We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Nearby Hotels
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pantai Inn(La Jolla)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$203
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$224
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
US$423
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveller rating
569
348
84
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
569
348
84
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan diego state universityel cajon blvdbreakfast roomhard boiled eggsfull kitchenfamily suitebest westernsmake your own wafflesnice poolwaffle makergreat place to stayclean roomsyogurtheated poolthe san diego areahotel staywould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This Best Western is a great value for visiting parents of students at San Diego State University. It is very close to campus, yet far enough from the campus to avoid the traffic and noise. The staff is very friendly and attentive. You can get a room with a kitchen which is great for keeping costs down.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the hotel at the end of January. We enjoyed our stay and the value was very good. A minor complaint is that the breakfast area is too small to accommodate more than 15 people or so, and even that is tight. Also, our TV did not receive about 30% of the channels that were listed on the guide- a little frustrating. Overall, we had very comfortable rooms and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank bikerider23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ottawa, Canada
2
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Wonderful room. Great location. Very satisfied. Will stay at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at San Diego State University again. Not very happy that TripAdvisor is demanding that I write 200 characters for this review. Won't complete another one for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here because of the reviews on tripadvisor and the price. We were checked in the the manager Len and he was very friendly and helpful. He had put together a very extensive list of things to do in the area that he makes available to guest. The rooms were quiet (we stayed in back a nice outdoor area) and had nice amenities. The breakfast was good (although we didn't each too much because we were headed to the House of Blues Gospel Brunch). We will definite stay there again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Even though this hotel is "dated", it is one of the cleanest hotel rooms that we have stayed in. Our criteria for a hotel is clean (number 1), good internet and a decent breakfast. This hotel received top marks on all three. The bed was very comfortable, the pillows were a bit soft. Free HBO was a nice touch after a long day of sightseeing. Bathroom was well maintained with plenty of towels. The breakfast selections were pastries, bagels, breads, cereals, prepared oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, waffles, juices, coffee and tea. There was a very pleasant young women who was constantly cleaning and replenishing the breakfast buffet. Our purpose in San Diego was sight-seeing and we found the location of this hotel to be very reasonable in proximity to the downtown and major attractions. I have read in other reviews about noise from the pool area and I can see that this could be an issue on a busy weekend however we were there on a Monday and Tuesday. Overall we have stayed in plenty of hotels in this price range (1 queen bed with full kitchen - 198.00 Canadian for 2 nights), this hotel was a great value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conscience-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews