We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great place for a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #36 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2008

i stayed here at the end of june for 5 days and have to say that i loved it! Now if you are expecting a 5 star hotel, please rethink your travel plans! But for a place that feels like home, with a great staff you can not go wrong staying here. The rooms are of good size, the breakfast in the am is fresh and you can even make your own waffles, The pool area is well kept and very relaxing. This is the one of the best hotels i have stayed at and i usually do stay at 5 stars.. Thank you to Len and Dave for making me feel so welcome and i will stay here again when i come back to san diego!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank got2gogurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2008

I came here earlier this year with my girlfriend solely based on tripadvisor reviews..and the fact that we were curious how, especially at this price, this little place was so high up the rankings. And, as usual, consistently good reviews come shining through. Such a pleasant wonderful, personal place to stay. And for the price, wow.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Eovce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

We booked this superb little Hotel on the strength of previous reviews on Tripadvisor. What a GEM! Rates were very reasonable. Our party 2 x adults and 1 x child (14) had a mini king suite with a fold out double setee bed. Rooms were immaculate with mini kitchen with a fridge and microwave.

Small pool area was 'spick & span' and never busy.

My expereiences of FREE Continental Breakfasts in the States on previous trips had given me cause for concern... NOT HERE!

Breakfast was served in an annex off reception. Breakfast and quality of food stuuf were EXCELLENT! Free car parking was a further bonus. Within easy driving of Downtown San Diego. Stayed 5 x nights - Brilliant! Staff very helpfull and curteous... !

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Owen999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

From the moment I called to reserve the room to the moment I checked out I felt like I was family. They treated me and my family like we were important and the only ones there. They remembered our names, our room number and made sure our stay was relaxing and convenient. Every morning--and sometimes the evenings too--I walked into the office and asked for restaurant recommendations, beach preferences and driving directions, among many other other things. I never felt like I was bothering them or a nuisance, even if I was. They smiled and entertained me with a plethora of useful and fun information that was perfect for us and our needs as a family with two young children. Len, Bryan, Vanessa and the GM Dave along with the grounds keeper/maintenance man, who's name escapes me right now, were very welcoming and seemed to like their jobs.

There are so many "little" things that made our stay so enjoyable. When we were swimming at the pool the GM and maintenance man went and got my children a blow-up beach ball --just because. When I needed to wash a few loads of laundry on the premises I was given soap that another customer had left behind. The continental breakfast was way more than just coffee, juice and muffins. It was enough variety to keep us pleased for a week. The breakfast worker ran her butt off too keeping everything stocked and clean. The rooms had very comfty beds, perfect pillows, were clean, and fully stocked with the necessities. Ours also had a clean fridge and microwave. Our stay there was so enjoyable that we extended it a day. We went to another BW up the coast the following night and missed Lamplighter. It just wasn't the same.

This isn't a 5-star hotel but it gives you a lot of bang for your buck. I have payed much more and gotten much less in other places we have stayed. So if you are looking for a basic room that is clean, convenient and with a pleasant staff you will get what you want at the BW Lamplighter.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bezfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamplighterinn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2008

Dear Valued Guest & Family - I was elated to read your review of our hotel. I have to tell you, I along with my staff really enjoyed your family. It was so nice to see all of you out by the pool everyday & we are glad your kids enjoyed their beachball we gave them.

I also enjoyed talking with you each day & getting to know all of you. It is always a pleasure when guest compliment the staff here. They really go out of their way for each & every guest that stays with us has a everyone memorbale stay at our hotel.

All of us here look forward to having you & your family back again next year.

Sincerely,
David Birt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Our famiy and I booked this room based solely on the reviews. I couldn't believe a little motel could get such high ratings but I knew there had to be a good reason...trip advisor has always been good to us. First, let me start by saying their staff is great. They are very friendly and helpful. I booked with a AAA discount and paid the low price of $116 WITH TAXES! Being a family of four we appreciated the savings and used it to go to the Wild Animal Park. We purchased two day passes for Sea-World from them and got 2-day passes at a discounted rate. The rooms are clean and comfortable for families. They accomadated our early check in and knew our name on arrival from our phone call before we arrived. Word of advice, try to arrive early because the parking lot can get pretty crowded. Other than that I would defintely recommend this for people on a budget looking for a nice, safe place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank preciouslizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We stayed at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn and Suites for six nights in late June '08. Our choice was based solely on "Tripadvisor" ratings, following a very last minute change in our vacation plans (flying in from Vancouver BC). I can say unequivocally that we do not regret our decision.

This is a small but well managed establishment. Rooms are clean (which is the most important factor in selecting a hotel). Staff are very courteous and helpful. The reception area is not 5 star but it does have a computer with free internet access. We had no problem whatsoever with the (free) parking; maybe a bit tight if you drive an unusually large vehicle.

The hotel is NOT located in the immediate vicinity of major San Diego attractions like the beaches, the zoo, Balboa Park, the "old" San Diego, Legoland and SeaWorld but it's right off the interstate and with a GPS, a no-brainer to get around.

The first night, we had noisy neighbors and we could smell cigarette smoke in our supposedly non-smoking room. However, we were promptly moved (read "upgraded") to a better room the very next morning. The general manager, David Birt, was quite accommodating. No questions asked. BTW, I strongly recommend a room with fridge and microwave, especially if you're with kids.

Noteworthy is the fact that there is a VON's supermarket a few blocks away where you will find everything you might need. After a long day on the road, we thoroughly enjoyed their roasted chicken brought back to our room with a glass of wine! Also, there is a delivery pizza nearby called "Milo's". Their pizza is top notch.

The breakfast is quite basic, as described in other reviews, but OK to start the day. Waffles, cereal, muffins, bagels, toast, boiled eggs, the usual continental breakfast suspects. The room where it is served is indeed quite small and you may have to wait for a table (we did) or else bring the food back to your room; better yet, eat it by the pool. There are two Starbucks nearby where you can have a better coffee than the one served (really quite watery).

Bottom line: for the price, you're not likely to find better value in the San Diego area. Would I recommend this place or stay there again? You bet!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jmcyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamplighterinn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2008

Dear Valued Guest - I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. San Diego is a beautiful city & there is alot to see. By your response it looks like you saw almost everything. I take great pride in my staff & the hotel and always want to make sure the each individual guest receives the best service that all os us here can provide. We look forward to you & your family staying with us again the next time you are in San Diego.

Sincerely - David Birt/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

My family stayed here for 3 nights while in town for a basketball tournament at UC San Diego. We chose this hotel because of the location, the positive guest reviews, and the fact that they are pet friendly without the pet odor!
Our room was comfortable and roomy, the breakfast had plenty of choices for everyone, and the pool area was very nice and clean. The neighborhood also has plenty of shopping and reatuarants close by.
Best of all, I can honesty say that we have never come accross a nicer and more helpful hotel staff! Everyone of them went out of their way to make our stay an enjoyable one! We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank teethbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#9 of 279 in San Diego
1,934 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 279 in San Diego
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £72 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing