We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms a little too tight for comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The US Grant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The US Grant
Ranked #46 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rooms a little too tight for comfort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

Stayed at the lovely US Grant for 2 nights. Lobby area was very nice. It was not busy, but they gave us one of the worst rooms facing a wall about 20' outside our window looking into other rooms across the way. The room was extremely small. There are no drawers for clothes, and the bathrooms have no shelf space at all for toiletries. A tight squeeze into the small bathroom, that is very warm, as there is also no fan in there.
It is in a great location, but next time, we would probably stay across the street in either the W Hotel or the Westin for the extra room/comfort. It rained while we were there, so we had to sit in the noisy lobby, because there was not enough space in our room to relax.
Also, when we checked out, there was a bill for $35 for a bottle of liquor. I opened the refrigerator door once to see if there was room to place a bottle of water, but there wasn't, so I immediately closed it. At the desk they told me there is a sensor. Well, that's fine, but there was nothing missing from the refrigerator when we left, so what exactly did it sense? Upon checkout, they graciously took it off the bill. But just watch for that. Also, not very pleased with the $32/nt to park our car that never moved.
Staff very pleasant and bed very comfortable. We ate at the Grant Grill one night. Very small menu with few choices, but the food was very good.
My husband had to go the lobby to use their free internet. It is not free in your room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _JB2SanDiego_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,406
    627
    218
    73
    61
See reviews for
409
952
144
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

I travel quite a bit for work and the US Grant outshined all of the places I have been. The service was fantastic from the moment we got there. The valet, check in desk, concierge and event staff were all smiling, helpful and really valued each guest. The big things for this hotel were easy, but even when it came to "the little things" that guests appreciate the staff was right there and sometimes doing things for you before you knew they were there and gone! Nightly turn down- awesome- water, ice, slippers and chocolate!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

As a native San Diegan, I have heard of the US Grant Hotel for years and always wanted to stay there. When my company decided to hold their annual holiday party there this year I thought it would be a perfect opportunity. I decided to stay two nights so we could explore Horton Plaza and the Gaslamp at night. I reserved a Legacy Suit room and was really disappointed. The sitting area was very cramped, and the sides of the loveseat were so high you could not rest your arm on it. We ended up sitting on the bed to relax and watch TV. The bathroom was cramped, did not have a tub and the shower head was so weak that you could not rinse the soap out of your hair. I brought a couple bottles of wine and two glasses to enjoy in the evenings, but the maid took one of our glasses. When I brought it to her attention she said she would replace it but never did. Room service was extremely poor. The first night we requested a bottle of Sprite to calm our stomach and it took over an hour to arrive at our room, not to mention the cost of $10. The hotel lounge does not have live music and the common area by registration is poorly designed so that you cannot see the piano player and singer that they had preforming during parts of our stay. The bed was comfortable but the noise from the sirens would wake us up at night. For the amount we spent to stay at this hotel I think I can find a better place next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NativeSD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

The location is good for shopping but it is in an area where many homeless spend time. Walking across to Horton Plaza is fine but I would suggest being cautious at night if going to 5th where all the great restaurants are. The deluxe room was simply charming. The decor was luxurious and exuded comfort and elegance. The service was outstanding from check-in to check-out. The Grant Grill food was amazing and Nicole was a wonderful hostess. Turndown service covered all the bases. Room service was exquisite the next morning. I was able to enjoy using a free Starwood night but free or not, I WILL be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcentanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

As usual our experience was awesome. It was made even better by the excellent service we received in resolving a problem. The hotel manager went out of his way to solve an accounting problem for us from a previous stay. He went above an beyond. We love this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVPStudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Upon arrival at the Grant, my wife and I knew we made accomodations at the right place. From the minute the valet help us with our luggage to leaving the hotel, we have never had such an enjoyable time. The staff was beyond first class and always greeted us with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STZGRLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

My new favorite hotel! We stayed four nights and were wowed! Fabulous entry, amazing art, super nice employees, the rooms were not huge but tastefully apointed. The location can't be beat! My budget saving tip is to definately have happy hour in the Grant Tavern. It's a very sexy place to have a cocktail and have 1/2 price appetizers. The most amazing people watching! Wireless is available in the lobby and rooms. The Grant lobby is one of those magical places you will feel like you are in a movie. Just hang out and forget the cold cruel real world.

Only complaints are about the night clerks. They should have some kind of rule about reading text messages while on duty. Looks so tacky and they should not have any distractions when helping a guest with questions.

We especially appreciated the maid bringing us a coffee maker and one of the clerks remembered we prefer the WSJ and he had it delivered to the room every morning.

The over priced trolley is a good way to get familiarized with the city. But don't commit to more than one day. The drivers are clowns that are of little use if you are serious about history. I prefer the bus or getting exercise walking. Trolley was a big waste of money.

Check out the museum district. Mind blowing!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RecessionaryMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,895 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The US Grant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The US Grant

Property: The US Grant
Address: 326 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Business Hotel in San Diego
#32 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The US Grant 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury San Diego Hotel offers an exquisite experience in one of America's finest cities. The US Grant has a luxury experience with a historic feel to make your trip to San Diego memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The US Grant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Us Grant Hotel San Diego
Us Grant San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing