We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #57 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and we love it, excellent costumer service, very friendly ,free coffee and cookies (yummy) all day long, free breakfast, Wi-Fi,and parking , the room was clean, the location is good you can walk to Chilis, and ATM also I really would go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verito23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are very happy to see that you were able to take advantage of all that our hotel has to offer, as well as our convenient location to see the entire San Diego area. Thank you once more and we look forward to the next time your travels return you to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very nice 2 room suite with everything we needed. Close to Chilies and within a short drive of pretty much anything you might want to eat. Nice TV's cable and internet all worked well. Bathroom was very nice. People working at the hotel were very friendly. The free breakfast was very good. Large selection of food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonRavennaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. Like all hotel establishments, our goal is to provide all of our guests with a comfortable experience, that allows our guests to enjoy their time with us as much as possible. We are very happy to see that you greatly enjoyed all that our hotel has to offer, and we sincerly hope to see you the next time you return to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I completed a survey for CI&S after staying there this past week. I was honest in my responses, albeit a bit glib. The manager of the hotel emailed me shortly thereafter, referring to my comments. Here is the unvarnished truth: the mgmt of CI&S actually does care above the level of service their people provide; the property at which I stayed is aesthetically pleasing, well tended and clean; my room was comfortable, easy to work in, and the appointments recently renovated. The bed was comfortable (I often have trouble sleeping on the road, but not here) and the bathroom was spacious and well lit. The service staff in the breakfast room- especially a fellow named Anthony- were helpful and welcoming. The food was good. Lastly, the front desk staff rates about a "7" out of ten- professional but all but resistant to saying 'thank you' to indicate the end of a transaction. This is a cultural phenomenon of the 21st century. But if any corporation could begin to turn that around, my money is on Country Inn & Suites. Cheers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Random_Koolzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are very pleased to see that your enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the level of service provided by our entire staff. We are also very pleased to see that you also enjoyed the level of commitment our management team has toward using our guest comments and reviews to better our overall guest experience. We really believe that our guest provide valuable insight which can be utilized to provide the best service possible and your comments really resonate with our management team. We sincerly hope to see you the next time you return to San Diego and we hope that you are able to experience firsthand how your comments have been utilized to enchance the service we provide to our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great customer service. Everyone at the front desk is so nice! We loved the free morning breakfast buffet(awesome selection), the cookies at the front counter(really yummy), and especially the goodie bag we received for our pup on our stay here :) ! Free parking AND free wi-go in the rooms. Also really liked having a fridge and microwave. This place was really comfortable and felt like home.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iiifugaziii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are very happy to see that you (and your canine family member) greatly enjoyed your stay with us, as well as all of the amenities that we offer to our guests. We strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, and we are very please to see that we were able to accomplish our goals. Thank you once more for sharing your feedback, and we look forward to the next time your travels return you to the local area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I reviewed many hotels before deciding to choose to stay at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, CA. The level of personal service and customer service is outstanding and must be commended. In particluar, I must commend three individuals who made my stay most pleasurable: Israel, Marquis and Lauren. Furthermore, the breakfast is plentiful with a vast selection of choices for even the finickiest of individuals. I know that when I return to San Diego, I will, once again, stay at this hotel. I would also certainly recommend this establishment to those looking for an enjoyable stay in an excellent hotel that is affordable and clean.

Room Tip: Just ask...the hotel guest services personnel will accomodate almost any request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NATO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. All of us here at the Country Inn and Suites are very happy to see that you greatly enjoyed both our hotel property, but also the high level of customer service that our guests have come to expect. Thank you once again for your feedback, and we look forward to the next time you return to San Deigo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I normally stay at Hampton Inns when traveling for business in San Diego. I decided to give this hotel a try and so glad I did. The hotel has a spacious, comfortable lobby with a small restaurant and bar. It's nice to know you can come in after a long day and grab a bite and a glass of wine, something you can't get at a Hampton. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet and the free breakfast buffet had something for everyone. There was plenty of seating for breakfast, no fighting for a table. Parking and internet are free. Give it a try!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank RealValleyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are very glad to see that you decided to provide us the opportunity to be the new hotel of choice when you visit the San Diego area. As we are located in a heavy business area, we love to provide our guests with a relaxing area, including our restaurant and bar for our guests to enjoy their evenings after work. We are very happy to see that you greatly enjoyed this feature and we look forward to the next time you return to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at the Country Inn for three nights and found the facilities there to be excellent. The service and staff were very helpful. The room was nicely furnished, quiet and clean. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast as well. I also booked meeting space for two full days for business meetings at this hotel. All of my needs and those of others attending my meetings were met to our complete satisfaction. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when I am in the area, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. As a guest whom booked meeting space with us, you truly were able to have the opportunity to enjoy all that our hotel has to offer, and we are very pleased to see that you greatly enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you once more when business or pleasure returns you to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
11.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Rancho Bernardo
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
0.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#14 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £74 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing