We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reviews say it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #52 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

After reading other reviews and booking our stay online, my husband, myself and our three year old stayed here for an entire week along with our two dogs. We were very impressed from the moment we walked into the hotel. Nice lobby, nice seating areas, great pool area. We traveled by car from the east coast to SD and we were loaded down so it was nice to stay somewhere where we could put our feet up and relax. We were happy that we could bring the dogs along to a nice place and know that they could stay with us. As for the breakfast, AWESOME! Hot, healthy, filling choices. Fresh fruit galore and yummy juices. They changed the meals daily which was nice. In regards to the location, it was close enough to everything that we went from legoland, to seaworld, the zoo, safari park, la costa to visit friends and never felt like it was a long drive anywhere. Would definitely stay here agan!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MamaMia1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

MamaMia1119,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. I am extremely pleased to see that our location was the perfect blend of quiet, relaxing, and convenient, especially after an extended period of travel. Everything we offer, from the complimentary hot buffet breakfast, to our outdoor heated pool, is geared toward providing a home away from home atmosphere, which we strive to accomplish with all of our guests. We look forward to the next time you return to the San Diego area, and hopefully we can once again exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was very clean. The breakfast is great and the parking is free.
The hotel is about 20 minutes from the attractions. We enjoyed out stay. We will stay here again when we visit San Diego.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Diane M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. Everything we offer from our quiet location, to our complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning, strives to make each guest feel like they are at a "home away from home". Hopefully when your travel bring you back to San Diego, we can once again make you feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had a great stay, 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The hotel is in a business area and you need to drive anywhere but it was only 20 minutes to the beach, Sea World, or the Zoo. We also went up to Anaheim for a baseball game and it took about 1 hr, 20 mins which is not bad by SoCal standards. The room was clean and comfortable, the pool was nice, and the breakfast was great, especially that things changed daily and we loved the guava juice - something we don't get on the east coast. Would definitely stay here again for business or leisure.

Room Tip: We paid $5 extra via the Country Inn website to get a high floor room. You can add that as an optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Kamachine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Country Inn and Suites in San Diego. It is great to see that you and your family had a pleasurable experience not only here in San Diego, but in Southern California in general. It is also wonderful to see your comments regarding the complimentary hot buffet breakfast we offer each morning, as well as the outdoor heated pool, perfect for San Diego summers. We hope you keep us in mind the next time you return to the San Diego area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our family visit to San Diego. The hotel is great: nice rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast, nice pool.
Only problem is location. It is at least 15 minutes drive from any of the big San Diego toursit attractions.
If you're willing to pay that price, this is your hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yotam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Yotam S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our potential customers. It is great to see that your experience was extremely pleasurable, despite the distance to some of the San Deigo attractions. Everything we offer, from our outdoor heated pool, to our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in the morning, is geared toward making each and every stay with us just as comfortable as home. We look forward to the next time your travels bring you back to the San Diego Area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Staff was very friendly. Room was very clean. Their breakfast is quite good for a free breakfast. They change up the hot selections everyday which was nice.

My only complaint would be our rooms bathroom. It lacked a fan or at least if there was one it wasn’t working. They need better shower curtains as you can’t help but soak the bathroom floor when taking a shower.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landxrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Landxrover,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding our hotel property. It is great to receive such great comments regarding our friendly staff and delicious complimentary hot buffet breakfast we serve each morning. Regarding the ventilation in the guest bathrooms, currently we do not have fans within the guest rest room facilities and the ventilation is open air, meaning the air is circulated naturally from outdoors. However, I am excited to inform you that we are currently looking into Air circulation units, which will make the electric fans within the guest rest rooms active. Hopefully you can experience this on your next visit, as well as the friendly service you have come to expect from our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I got this hotel through a priceline bid, but was so pleased with it that I would come back again. They have free internet, parking, and breakfast (an excellent breakfast selection). My room also had a fridge and microwave. The room was comfortable, and the hotel's pool area and patio lounge are both very pleasant.

Really, it's everything I want in a hotel room with no downsides, which is why the Excellent rating.

I'm a tourist but still enjoyed the location in a business district. There are many restaurants and stores (including groceries, Target, etc) approx 10 minute drive east.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountain820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Mountain820,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. As a hotel located in a quiet business area, it is always great to hear from our leisure guests, and receive great feedback for our hotel property and the amenities we offer. We hope to see you again when you are next in the San Diego area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The property is conveniently located to my office so when I travel in the Country Inn offers a consistent experience at a competitive price. Recent visits including last week while fine are going down in quality. The lobby if frequently in disorder. Front desk staff is stretched too thin and my overall impression is not what it once was. That said, the rooms are always clean, I can get both a USA Today and Wall Street Journal each morning and a great toasted bagel. Perhaps there has been a staff reduction or new management change. I still recommend the hotel but see it declining a little in service quality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Mike M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us, and also for continuing to choose Country Inn and Suites as your destination of choice when your business travels bring you to the San Diego area. Regarding the change in the level of service, we currently have quite a number of new faces, whom are still learning the ropes of the customer service industry and should be able to provide the high level of customer service you have come to expect as the become more and more comfortable in their positions. We appreciate your continued business and we look forward to seeing you once more when your business brings you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
11.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £90 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, SAS Ticati.COM, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing