We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good 3-Star Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Ranked #49 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside County
Level Contributor
225 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Very Good 3-Star Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is located in the San Diego suburb of Mira Mesa. This is a very good, inexpensive alternative to staying in the downtown San Diego. It is about a 20 minute drive during non-rush hour traffic to Sea World and a 30 minute drive to downtown San Diego. Freeway access is a few blocks away. I would suggest that you take the commuter rail into San Diego and use the fine public transportation system to get around. The closest station is only a few miles away.

See if you can find a deal on priceline and save yourself some money. This is a hotel that caters to business visitors during the week. It is located in a commercial area and between two other hotels of the same general quality. There is a Chili's that is a short walking distance but otherwise you will need to eat at the hotel or drive to get some food. There are lots of food choices along Mira Mesa Blvd which is close.

The room was very comfortable but nothing fancy. The bed was comfortable. The room had a small microwave and an under counter refrigerator. The tv is 40 inch and had Direct TV access which I have never seen in even more expensive hotels.

A big plus at this hotel is a complementary full buffet style breakfast. They have lots of menu choices. The breakfast is a least worth $10. If you have kids or are on a budget, this is a definite plus. I liked that the hours were expanded, 6-10 during the week and 7-11 on the weekends.

There is a small but adequate pool and a spa in the back of the hotel. Each was typical of a hotel of this quality. The only negative was there were dozens of 8 or 9 year old soccer players staying there and they took over the pool and the spa. If you stay on weekend during soccer season, you may run into this. But once they left, there was peace, quiet and sanity.

Check in was quick, efficient and professional.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again. It is well worth the money which was not that much.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lance2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed the time you spent with us here. I am very pleased that you did get to enjoy all our amenities, along with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope that the next time you visit San Diego, that we will be the hotel of your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    283
    84
    21
    14
See reviews for
407
181
43
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a quick getaway with 2 toddlers. I was so impressed with the hotel and its staff. Everyone was so friendly and willing to help. The breakfast was great and the room was very clean. We did not get a chance to use the pool but it looked very nice. The hotel was located within 20 minutes of great beaches and restaurants. My three year old loved their little library that allowed you to borrow books. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel P, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with the online community. I am delighted to read the experience that you had with us. We are happy to see that you got to enjoy all the amenities we proved for our guest's, along with the read it and return library that we proved at our hotels. Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope that the next time you visit San Diego, that we will be the hotel of your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I cannot begin to tell you how accommodating this hotel is...but here it goes. The staff was extremely friendly and did all they could to please us. We were traveling with a big group so whatever we asked, blammo- they gave it to us. The hotel has several open areas if you want to get together for dinner and do a bbq or whatever. This alone saved us tons of money over having to eat out. By the way, don't go to the nearby Chili's; their service was awful. This hotel must also be a dog friendly hotel because I saw a few dogs in the lobby. The complimentary buffet breakfast was fantastic. Usually places with free breakfasts have the same watery eggs and microwave sausages. Not this place! The food was fantastic, the kids enjoyed the make your own waffle bar, and they kept coffee, hot water, and ice water out all day! Overall...a great family hotel. The rooms could use a little updating, but really, who stays in a hotel room all day?

Room Tip: Even number rooms face the parking lot, odd numbered rooms get a view of the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jthomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on TripAdvisor from your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were here traveling with a large group. We definitely do everything we can to accommodate all of our guests wherever and whenever possible and it is great to see that we accomplished this during your visit. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed getting together for dinner in our public area and that you found our hot breakfast buffet to be great! Once again we thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to serve as your hotel of choice the next time you travel to the area, whether with the group or on vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My Wife and I are frequent visitors to the San Diego area and as such have stayed in several of the area hotels. Because of a positive experience with Country Inn & Suites in our home area, we decided to try the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson on our most recent visit. We found this hotel to be pretty much everything we look for while traveling. The staff was friendly and eager to assist us in anyway they could, I even met the swing shift maintenance man in the elevator who told me that if "we needed anything to call him immediately". The rooms were clean, comfortable, and made up promptly every day. The location of the hotel made it very easy to access I-805 and the entire San Diego area. The breakfast, provided each morning, included everything from oatmeal to waffles, yogurt to fresh fruit, and toast to danish. And finally, the price was very reasonable for the San Diego area, which became even better because of the free off-street parking and the free breakfast. This Country Inn & Suites has become our preferred place to stay in the San Diego area.

Room Tip: When checking in I asked for a room away from the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback from your past stay with us here at the County Inn & Suite in San Diego. It is great to see that positive experiences at other Country Inn & Suites brought you to our location and from reading your review it looks like you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our hotel. Our number one goal is to provide the best customer service to each and every one of our guests and I am pleased to see that you fond our staff to be helpful and accommodating. In addition, I am happy you were able to enjoy the hot breakfast in the mornings and found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. We’re excited to welcome you both back here soon when you return to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband, daughter & I stayed on the 7th floor (king suite) last week (we were in town for my son's college graduation). Wonderful facilities, helpful staff, clean, nice location. Great breakfast too. Mid-week it was fairly quiet with just a few business people, and by the weekend the families and groups started arriving. It was nice to be off the grid of most San Diego tourist hotels. We used the pool & hot tub, business center, fitness room, and laundry. Very, very nice. Fresh cookies in the afternoon were great too.

Room Tip: We had a king suite on the 7th flloor; our daughter used the sofa bed and was happy in her own '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
On behalf of everyone at the Country Inn & Suites, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide a review to the online community. I am so pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting for your son’s college graduation. We strive to create a comfortable, convenient atmosphere for all of our guests while they are here. We’re happy to see that you were able to take full advantage of all of our amenities ranging from the pool, business center, fitness room, as well as, our laundry facility, and also were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet in the morning. I am delighted that you found our staff to be helpful during your stay and found our facility to be clean. If your travels bring your family back to the San Diego area we hope that you choose us as again as your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We rented two rooms here on a Saturday night and were checked in quickly. We picked up a few of the free cookies in the lobby and headed up to our rooms. One room was a king suite with a separate bedroom and two TV's. It was comfortable, but the furnishings are drab and outdated, with poor lighting. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We asked to add on a second night (Sunday) and get a little discount for adding two rooms and a second night, but they could not discount us at all. So, i checked out the Residence Inn, a block away, and got two one bedroom suites for less that they had quoted me. So we moved! The rooms were nicer at the Residence Inn, but the breakfast was better at Country Inn. Pools were nice at both, the one at Country Inn is bigger.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyful1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. Overall it is great to see that you enjoyed your stay, nevertheless, it is disappointing to see that you moved on your second night. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience this caused you during your stay. We do tend to have discounted rates for multiple night stays; however, unfortunately they are not always available and are based on our occupancy and availability. I do hope that in the future we can accommodate a reasonable rate for you. On a brighter note, I am pleased to see that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and also enjoyed the hot breakfast buffet in the morning and our outdoor heated pool. We thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the San Diego area soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel sometime back on a business trip. The staff was quite friendly and helpful and the rooms were nice. The breakfast was quite nice as well with all sorts of cereals and delectable french toasts and waffles. And they also provided to drop to our offices nearby. rooms were clean as well. The gym was nice too with some essential equipments and weights.
My only wish would be if they provided evening social snacks as well. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for providing a review from your past stay with us on TripAvisor. We are always striving to provide the best customer service to each and every one of our guests and it is great to see that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I am also happy to see that you were able to enjoy a majority of our complimentary amenities, from the hot breakfast buffet in the morning, to the fitness center, and also our complimentary shuttle that provides rides for our guests to nearby offices. I hope we are able to greet you back here soon when you return to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
HYATT house San Diego/Sorrento Mesa
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego-Del Mar
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Address: 5975 Lusk Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92121
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Family Hotel in San Diego
#20 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#25 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites By Carlson
Country Inns & Suites By Carlson Hotel San Diego
Country Inn San Diego
San Diego Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing