We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay for a SDSU Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #46 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay for a SDSU Visit”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The staff were extremely friendly. The rooms were clean and fresh smelling. There was significant variety on the free breakfast. The hotel is in a convenient location. The price was very reasonable. I highly recommend this hotel to both couples and families!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to know that you were satisfied with the accommodations and customer service we provided. We are dedicated to giving consistent service, quality and value, and we hope that you received all of these qualities that we strive to uphold.
We want our guests to know that we are listening, and by telling us what you enjoyed about your stay, your feedback will help us to offer exceptional service to our future guests.

I hope your visit to SDSU was a good one. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again in the near future! Thank you again for your review, and for choosing to stay at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    319
    81
    20
    10
See reviews for
466
238
59
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

After having a crazy drive down from LA in rush hour we were hoping for an easy time checking in at the BW Lamplighter. That is exactly what we got. Straight away the guy on front desk was pleasant and helpful and told us that we had been upgraded to a suite. That and the free, ready made coffee in reception made my day. On leaving the office you then walk out to what is a very picturesque car park with palm trees and a pool. I know, a picturesque car park???
Anyway, our room was clean and had everything you could need. A fully stocked kitchen, 2 televisions, 2 big beds (1 each?) and a functional living area and bathroom. It was huge,
We had one of the best nights sleep of our trip. In the morning it was an easy drive onto the freeway and on to San Diego Zoo. The second day an equally easy trip down to the beach. The local area has a few bars and restaurants and a supermarket if you are catering for yourself.
The pool at the hotel is big enough to do a few laps and has sun beds if you want to relax. As we had been travelling for a while we also made use of the laundry. All very good.
This was truly my favourite hotel out of the 3 we stayed in during our visit to Cali. It was also one of the cheaper options. Well done to the management and staff, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Private
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This trip a family member was disabled requiring more spacious and accessible accommodations. We called a few hotels in the area, because our budget was limited. Best Western Lamplighter was able to arrange the most affordable accommodations for us. BWL continued to offer outstanding service as there were additional calls from that family member double checking the reservations and the concern of a second floor room. There are no elevators at BWL requiring this disabled person to negotiate stairs. She can not climb or descend stairs.
To our relief, we learned at check-in that arrangements had been made for a first floor room. We were so grateful! The hospitality didn't stop there. BWL continued to assist and check on her for the duration of the stay. You would never have guessed she was disabled, because she didn't have to struggle moving about BWL. They even provided room service, which is not a feature of this location. She was even able to maintain her physical therapy by using the heated pool and walking the property.
There was a sign in the lobby sharing that Best Western locations are individually managed, so no two are alike. We personally experienced that difference. From the outside, Lamplighter looks like any other BW, but go on in for a truly bed & breakfast roll out the welcome mat experience.

Thank you Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was booked to attend a conference at the Marriott ( near the bay) and inadvertently booked this motel about 20 mies away. The friendly evening manager gave me a complimentary upgrade. the environment around the hotel was very good and the room was quite clean, the bed firm, and the bedding excellent. i had a quiet and restful sleep. I left the next morning at 7:15 am I used GPS to determine the quickest path to downtown San Diego, and was parked and at the convention center ballroom by 7:55 am! I paid $69.00. Other attendees at the conference stayed at the Marriott for $250 or more. I would strongly recommend this motel for any value minded individuals regardless of where you are staying in san diego!

Room Tip: I was on the top(second story).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jimboesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Lamplighter Inn. We truly appreciate your compliments and feedback. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and slept well. Our Simmons Beautyrest mattresses are a big hit with our guests, along with the comfortable bedding and pillows. We strive to provide every guest with cleanliness, quality, comfort and an affordable stay. I hope that we exceeded expectations in these areas, and others as well.

Thank you for mentioning that you got a good value out of your stay. This is very important to us and our guests; we make a real effort to keep our prices low, and we never charge any extra or hidden fees. We enjoy providing free amenities such as parking, breakfast, DVD players, a DVD library, and board games for the kids.

Thank you again for the wonderful review, for choosing to stay with us, and for understanding our company culture, and what is most important to us: the guest. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and we are constantly trying to improve. Your feedback will help us do that. We appreciate you recommending us to the TripAdvisor community. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
For the Very Best Service, Book Direct!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Assuming if you are on Trip advisor, you are looking for a value. As you will notice in other reviews, this place is not a 5 star resort by any means. The surrounding area is mixed class residential and commercial but the location is really good for getting around the SD area. The breakfast is continental but fresh and well presented. Some rooms are brighter and fresher than others. The first one we were showed was a bit "worn" but when we asked if there was anything better, the manager took us to the nicest room we've had in a long time for the money, microwave, fridge, quality coffee, nice pool area and landscaping, friendly and accommodating staff. We go to SAN 4 or 4 times a year and this is the best place we've encountered, especially for the price. .

Room Tip: If you book directly with the hotel, ask if the manager, Len, is available. Tell him you read Trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billlane5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was such a pleasure to read your review. We appreciate your thoughts and compliments; it is always refreshing to know that our guests truly understand what we’re about. Our company culture is based on quality, cleanliness, value, and genuine hospitality. We strive to uphold these qualities and provide them to all of our guests. As you mentioned, we are not a fancy hotel. We are a two diamond hotel that focuses on customer satisfaction; what is important to our guests is important to us. We want you, our guests, to know we are listening.

I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for mentioning our landscaping and pool area. Everyone (especially maintenance and housekeeping) works hard to keep our grounds and accommodations looking fresh, and we appreciate that you noticed!

I hope that the Lamplighter Inn will become your home away from home in San Diego. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, and for choosing the Best Western Lamplighter.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
For the Very Best Service, Book Direct!
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Centrally located. We stayed a suite on the first floor. Slept five of us comfortably. Full kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Continental breakfast for everyone everyday, so we saved money by not dining out. We used the microwave to heat up leftovers. We needed full sized fridge for our flowers and less for my cousin's funeral. Totally fit our needs!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugarcanegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stay at this hotel whenever visiting our daughter at San Diego State. It is always clean and breakfast is good. there is construction in the area which means the surroundings are improving. There is a good sports bar in walking distance to hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#32 of 278 in San Diego
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#109 of 278 in San Diego
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Property: Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing