We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charm and style” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #48 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
280 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“charm and style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for 3 nights. The hotel has an old world charm about it with lots of character. The rooms, whilst not large are more than comfortable. The staff are very obliging and friendly. One of the best things about the hotel is its location. Situated on Broadway it is ideally place for transport and is literally across the street from the Gaslamp District. Highly recommended

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
A very well balanced review! Recognition of the staff, the location, our old world charm. Not much more I could ask for! Oh wait, I thought of one more thing I could ask for... please come visit us again! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    624
    217
    73
    61
See reviews for
404
945
144
635
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The location is wonderful for walking. Quite a few homeless in the area, but not nearly as bad as San Francisco... Easy walk to great restaurants and shopping. The rooms are nice, beds very comfortable. The Grant Grill is a great place for breakfast. Service was very good. The hotel has a fascinating history.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
It is funny you mention San Francisco as a comparison; my sister goes to school around there and she has similar sentiments that they (the homeless) are truly more aggressive up there. I think any fair-weather area is likely to have some since it is so livable down here but its interesting the difference in personality between cities for the transient population therein. Maybe it is the hills they have to walk all over the city? I would be angry too! Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Our arrival was via the drive through drop off at the back of the hotel. A bell hop took our luggage whilst the valet only parking took care of the car.

At check in there was a minor hiccup as our pre booked room was not on record. However this was sorted in short order and we were allocated a room on the 11th floor. I know small things may be silly, but we had our own 'secret' button to get us to the top floor!

Our room had a view over towards the harbour and was very nice. Accent lighting over the bed, 'arty' bed head. It all had an air of effortless class.

After a tiring day we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and quite frankly I'm glad we did.

Pre meal drinks in the bar. My wife had a Sidecar (nice) and I had the US Grant Martini (unusual').

To eat I had a Taste of Risotto and my wife had quail. We both had the NY strip steak. Both were excellent.

A special mention for the staff. All were attentive and gave information willingly especially about the history of the hotel.

Unreservedly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We unreservedly thank you! Sorry again about the confusion at check in... some oddities at times with 3rd party bookings through other websites but most important is that we were able to recover and give you a great stay for your special occasion with us. Thank you for giving us the chance and we look forward to seeing you again. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel was established over 100 years ago. It is very upscale and deserving of the rating I gave it. The difference in being a three star and a four star are many, but one of the most important is the staff. This staff went out of their way to accommodate your every need. They were always asking is things were OK or not. We only had two issues and didn't mention them until checkout. The ice machine on our floor wasn't working and the fan in the bathroom was loud.

The bar was a lively place at night and was a quiet spot during the day. The location is perfect for getting around San Diego. It is in the GasLamp district. You can easily walk to the ferry to Coronado to go to one of the best beaches on earth. Great place.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyponic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Nice choice in going to find Coronado beach to enjoy our sunny weather. Glad you enjoyed your stay as a whole and most importantly that the staff took good care of you. We hope to welcome you back soon! Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very beautiful historic hotel in the heart of San Diego's downtown area and very close to the gas lamp district. We had a superior room on the 9th floor and we were not disappointed. The hardwood floors (with what appeared to be the original wood) were very beautiful and the room was well laid out and a very good size for a standard room. The room was well-appointed, clean, and had a historic feel with all of the modern luxuries. The bathroom had a shower but no tub (not an issue for us). The restaurant was excellent with a wide diversity of food and attentive service. Breakfast was a very good value. Overall a great stay and a very good option if choosing to stay in the downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
thank you so much for making us your temporary home while exploring downtown San Diego! You nailed the description of the room with the historic feel but modern amenities. Exactly what we are going for! I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast as we have just re-imagined the menu again; come back and try the new offerings! Did someone say crab benedict? Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I can only fault this hotel about the location due to all of the homeless lying around the corner from it where they fight at night and it can be frightening when you are walking to the hotel. However, everything else was fab including the rooms, food, service etc. The concierge Mark is extremely helpful in comparison to Albert who needs to have a personality for the job of concierge. I would definitely return hoping that the two minor issues have improved.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piegut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for the mostly positive review! The location, while so positive to so many since we are so close walking distance to everything, does come with the territory of most downtown warm locations of having some "transient" population as well, as we refer to our less fortunate neighbors and natives. We hope that the City of San Diego continues to make efforts to improve their situation as well as continue to provide a safe and enjoyable area for all visitors and locals alike to enjoy. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My mother and I stayed at the Grant in July 2014 not really knowing what to expect. With regards to the building, the lobby was grand and the rooms were immaculate. We stayed in a double queen facing the Westgate Hotel and the natural sunlight made the room absolutely gorgeous. It was large and very clean. The bathroom was fabulous! We did see room with a king bed that was not as sizable as ours and did not have the same lighting. So all rooms may not be as great as the one we stayed in.
We ate at the Grant Grill which had a pleasant ambiance. The happy hour was a major bonus - we ate practically everything on the menu for less than $100, including drinks.
The best part of our stay was the staff. They were attentive and friendly. Thanks to Danielle at the front desk, Jorgen and Anthony the bellmen, Paul the valet, Alicia and several others at the Grant Grill, who all made our stay perfect! If you have a question, they answer it. If you have a problem, they solve it.
Loved every minute of it! We would definitely stay at the Grant again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared D, Front Office Manager at The US Grant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for recognizing so many of our associates by name Lauren! This in particular means a lot to managers like myself as I know the team made such an impact on your stay that you took the time to note them. Thank you for your recognition and for giving us the chance to impress you! I look forward to the unexpected pleasure to now be a repeated pleasure the next time you visit. Jared, Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#67 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing