We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Ace Budget Motel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Harvey's Motel(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Navajo Lodge(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,026)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveller rating
563
347
84
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
347
84
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan diego state universityel cajon blvdbreakfast roomhard boiled eggsfull kitchenfamily suitebest westernsmake your own wafflesnice poolwaffle makergreat place to stayclean roomsyogurtheated poolthe san diego areahotel staywould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
503 - 508 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a very friendly place. The pool area is absolutely beautiful! I do wish the breakfast area was a bit bigger, because of crowding. In our AAA book it states this hotel is in San Diego, but it is actually in La Mesa. Just an FYI.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Dedra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Dedra M.

We just wanted to reach out to you and say thanks for the kind words about our staff and pool area. TripAdvisor is about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research.

You are right, about our breakfast being cozy, we are in the very beginning stages of developing a plan to overhaul the entire lobby & breakfast room area, and as far as our location, La Mesa is about a mile or so to the east of us. San Diego State University is a mile to the North West of our location. But since there are two freeways near us, it is easy to get to most San Diego attractions.

Remember to book direct with us for the best service, room selection, and value! We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partners’ websites.

Yours in Hospitality,

Len Regan | General Manager
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 545-0778

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We loved staying at this Best Western!!! Everything was excellent. And the staff was so friendly and Awesome!! They had a grill in the pool area so you could bbq when you stay there. This hotel was close to all of the things we did like the zoo and Seaworld.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hello Lawrence D,

Wow! It is great to hear that you loved staying at our little hotel! Here at the Best Western Lamplighter Inn, we strive to give superior service to all our guests and it's a wonderful feeling when this is recognized....THANK YOU!

We do our best to make our guests feel at home by adding extra amenities, such as the BBQ area, which many guests enjoy while staying here. We're glad that you appreciated it.

Thank you for mentioning our central location. Being only 20 or so minutes away from the main attractions in San Diego is convenient. And because we aren't in the downtown area or in hotel circle, we can offer more competitive rates, along with free parking, free wireless access to the internet and a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast.

Again, thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to serve you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michelle
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was here for 4 nights, and I had the best time. It was a nice location not fare from one thing or another. The front desk staff was amazing. Lynn the GM was wonderful on giving me ideas on what to see while visiting the city. Just a great stay and when I return ill be sure to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Kara D.

It is with great pride that I am able to read so many great reviews about our staff and property.
San Diego is great destination, and we really enjoy helping our guests explore what it has to offer.

We are glad you took the time to share your experience, and look forward to seeing you on a future stay.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Best Regards,

Len Regan-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

For a short overnight stay this hotel would be acceptable. It is affordable and the beds are comfortable but the rooms are small and lack a microwave or refrigerator. The carpets were dirty and there were stains on the bedding. The rest of the room seemed clean as was the bathroom and shower. The staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us, we were glad to read that you found our beds to be comfortable, and the staff friendly and helpful. We hear this often, and it gives a sense of pride since our staff is dedicated to providing superior customer care.

We were unhappy to learn about the cleanliness issues you encountered. As soon as we read your review I contacted housekeeping, and together we were able to locate the room you had problems with. We do our best to fix any problems before our guests arrive, unfortunately, at times some problems do get past us. As most people have noted we take cleanliness very seriously.

We do apologize for the inconvenience they caused you. In the future, please let Front Desk know of any issues you experience as soon as possible as we want to take care of those issues immediately.

We are a hotel property committed to providing a great stay for each of our guests, we were very sorry that we failed in this instance. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Regards,

Len Regan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Main reason for us to come to San Diego was to visit San Diego Sea Wold and Zoo. They both are close to the hotel. Many verities for breakfast and it is free. I stayed with my family for 5 days and they liked it. Room is clean. Staff went out of the way to get us the same room for an additional day we requested later.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Milinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Lamplighter-Inn, Guest Services at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Milinda S.

Here in San Diego, we know that there are hundreds of hotels to choose from, and we are very happy that you decided to stay with us. While we are not directly near the Sea World and San Diego Zoo park they are only about 15 - 20 minute drive to each.

We take pride in providing the best service a hotel can offer and are confident that we will do our best to make sure that your stay is a memorable one.

Our goal is to provide a variety when it comes to breakfast options and are very pleased you were here to enjoy them. We look very forward to your next visit and thank you again for choosing Best Western Lamplighter as your choice of hotel.

Sincerely,

Justin M.
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews