We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong staying here!”
Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #47 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The US Grant is a perfect place to stay for those taking a cruise. A quick $15 taxi ride (tip included) from San Diego Airport will take you to a beautiful hotel with excellent, helpful staff.

My wife and I loved our room which was spacious, clean and quiet. The daily complimentary water was a very nice touch! There is a small, well-equipped gym but the sea wall is within easy jogging distance for those so inclined.

All the attractions we wanted where within easy walking distance (e.g. Horton Plaza, the Gas Lamp Quarter , Petco Field, the USS Midway and the port). There is a pharmacy and a number of convenience stores close by as well. The Zoo, Balboa park etc., however, are further away requiring a taxi ride.

There are plenty of places to eat close by and the concierge recommended a rustic Italian restaurant called "Asti". It was excellent and definitely a must try! Downtown San Diego, in general, can be a bit "interesting" with the locals but my wife and I felt safe to walk about.

The port is a 5 minute taxi ride away but be advised that the taxi will drop you a little ways (~ 50 yards) from the port entrance because of the traffic volume. Not really a problem though unless you have many cases.

All in all, an excellent stay and a beautiful, friendly hotel. We will certainly stay here again on our next visit to San Diego.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,128 - 2,134 of 2,484 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2010

I travel for work 2-4x a quarter and it has always been tricky booking hotels online. You just don't know what to expect until you step in the lobby. US Grant was well worth the adventure. My stay was simply awesome....very clean, quirky staff, and great access to a lot of shops for a quick me-time while on business trip. One of the few hotels at its price range that really smell good. The only downside is that I had to spend personal money on top of company allowed accommodation rate. Well, you always get what your money is worth!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMC06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This was my second visit to the U.S. Grant. It's a historic property, built in 1910, that has gone through a couple of makeovers, the most recent a $56 million renovation in 2006. Hotel is plush, with fantastic lobby featuring huge crystal chandeliers and comfy rooms sporting original art. But the real draw is the service. Every employee is at your beck-and-call. If you wander around looking a little lost in the lobby, someone will be at your elbow asking if they can help. Don't like your room's location? They'll gladly change it. Sitting in the lobby working on your laptop? A staff member will soon appear with a cold bottle of water. I have only one criticism: Free Wi-Fi should be included in the rooms. Also, be aware of two potential issues: This hotel is located in downtown San Diego, so parking is expensive (as it is at all downtown hotels). Also, a sizable number of harmless, but sometimes aggressive panhandlers wander nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolsott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I have stayed at the US Grant a couple of times and each time, the experience was simply enchanting. The moment you walk through the doors, you already feel your stress being checked at the door. The staff is friendly, courteous and professional. The room was spectacular - I have a feeling I will be expecting this kind of accommodation going forward!!!
I highly recommend staying at the US Grant whenever you visit San Diego. It is located centrally so going out and about is not going to be a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Great:
Service, Design/Decor, Beds/Linens, Housekeeping- very clean!, Pet friendly hotel with great pet amenities, top quality Restaurant.

Bummers:
Lack of fitness/spa/pool facilities (this is SoCal, after all), Bathrooms (Small and no tub in my suite!), not the best location downtown (a little rough around the edges), NO FUNCTIONING WINDOWS OR BALCONY- makes room quite stuffy.

Overall, the US Grant is a very comfortable, stylish, updated and luxurious historical property with a few minor downers, depending on what you are looking for in a luxury hotel in San Diego.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicagoboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very courteous and helpful. As a historic hotel, it has a lot of great features and is very well maintained. It has a great lounge area downstairs and has an art gallery with some beautiful works. I would definitely stay there again. It's also in the Gaslamp District in San Diego, which is a great location for restaurants. The only regret I have is that I was traveling for business and did not take my fiance with me. She would have loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James5199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

During this trip I stayed at the Omni, the HardRock and the US Grant. The omni and HardRock are located next to one another close to the bay and at the entrance to the Gaslamp area. Both were very nice, modern decor, very comfortable. Both had nice pools and fitness centers. Bars and restaurants withing blocks.

US Grant......what a let down. Was the last of the 3 hotels I stayed at. I was looking forward to an awesome place being that it has a 5 star rating, boy was I let down. First of all, it is located deep in the gaslamp a far walk to the bay. The further in from the Bay you travel, the worse the neighborhood becomes and while this place may look fancy, the neighborhood is far from it. So the hotel is 100 years old. The AC is really loud, the furnishings are so so and the fitness center is located in the BASEMENT and is nothing more than a few exercise bikes and a treadmill (far less than what is offered at the above 2 hotels) . There is absolutely no view from the hotel room. Lets just say, if I was 70 years old I might find this hotel nice. It is the complete opposite of a modern hotel such as the OMNI.

I have to say, staying at the US grant was my own fault. I did see the pics online and did look at the map. i am just hoping this review will have others think twice before booking and not just base their choice on the 5 star hotel rating. Trust me, if you are younger, looking to have some fun and like the modern look and feel of a newer hotel, do not book here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheUSgrant, Director of Operations at The US Grant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing THE US GRANT during your recent stay in San Diego. I apologize that the hotel didn’t meet your expectations. The experience provided at THE US GRANT HOTEL, a luxury collection hotel is different than the properties you visited - by design. It is the indigenous characteristic of THE US GRANT that our guests enjoy and appreciate. Our hotel is rich in history, tradition and service and our five star rating is based on the distinctive service levels created by our ambassadors (the talented team that works here) and by our commitment in purchasing the quality furnishings that is expressed in our decor. We remain true to our core values by providing a unique experience – a destination within the destination of San Diego. Like many of the finer things in life, it is truly a personal choice, we take no offence to your comments and wish you many pleasant visits to San Diego in the future.


Tom Scaramellino
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#36 of 278 in San Diego
2,060 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#51 of 278 in San Diego
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 278 in San Diego
296 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £127 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing