We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff is wonderful and the hotel is clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #49 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Stanton, California
1 review
“The staff is wonderful and the hotel is clean and convenient”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was so fortunate to find this hotel as it is clean, quiet, safe and comfortable. Lauren, Shawn, Israel, Chris, and Nadia go out of their way to make you feel welcome and like your staying at a 5 star hotel! It's been my home away from home for years. The restaurants food is delicious and the service at the bar is unbeatable. Everyone there is always accommodating to your needs. It is centrally located to so many locations in San Diego, no matter where I am working it’s always a convenient location!

Thank you County Inn and Suites for making my work visits to San Diego even better and more comfortable! One happy Carlson Club Member!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi Lynne! Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor for the Country Inn & Suites. As a frequent guest many of us have been able to get to know you on a personal level and your feedback is really appreciated! It is so great to hear that you get that sense of a “home away from home” feel when staying here with us, as this is the type of experience we strive to create for all of our guests. It’s great to know that our location is as convenient as can be for you in relation to your work offices, as well as, other San Diego locations. As always we look forward to greeting you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    285
    86
    22
    14
See reviews for
415
183
43
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I stay here quote a bit because I work nearby, but live out of town.

The staff at this hotel is absolutely the best. Natalie, Lauren, Patrick, Israel, chris (I mentioned I stay here a lot) could not do more to make you feel more welcome.

The restaurant is surprisingly good. The have a basic menu, but I think that allows them to do a very good job on every item. And again, the service could not be better - which makes you feel good about staying here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WXkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
On behalf of everyone at the Country Inn & Suits by Carlson we would like to thank you for providing feedback from your past visits with us. I am so excited to see that the highlight of your stays has been the service provided by our staff, most notably our Front Desk staff Nadia, Patrick, Israel and myself, as well as, our bartender Chris. We constantly strive to provide the highest level of service to all of our guests and it is absolutely wonderful to see that we have accomplished our goal each and every time. It is also great to see that you enjoyed our dinner lounge and the food provided to you. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Convenient location for visiting U.C.S.D. A bit further than La Jolla, but very reasonable cost; great breakfast; quiet location; easy parking, good WiFi and work desk.

Many restaurant options within a mile.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent review on TripAdvisor. From reading through your review I am so pleased to see that you really enjoyed our central San Diego location and had a good time visiting UCSD. It is also great to hear you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast in the morning. We look forward to greeting you back here soon when your travels bring you back to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Excellent pet friendly hotel in the Sorrento Mesa near the Veterinary Specialty Hospital and serving primarily the local IT business area of northern San Diego.
LAUREN, at the front desk was extremely helpful, attentive,efficient, and accommodating when we had to extend our stay day by day after our dog had surgery at the VSH. Our dog needed extra recuperation time so we explored the San Diego area.
Located ideally between the I-15, the 805, and very close to the I-5 you can access downtown San Diego and Coranado Island and historic Mission Hills district via the 805. Del Mar racetrack,dog beach and lovely dog friendly bistros in La Jolla are easy to get to as well as Mission Bay and Sea world by the I-5.
This hotel was QUIET even with several very small children on the floor. it was CLEAN and COMFORTABLE. You can avoid the hassles of freeway interchanges and grid lock traffic by staying out of the downtown/airport area and staying here on your next trip to dog friendly San Diego! We will stay here again on our next trip for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn P, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community and out potential customers. We are very excited to see that you and your pet absolutely enjoyed our hotel and the service provided by our staff, Lauren in particular. Everything from our quiet, yet convenient location to our complimentary hot buffet breakfast, as well as our pet amenities on check-in, are all targeted to provide all of our guests with the best hotel experience while visiting San Diego for either business or leisure. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travels return you to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Excellent customer service, very friendly and efficient staff, clean rooms and good food at a great price. Everyone from the people who great you on arrival to the housekeeping staff and food service people are very genuine and friendly. What more can a traveler ask for than that. Would stay there again if I'm ever back anywhere near them. I would drive out of my way to do so.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Marvin! Thank you so much for the review on TripAdvisor. Reading through your comments, I am very excited to see that the highlight of your stay was the service provided by our staff. We constantly strive to provide the highest level of service to all of our guests and it is absolutely wonderful to see that we have accomplished our goal. It is also great to see that you found your room to be clean and comfortable during your stay and that you were able to enjoy the dinner lounge as well. We sincerely hope to see you when business or pleasure next returns you to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My 18-year old granddaughter is staying with me in Phoenix and wanted to see California during Spring Break. We had a great time throughout San Diego and up the Coast to Los Angeles. The Country Inn & Suites on Lusk was our first hotel and set the criteria for the balance of our stay in California as it met all our needs plus some … staff aimed to please, room was not only well-tended but very comfortable, and the breakfast buffet was exceptional. Thanks Country Inn & Suites! The location was adequate as it was a few minutes to all major thoroughfares.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delphine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Delphine! Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us to the online community. I am so pleased to see that you and your grandaughter had a wonderful time exploring the San Diego area on spring break and that you chose us as your first hotel of the trip! We aim to create a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests and reading your review it is great to see that you found your stay to be enjoyable and comfortable from the staff, to the room, as well as, the hot breakfast buffet. We look forward to greeting you when your travels bring you back to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
254 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Overall we had a positive stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly, and as a Club Carlson Gold member I was upgraded to a 1BR suite. It was nice to have the extra space, though neither the bed nor the sofa were especially comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was better than expected, with a number of different hot items making their way into the rotation. One disappointment for my wife was the fact that the pool is on the north side of the hotel, and the way it's designed meant that it's in the shade for most of the day, making it a little too cool for her to relax in the lounge chairs. The hotel is conveniently located to a number of freeways, making it easy to get around. We would certainly consider this hotel again if in the area.

Room Tip: The 1BR suite is worth getting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krivokrasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor from your stay with us. I am very happy to see that you left such nice comments for our staff and enjoyed your time here with us. Being a Club Carlson Gold member, I am delighted to see that we were able to accomodate you with an complimentary upgrade to our one bedroom king suite, providing you with extra space during your time at the hotel. It is also great to see that you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast buffet in the mornings. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
11.9 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Address: 5975 Lusk Blvd, San Diego, CA 92121-2781
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing