddened that you did not enjoy the Grant Grill experience during this visit and only wonder if you left feeling incomplete with your stay?

After 103 years of history in the making we will be here for you to complete the experience on your next visit!

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Let’s get to the point. The U.S. Grant is a beautiful hotel and the most luxurious option downtown San Diego.

Now the fine print…. The 100+ year hotel is an architectural gem that has been lovingly renovated. The guest rooms are spacious (given the age of the property) and beautifully appointed. I like the modern art contrasting the early 20th century architecture. The bathrooms are elegant and nicely sized. The lobby is a knockout and the bar is a fun scene. Service is pitch perfect. …So, you may now be asking, “what’s the catch?”

The US Grant is IN SAN DIEGO and it’s competitors offer lux pools and outdoor spaces. This hotel would be ideal in New York, Boston or Chicago. If you are looking to soak up SoCal sun you may want to try the (YAWN) Manchester Hyatt - - a massive convention hotel with an equally massive pool. If, however you are in SD on biz then I suggest the USG.

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Greetings Pete and thank you for sharing your sentiments on our property,

We are proud to see the positive emotional impact that we have created for you. Interesting that you would compare us to our sister city's hotels and we agree that San Diego is better known for it's beaches, Zoo and other family excursions than luxury. That being said, if you are in San Diego why not enjoy it to it's fullest?

Till next time,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Recently stayed there for seven nights. This is a luxury hotel, but at a price range that won't break the bank. I could not complain about the service, nor the location. Everything was top shelf. I highly recommend it, and looking forward to returning.
If I could fault the US Grant Hotel, it was that they didn't have some of the extras that similar hotels give away for free. I list the following:
a. WiFi. Although there is free WiFi in the lobby area, the Grant wanted $14.95/night for free WiFi in your room. Most hotels offer free wifi these days. If you need WiFi but don't want to pay, ask for one of the lower floor rooms, and you will able to still receive the lobby's signal for free.
b. Parking - Okay, I get it. Downtown parking is not free, but the US Grant wanted $39/night for parking!! This I consider a rip off. I don't mind paying $15-20/night, but $39/night is too much. The work-around is to park at the Ace multi-level park at the corner 7th & Market St for $15/night, and it's open 24/7.

Other items that aren't deal breakers, but aren't perfect either:
c. Ice Bucket - the room supplied ice bucket was so small, that once you place a bottle of wine in it, there was no more room to place a single cube of ice in it. Maybe the ice bucket was only designed to store a tall glass worth of ice in it. If so, then how are guests suppose to chill a bottle?
d. The hotel puts on coffee and tea each morning in the bar area. Nice, but it would have been nicer to make my own coffee each morning in my room, but there was not coffeemaker or coffee to do so.
Once again, great hotel, great location, but if it hadn't been for the work-around solutions in paragraphs a & b above, my thoughts of returning may have been a little less assured.

Room Tip: see comments about WiFi and Parking above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your balanced review,

We value all feedback and employ it to our best measure to impact our guest experience positively. As a savvy traveler your recommendations will hopefully inspire other guests to find us for their San Diego exploration.

Continue to travel well and we hope you return for your next San Diego journey,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights April 10 to 14. We loved the older building, the character, decor and the service. The turndown service every night was a pleasant surprise and the staff was always willing to assist when needed.

Location was terrific as it was right on the edge of the Gaslamp Quarter. Walking distance to a huge selection of restaurants, bars and the ballpark.

My only complaints were with the street noise in the rooms at night due to the older building/windows and the cost of the parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Greetings Richard,

Thank you for taking time to pen this review for our Trip Advisor readers. We hope that this inspires others to experience our 103 years of history in the making. There are so many things about our property that defines us and yet one that we do not want to be associated with is noise. The next time you return let us know this is a concern and we will secure you in a quieter room so this will not detract from your pure enjoyment of our hotel.

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel has really beautiful meeting rooms and an outstanding audio visual component with an intelligent staff to go with it. Stay in a Signature Suite, very quiet, very private. Good blackout curtains and quiet air conditioning. The location is hard to beat. Prices high, tipping is USA style, a must for service. Get the deluxe king. We needed suites for business. Very well laid out. There is city noise, but it’s gone by 11:30 pm. We had jazz in the lounge. Nice place for meeting people.

Room Tip: Signature Suits are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roemanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Greetings,

We have not heard it spun this way before but we are glad that we are doing justice to the President whose face lights up the $50 bill. Whether we are the reason for his placement there may be taking too much credit!

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to your next visit,

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed here before and find it to be one of the best hotels i have ever seen. i say this simply because as a Landmark Hotel, it is just fun to walk around and note the history. the hallways. the antiques. and the memories and pictures. there are similar hotels throughout the country. unfortunately not too many left.

i came here this time and stayed while going through the Peace and Love 1/2 Marathon. the 1/2 marathon was fun. but it was also fun to use it as an excuse to stay at the US Grant. the hotel upgraded me to a suite.

the layout and the suites themselves were opulent. the care taken to set up each room was meticulous. the bathrooms and the amenities are excellent. the beds were very nice. i cannot say the view is much but the location of the hotel is at least rather opportune.

last but not least--the staff and the service. Excellent. Excellent. Excellent.

i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone, if nothing else, simply to see before the Landmark Hotels disappear.

Please go and enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shark4rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFBD, Manager at THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Congratulations on your great achievement!

To have earned this review from you after your special weekend only further emboldens us to push harder for the exceptional services levels we strive to achieve. We are very satisfied that we were good hosts to ensure you a solid performance.

The Rock and Roll Marathon is only a few weeks away...perhaps an opportunity to repeat?

Nathan Davis, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 286 in San Diego
415 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 286 in San Diego
2,097 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#50 of 286 in San Diego
1,013 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#21 of 286 in San Diego
4,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £138 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing