We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Met every need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #49 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Met every need”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay and the facility was clean and well-kept. The staff . . . Great. We were able to ship a box with gifts for the holidays and they even helped with some tape for a return box. The ONLY negative I found was location . . . You definitely need a car when staying here in order to go out and about as it is in a more industrial area. My boys thought a DVD player would have been nice in the room as well. We will consider returning if coming back to the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with our potential customers. We would also like to thank you for the kind comments provided for both our hotel property, as well as the service provided by the staff, especially when assisting in sending packages from the hotel. Thank you once again, and we hope to see you the next time your travels return you to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    284
    85
    22
    14
See reviews for
411
181
43
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

checked in late and stayed just one night, so didn't have much time to explore the hotel; however, check-in and check-out were both fast and easy; no problems with the room charge or anything else that we'd have had to dwell on; free WiFi in room; however, we had trouble connecting to it on the morning of our departure; that said, my husband contacted the front desk, we were given an alternate code to try and voila, we had internet connection again; nice complimentary breakfast; found it a little confusing to navigate (plates and utensils were in non-obvious places), and bananas ran out quickly, but all in all, it was certainly sufficient; appreciated that, in addition to four sugary cereals, there was one non-sugar cereal that i didn't cringe at my kids eating; hotel didn't have the most modern, up-to-date feel; that said, there was nothing that was in disrepair or lacking, so all in all, no complaints; definitely a solid choice

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xanadu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us here. We are also glad to see you enjoyed the breakfast and wifi that we provide for all our guests. Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope that the next time you visit San Diego, that we will be the hotel of your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed here with my husband on a trip down the Southern California coast line. We looked for places that were clean, affordable, and offered a continental breakfast. This hotel is located about 15 miles north of downtown San Diego, so the prices are a lot more reasonable. It took us about 20 minutes to drive downtown, even in traffic. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quite place to stay, free parking, with a GREAT breakfast. If these amentiies are on your "must have list", then you've hit the jackpot! We have stayed a another Country Inn and Suites in Northern California and had an equally good experience. This hotel is perfect for families or anyone who is looking for a great deal! The staff were very helpful and the hotel was very clean and tidy. I would highly recommend this hotel and ensuring you save time for breakfast, you won't be disappointed. Safe travels!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinabgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are very delighted to see that your experience at our hotel met the high expectations from your previous stay at one of our other Country Inn and Suites properties. Everything that we offer, from our quiet location, to our complimentary hot buffet breakfast, is geared to provide the highest level of comfort and service for all of our guests. We look forward to the next time your travels return you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I got this on Priceline for a smoking deal. Once there, I decided to upgrade to a suite for only $10 more per night and so glad I did. The rooms are pleasant, and perfect for families. Parents stay in the back room, kids in the front room. Both rooms have TV's. Bathroom was nice and big. The breakfasts are full on with bacon, eggs, and juice, and it's all included.

The bed was comfortable and cozy. I really liked having a private room.

The location is decent, more in a business area, but only about 10-15 minutes to the beach and other attractions. The service was great during our entire stay of three nights. It worked out perfectly for our family. We were trying to figure out how we could stay more nights, but the price jumped up!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite for only $10 more per night. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank showlowdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We were glad to see that you got to enjoy of our excellent centrally located location, complementary hot breakfast buffet, and other free amenities. Thank you once again for taking time out of your day to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here again for 2 nights, from 12/13-12/15. The hotel was decorated festively for Christmas and ,as usual, the hotel staff and room and morning breakfast were great. I had welcome assistance from Lauren Cifelli at the front desk the morning we left; she helped me make a reservation at the hotel for my family later this month and even offered to show me the type of suite we were reserving!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community! We especially love to hear feedback from our repeat guests, to ensure that we continue to provide the highest level of service for our guests. We are also very excited to see that our Holiday decorations really helped to spread the cheer of the holidays to our guests; and we sincerly hope to see you once again when your travels bring you back to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankeny, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Great, quiet location. From the moment we walked in, to the moment we left, hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast, comfy room, very nice overall condition. We do not have any experience with hotels in the area, so went off the reviews. Hotel exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and our potential customers. We are very happy to see that we exceeded your expectations, during your stay with us. Thank you once again for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review. We hope when you visit San Diego again, that we will get the pleasure in having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is my first time staying at Country Inn at this location. The staff were friendly and helpful. Check in and Check out were easy. The lobby was comfortable. The room was good size and in good condition. Free parking was a plus. They provide free hot breakfast in the morning and warm cookies all day. This is a good place for a family to stay in. I was here for business and I am very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nocturnal_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. We are very pleased to see that you greatly enjoyed your stay with us. It is very wonderful for our guests to provide such great comments for our amenities and we hope they encourage our guests to return to our location time after time. We hope that the next time you come to San Diego, we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Address: 5975 Lusk Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing