We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and quality of rooms and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #48 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Davis, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location and quality of rooms and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is a luxury classic one...located two blocks from the charming Gas Lamp district...parking is available and the staff is amazing...from the front desk to the housekeeping...the parking staff is most helpful as well.

Room Tip: The location is such that a good room is any room...
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer to clean/or clean and change linens....
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanmiguelsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Short and sweet San Miguel Sandy! Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! (Sorry I couldn't work more "S" starting words into that sentence.... I never was great with alliterations)... Jared, Director of Front Office, not director of poetic prose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    624
    217
    73
    61
See reviews for
404
945
144
635
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the moment we drove up, exiting our work truck in a disorganized fashion, everyone welcomed us with class. We made the reservation on a discount website that didn't appear in their system off the bat, but they handled it with grace. When they learned it was our anniversary, they sent a bottle of complimentary champagne to the room. The room was elegantly appointed. The food was incredible. Yes, parking is expensive, but given the location, it isn't surprising. Everything is walking distance. We left our bags with the bell at check out and our car in valet all day, walked around the gaslamp, down to the water, took a ferry to Coronado, explored the island, and came back at 10pm. No extra charge for parking or keeping our bags 12 hours past checkout. I highly recommend and would stay again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: King deluxe was very roomy. If a view is important to you, request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleanfunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your amazing review and for celebrating your anniversary with us! We are hear to treat everyone from all walks of life with our historic charm and old world luxury service. Thank you for your patience with the reservation; sometimes third party websites have some hiccups but I am glad our front office was able to recover quickly for you! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent three days at the US Grant Hotel while we were visiting our grandchildren and enjoyed our stay. The accommodations were excellent, starting with the fabulous mattresses and the furnishing of the massive sized room. The best thing we are so pleased with, was the quiet and peaceful surroundings. No doors slamming - no voices at 3 a.m. - just a very restful place to put our bodies into after visiting our 5 and 10 year old grandchildren.

Green Features: Because the hotel is right in the heart of downtown San Diego, it was very easy to get around the city.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tedShirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
What kept us from a 5 star ted! Seriously though, thank you for your great review and I will be honest, I do not see "peace and quiet" being listed often due to our downtown location so I am thrilled to get it on our review list! I need to figure out a way to keep this review toward the front page! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Parking costs $40 per night! They way they treat you from the moment you enter the hotel they treat you with such respect and kiss up that you will feel guilty giving them less then $10 tips. Most importantly the standard rooms are not worth it. you need the presidential suite or womething to feel the luxury!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IsaacHaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your review Isaac. I am proud that our team's service was so impactful that you felt the need to tip generously! We have many categories in between our Superior room and our Presidential suite... perhaps a Landmark will suit your tastes better next time! Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here in February for a business trip. The hotel is easy to get to from the airport, and is right in the middle of the Gaslamp District.

Turn down service was offered each night. It consisted of the standard mint on the pillow, pair of slippers by the bed and tune the radio to easy listening music. It was a nice touch.
The room was large and could easily accommodate two people. There is a small wet bar, and seating area. The bathroom is spacious and the windows allow a lot of natural light into the room. The rooms are decorated in “classic” style.

The gym is on the ground floor, and not conveniently located. You have to make 3 or 4 turns down a long hallway. You pass a few conference rooms or ball rooms, so it might be awkward if you walk by and you’re covered in sweat.

The hotel staff seemed willing to do anything within reason. They answered all my questions and provided advice for dinner/attractions.

There is a small art gallery in the hotel that is open during the day. If you get a few minutes I recommend stopping in. The hotel has many artistic features as well.

I didn't have a car, but it is widely known that parking in SD is expensive. Valet service is available, or you can park in one of the public lots near the hotel. Expect to pay about 35-50 dollars a night.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you were staying downtown. It is right in the middle of downtown and Balboa Park is a short walk. The surrounding area is clean and safe, with many restaurants within 2-5 blocks. Finding the hotel at night is easy because the outside is well lit with various colored lights.

This hotel is in the same style and quality of service as the Waldorf Astoria in NYC, but I think the US Grant is better in terms of cleanliness and comfort.

Room Tip: As SPG Gold you SHOULD get an upgrade to the "SPG Floor". The hotel doesn't have much...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel particpates in the "make a green choice" program. You get 500 starpoints for each day you decline housekeeping. Points posted immediately after the stay.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goosebump6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
So today, Goosebump6, I have responded to probably 15 or 20 reviews on various sites. I was a little behind schedule since I was out for the weekend at a volleyball tournament. But details aside, I am happy to report that this review is officially my favorite for the day. Not only is your detailed assessment of various aspects of our property and surrounding area objective and fair, but you are clearly well traveled and have very realistic expectations as to what should be, what should not be, what is normal and what is good. Your references to parking, your comparison to the Waldorf, and the way you view a hotel is excellent. I would almost think you worked in one in your lifetime! So thank you for making this review so great to read and to all others reading this; this person knows traveling. I would trust his opinions on any place Goosebump6 reviews. Thank you for taking the time to share your wisdom and I may be checking your page for my own future travels! Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here 5 nights for business in San Diego. The rooms are a bit small but are decorated beautifully as is the whole hotel. I spent many hours in the bar/restaurant and everyone was very nice throughout the hotel. Rooms are spotless and there are great bathroom products.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FETEEVENTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
One thing we have in common is that if I were not working here I would probably spend a lot of time in the bar and restaurant also! Thank you for being our guest and for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next business adventure. Jared, Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

One need never leave their room while at the US Grant, as their in-room dining is exceptional. I would look forward to the knock on the door each morning when Rene Ozorio china adorned with fresh fruit and pasties would be hand delivered, along with pulpy fresh squeezed orange juice. Reméde Laboratoire cosmetics in the bathroom along with plush robes and slippers make for the perfect breakfast in bed ensemble.

If one does venture out, the local scene is buzzing. Just minutes from the Gaslamp district and the Horton Plaza Mall, the hotel is situated conveniently to dining and shopping. Off the lobby of the US Grant is Celebration Fine Art, a gallery for viewing and purchasing one of a kind masterpieces.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are ideal, the light filled spaces are large and feature a dressing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
You, my dear John T, have quite the eye for luxury! I am amazed you noticed our fine china which our F+B director takes a lot of pride in. It is the little details that we want to set us apart. Thank you for enjoying our in room services and we look forward to welcoming you back! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#67 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing