We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #35 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Went to the San Diego area for a pleasure trip to visit friends and celebrate the New Year (2014). Stayed at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn and Suites at SDSU, San Diego, CA The property was easy to get to and frankly, easy access to other areas of San Diego for sightseeing. The price was perfect (less than $250 US Dollars) for three nights including breakfast. Property and rooms were very clean. The room and bed was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly. My wife and I will definitely stay there again when we make another trip to San Diego.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Sorry for not sharing the excitement of previous reviewers... We spent 6 nights in this hotel, which we chose based on the reviews here, and were not very happy. I'll try to break in down to pros and cons:
Pros:
- It is a decent, well-maintained property.
- Housekeeping was great, the room was very clean and the grounds are beautifully landscaped.
- Breakfast was better than expected, had a wide selection and kept us (and kids) happy for the first half of the day.
- Most of the staff we encountered was friendly and helpful, especially the front desk manager.
Cons:
- Location!! The hotel is located in a remote, not-so-good part of town (not a bad neighborhood, just a commercial street dotted with hookah lounges and pawn shops). Getting anywhere in the city took about 20 minutes drive and was quite frustrating.
- The room, although spacious and comfy, does NOT contain fridge and/or microwave, which made it difficult to stay with kids.
- They charge for cribs in the room - 5$ per crib per night, which would add up to quite a hefty amount. We have been traveling with young kids for the past 6 years, and this is the first time we were charged for crib. On checkout, when the front desk lady asked if everything was ok, I said that I was unhappy with this extra charge - she just shrugged and said it was "the manager's decision". Great.
To sum it up: for families with young kids like ourselves, I'd suggest not to be tempted by the reasonable price and positive reviews, but rather pay more attention to the details and choose a hotel closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pashtida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community, and for choosing the Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites. Thank you for mentioning what you enjoyed about your stay; your compliments are appreciated. I am truly sorry that your experience was not what you had hoped. Our goal is to exceed every guest’s expectations, and we take it very seriously when we fail.

Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites is a AAA 2-diamond property. We tend to rate highly with those who appreciate great customer service, clean rooms and want the most for their dollar. While we do charge $5 for a crib, we also include many free amenities that you may end up having to pay for in more expensive hotels, including those in the downtown area. We offer free wireless internet, free parking, free coffee and tea all day, DVD players in all guestrooms, a thoughtfully selected free movie library, and a complimentary expanded continental breakfast that includes much more substance than a standard continental breakfast, we offer hard-boiled eggs, steel-cut oatmeal, freshly made bagels and pastries, juices and make-your-own-waffles.

As you mentioned, the hotel property is very well maintained, with clean, lush, and beautifully landscaped grounds. The guestrooms are spotless, as well as spacious and comfy. We appreciate that you noticed this about our rooms. I apologize that a refrigerator was not included in your room type. We do have rooms equipped with microwaves and mini-fridges, as well as rooms with efficiency kitchens. Next time you stay, please feel free to ask for a room with a refrigerator or a full kitchen.

I am truly sorry that our location was not convenient for you. We are about a mile away from San Diego State University, which is very convenient to a lot of our guests. Being close to the University, we are also in close proximity to many great restaurants and eclectic coffee shops. The freeways 8 and 15 are minutes away, so getting almost anywhere in San Diego takes less than 20 minutes. We are in a very central location, pretty much the middle of San Diego if you look at a map.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn& Suites, and for taking the time to write a review. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and we are constantly trying to improve. Your feedback will help us do that. Our philosophy is to provide clean, quality accommodations, genuine hospitality, and exceptional service that is still a great value. We take pride in making every guests’ stay an enjoyable one. We are not everyone’s cup of tea, but we do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Clean well appointed motel located near SDSU. Minutes from San Diego Zoo and other attractions. Good choice of restaurants nearby. Motel was clean, quiet and staffed by friendly, helpful employees. Would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Reginald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I am glad to hear that our location was convenient for you, and that you found some good places to eat; we do have a nice selection of restaurants near Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliments; we appreciate that you mentioned our clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff. The housekeeping, maintenance, and front desk staff works hard to keep the property lush, clean, and our guests happy. Thank you for noticing!

Once again, thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites. We truly appreciate your feedback. I hope that we will see you again in the near future. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

When we arrived in San Diego, just before the Christmas holidays, we were tired. We were immediately welcomed by the hotels great staff and an amazing clean room and kitchen. Everyday of our 2 week stay was great. The pool was clean and warm and there were always clean towels available. Anything we needed for our kitchen cooking needs were met by all the staff. As well, the barbecue was a wonderful asset. All the staff were pleasant and were always smiling. The amazing breakfast was always ready and always good and always fresh. This is an amazing hotel with great staff that care and it shows. Thank you and Happy New Year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank mikex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review, and for sharing your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. We are honored by your compliments, and glad to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the Best Western Lamplighter Inn's amenities, including our complimentary deluxe breakfast, outdoor heated pool, and poolside BBQ. It is great that you had an enjoyable stay, and very rewarding to know that we met (and hopefully exceeded) your expectations!

We truly appreciate that you “get us.” We are a AAA two diamond property; our philosophy is to provide our guests with cleanliness, an excellent standard of service, quality accommodations, genuine hospitality, and most importantly, all of these qualities at a good value. I hope that you received all of these qualities that we strive to uphold.

Thank you for mentioning the hotels’ friendly, helpful staff, and the clean accommodations. These two qualities are very important to us and our guests.
It's really nice to know that you, our guests recognize the little things we try to do to make every stay enjoyable. Along with having an eager-to-please front desk staff, our housekeepers and maintenance work hard to make our rooms spotless and presentable, and we are so glad you noticed.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites, for taking the time to write a review, and for understanding our company culture, and what is most important to us: the guest. We take guest satisfaction very seriously, and we are constantly trying to improve. Your feedback will help us do that. We appreciate you recommending us to the TripAdvisor community. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon! A Happy New Year from all of us at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I always stay at the Best Western Lamplighter because it is walking distance to my family I am visiting and it is a bargain for the quality and cleanliness of the room, the excellent service and good breakfast. It has everything I need while I am visiting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

First, we were given a room smelled of fresh cigarette smoke despite of our specific request for a non-smoking room (due to a health condition). Second, our hotel room was INFESTED with ants on our second day. The front desk woman, who embodies NO customer service skills and is full of “I don’t care” attitude, came to our room with a broom and swept all the ants from the walls onto the floor. These ants fell into our cups, food, and belongings. When we requested to change room, they told us they only had a smaller smoking room without the same amenities as our current room. Thirty minutes later, they told us that they just sold their only available room and there is nothing they can do to help us.
When we requested to talk to Len, he was extremely defensive when we refused to accept his offer of relocating us to another hotel at a higher rate. He was constantly whining about having to come in on his day off to deal with the insect issue. He also emphasized that working on his day off is against California’s state law. He blamed the issue of ant infestation as “an act of nature” and not due to the cleanliness of the hotel. He was also very condescending, unwilling to accommodate, hostile in his every words. When we offered to come down to the front desk to personally talk with him, he refused, and brushed us off the phone. We ended up transferring to a different hotel at midnight feeling like a very devalued and disrespected customer of Best Western
Len, remember you are employed because customers pay to stay at your establishment. You can be reassured that we will not waste another penny at your insect infested facility and will share this review with every single person/website we come across. For a GM, we have a little higher expectation of you and your facility-that is to treat your guest with the utmost respect while they are away from home.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank kiman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Owner at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

We thought deeply on how to address this review. We pride ourselves on giving great customer service to each and every guest. We may not always meet our guests’ expectations but we always strive to. When a guest is dissatisfied, we take it seriously. When there is a problem, we do our utmost to try and repair the issue. We completely understand the importance of keeping our guests happy.

This valued guest’s room was non-smoking, we’ve had many guests stay in that room who have never complained of smelling smoke, based on her report of smoke smell, we gave her another room. The first room was a kitchen unit and, unfortunately, we were sold-out in kitchen units, so we gave the guest two rooms, one to sleep in, and the kitchen unit so she could cook... free…no extra charge.

Around 9:30pm she called front desk to complain of ants. Our Front Desk agent, who has been with us many years and typically receives very positive comments, went to the room, removed the ants and asked if she could treat the area with ant spray. The guest refused and demanded that she speak with the hotel manager. Even though it was late at night, and the manager had gone home hours before, he didn’t just call…he returned to the hotel to talk with the guest.

I have to say, we work very hard at keeping pests out of our rooms; we know how important cleanliness is to our guests. We have a service that makes regular visits to help control pests. We inspect our rooms constantly and we receive very high scores on our frequent Best Western Quality Inspections. We try to do everything we can to make sure our guests don’t have to face these pets. We are very sorry that we failed in this instance, but it certainly wasn’t for a lack of effort.

Unfortunately, as we explained to the guest, we could not move them. We were sold out that night, she refused to stay in the room because of the ants, even though we had removed them, our only choice was to offer her a room at our sister property.

We are a family owned business that has been in the hospitality business for over 40 years, we truly understand that providing great customer service, great value and clean rooms is what keeps us in business. We work very hard and take pleasure in our success. Our guest did move to our other property and my understanding is that her stay there was satisfactory.

Sincerely,

John Lyon
Proud Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was my second stay at the Lamplighter, because of the cleanliness, roominess, and pets are allowed. I have a small terrier and he was just as pleased. Convenient access from I-8 was the determining factor, originally, but after my first stay it was a no-brainer for the second trip to San Diego. My wife is a real stickler for cleanliness and the Lamplighter fit the bill nicely!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mallory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and compliments. We are so glad to hear that you and your wife (and your terrier!) enjoyed the accommodations.

Here at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn we take cleanliness very seriously, and we appreciate that you noticed. Our housekeeping staff works hard to keep the rooms spotless, and our maintenance staff takes great care of the grounds. I am glad that we were able to exceed expectations in this area.

We strive to exceed every guest’s expectations in other areas as well. Our company culture is based on providing genuine hospitality, quality accommodations, cleanliness, and affordability. These features are very important to us, and our guests; I hope that you and your family received all of the qualities that we strive to uphold, and more.

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Lamplighter Inn for your stay in San Diego. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests, and it makes us proud to hear that a second stay would be a no-brainer! We are very grateful for these compliments, and we hope to see you again soon!

We always want our guests to get the most value for their dollar, so the next time you visit, feel free to take advantage of our many amenities, including a free continental breakfast, a free DVD rental collection, a pool (always heated to 80 degrees), a poolside barbecue, and plenty more. We also provide a $1 “Inn Sider’s Guide” booklet featuring things to do in San Diego, places to eat, hidden gems, adventures off the beaten path, and much more. All of the activities, places, and restaurants featured in the guide are favorites handpicked by our entire staff and owner, and can be very useful for exploring San Diego!

Thank you again for the wonderful review!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#9 of 278 in San Diego
1,942 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £64 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing