We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Motel near SDSU”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #38 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We booked this motel based on its TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed! Employees are friendly, helpful, and extremely competent. The motel design and beautiful landscaping creates a quiet little oasis, & the pool area is an excellent place to relax. Our king mini-suite room was attractively furnished with a king bed, sofa bed, large chair, desk, dresser, a 42 " tv with DVD player, and a small refrigerator and microwave. The room was perfectly clean when we arrived, and it stayed that way every day (we stayed a week). The bed linens were high end, as were the soap and shampoo products. There is a continental breakfast every morning that is included with the room, and wireless internet is also included. Would highly recommend this motel for anyone desiring to be close to SDSU.

Room Tip: Room 229, a King mini-suite, is in a quiet convenient location near the pool, stairway, and ice mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lemurcatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Lemurcatta,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your week with us. It is especially satisfying to hear that you really approve of one of our recent upgrades. That of the mini-suites being changed from queen to king beds, & adding flat screen TVs. So far this has been a big plus and is quickly becoming a our most popular room type.

Also, Im glad you mentioned that our rooms come with DVD players since we recently added several new movies to our free lending library. The new titles are well received with our repeat and new guests.

Thank you again for writing this review, and we hope to see you on a future trip.

Sincerely,

Len Regan-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 979 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Booked this hotel after wanting a quick one night get - away with the family. The positives: great value, nicely decorated rooms, and quiet area. It is about a 15 minute drive from major attractions, but not a huge deal if you have a car. Negatives: Wanted a extra pillow and my husband was told they do not give out extra pillows?? Breakfast wasn't that great a lot of packaged, processed foods. But they do have a couple of fresh fruit choices and bagels which were good. And I would have scored cleanliness as a 4 but shower curtain was cloth and had no liner so created a wet mess after the first kid showered, and stayed moist all night. Overall, if I needed budget friendly motel again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksjr2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear KSJR2007,

Thank you for your review, we value your comments and are glad to hear that you are willing to return. With our breakfast, we apologize for the prepackaged items we are currently having to serve while we wait to do our kitchen remodel, However, I can tell you that our plan is to start on that very soon, and we will be able to again serve some of the items our guessed have missed, and to not have to serve prepackaged items.

A few years ago, we decided to adopt a more upscale style for our bedding. Besides the triple sheeting, one of the changes was to add extra pillows on all the beds. Putting 4 pillows on each queen, and 5 pillows on every king. Most guests have been pleased with this, and found it easier than having to ask us for extra pillows at the desk, or wait for staff to deliver them. In your case I'm sorry that we weren't able to provide you with extra. Our team will look at this and reassess our policy.

Again, I just want to sincerely thank you for the time you took to write this, and we do hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We found this place online but decided to give it a call as we were in Australia, the service from that very first phone call was above average. They managed to squeeze us in to a heavily booked hotel during the busy Comic-Con (which we weren't attending). On arrival the booking in process was easy, the staff friendly and helpful and the room clean and large enough to fit 2 adults and 2 teenagers (rollaway was good quality unlike many other hotels we have stayed in). The location was fine there was plenty of good eating near by with a great mediterranean place up the road. We had a car so it was a good spot to access the freeways to travel further a field (not sure how you would go without a car). What was really great about this place was the staff, they were so very helpful and friendly all of the time. They arranged seaworld tickets for us and when we left some belongings behind they arranged to post them on. I would highly recommend the hotel. For an Aussie the breakfast was not our thing as it was bagels and muffins but all of the other guets seemed to love it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Catherine,

Wow, what a great review, all we can say is Thank You! We enjoyed meeting your family and happy you found us. We recently upgraded some of our rollaway beds, and guests who have used them and had the same reaction. You are absolutely correct that for tourists who want to see the attractions, our location is best navigated to and from by car. But as you found out we are really only a short drive to most destinations on San Diego.

I am glad you received your lost items, and hope that if a trip back to San Diego is in your future we definitely would look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us

Yours in Hopitality,

Len Regan-General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Nice clean facility with lovely landscaping. The rooms were a good size with fully equipped kitchens. They serve a simple continental breakfast. Very good location- straight down College Avenue to I 8.

Room Tip: Get the king size suite near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

Dear Dustytexas,

We are glad you hear you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate that you took the time to write this review. So many guests enjoy our pool and BBQ area. And since more than one third of our hotel has full kitchens it lends itself to a great opportunity to have a relaxing meal, and spend quality time with friends & family.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you on a future visit.

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

listed as near the main areas of San Diego it is not. OK hotel with very good staff and clean but the location is in a somewhat questionable area if your not used to big city living you may find the area hard to get past. If you going to SD State you will be fine. If you going anywhere else there are many other choices closer to downtown.

Room Tip: Not near anything but the university
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lis D, Customer Service Agent at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the “Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU” and for taking the time to write a review. I am truly sorry that our location was not convenient for you. We are about a mile away from San Diego State University, which is very convenient to a lot of our guests. Being close to the University, we are also in close proximity to many great restaurants and eclectic coffee shops. The freeways 8 and 15 are minutes away, so getting almost anywhere in San Diego takes less than 20 minutes. We are in a very central location, pretty much the middle of San Diego if you look at a map. Another benefit to our location is the trolley station, located conveniently a few blocks away on the SDSU campus; the trolley can take you anywhere from the shopping malls, to Old Town, to downtown, all without having to find or pay for parking.

It is sometimes a challenge to set the right expectations for our guests. I think we do a pretty good job on our website, and the majority of our guests have written honest reviews about their experience with us, what makes us stand out from the rest, and why they rate us so highly. We tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most out of their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality, and guests who have done their research.

Once again, I am very sorry that you were surprised by the location of our hotel. We do provide a lovely map on our website that shows our location in relation to many parts of San Diego.

Thank you again for choosing the Best Western Lamplighter Inn.

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on our road trip from LA to the Grand Canyon. On arrival the check-in was excellent. We were advised there was a problem with the internet and our room rate immediately reduced in recompense. However, our two teenagers were still able to use the internet in the lobby. Lovely pool for a relaxing hour, and very pleasant staff. The only downside was the breakfast room - far too small for the number of guests and not much choice if you don't have a sweet tooth! We took cereal and muffins back to the room but not a pleasant breakfast experience. The location was fine for us as we had a car and wanted to be the right side of San Diego to drive our longest day to Sedona. Visited the Zoo and spent a great morning at USS Midway. A little retail therapy for the kids and everyone enjoyed our (short) visit to San Diego.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veggiehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, and are grateful you chose to stay with us on your way to the Grand Canyon. Actually I remember checking your family in myself, and it was pleasure meeting all of you.

We hope the rest of your trip was just as relaxing, and if you find yourself stopping our way again, please consider a second stay with us.

Sincerely, Len Regan-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel has received great reviews in the past. I don't have any complaints about the room, breakfast and location. If you have business related to SDSU I highly recommend this hotel. It is clean, quiet and the breakfast offerings get you off to a great start ... but had I known I would not have internet access in my room for 4 days I would have booked elsewhere. Once I was settled in I had no time to look elsewhere. Instead, I carried my laptop everywhere and checked email in coffee shops, bookstores and the university. After 3 days of being told the problem was being fixed (but wasn't) I highly recommend that if internet access is important to your stay, check first that the wi fi problem has been permanently fixed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadicweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lamplighter-InnMgr, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We always appreciate feed back from our guests as this lets us know how we are doing, and the areas we can improve on. I do sincerely apologize for the problem you experienced with the internet access and for not being able to inform you of this prior to your arrival.

We were working on upgrading our system at the time that we had a fatal system failure with our current equipment. Our staff has been struggling to contact guests to inform them of the situation prior to their arrival, but with online bookings we do not always get guest contact information.

While internet access from the rooms is spotty at the moment, there is a working wireless signal in the lobby, along with our guest computer that is free of charge.

As I write this, we do have a technician installing brand new access points, along with new supporting equipment for them. Our goal is to exceed every guest’s expectations and we take it very seriously when we fail. Please consider giving us another chance on your next trip to San Diego.

.
Sincerely – Len Regan/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#24 of 278 in San Diego
2,262 reviews
Old Town Inn
#10 of 278 in San Diego
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#119 of 278 in San Diego
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £77 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing