We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel belongs in La Mesa Hotels, not San Deigo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Ranked #37 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
956 reviews
319 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 750 helpful votes
“This hotel belongs in La Mesa Hotels, not San Deigo”
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We stayed one night in room 118 at Best Western Lamplighter Inn in La Mesa for less than $100, all-in. We like BW because we know we'll always have wi-fi, and the Lamplighter Inn's was the strongest signal of all the hotels where we stayed. Check out was at 11. Hot air blower heating. Easy parking. Cars park in front of rooms, but there was no great disturbance of cars coming and going. The cable TV includes HBO. Good breakfast with 2 waffle machines that worked quickly. There were boiled eggs, danish rolls, no yoghurt, but good orange juice, and cereal. The breakfast room with about 7 tables was next to the office so it was easy for the staff to replenish items. The room and friendliness of the staff were very good, but we really needed a refrigerator. We'd recommend the Lamplighter Inn for those who don't need a refrigerator and who don't mind being in La Mesa. A room with a refrigerator would cost about $10 more, which would make the room rate less competitive.

  • Liked — Great wi-fi
  • Disliked — No refrigerator in standard room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGuySanDiego, Owner at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 5 January 2009
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although not all of our rooms have refrigerators, we do offer them in a large portion of our guestrooms - from small refrigerators to apartment sized units in all of our suites.

In regards to our location, we actually are within the San Diego city limits and are about a mile away from San Diego State University.

Thank you again for your review. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego.

Sincerely,

John Lyon
Proud Owner, Best Western Lamplighter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    311
    78
    19
    8
See reviews for
450
233
58
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hollywood, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We stayed at the BW Lamplighter Inn over the Thanksgiving holiday based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were pleased with our stay. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The inn is not too far from the freeway and accessible to the many main attractions that San Diego has to offer. We went to Legoland and it was about a 35 min. drive from the hotel.

The complimentary breakfast was very good. Fresh warm waffles, cereals, juices, coffee, tea, fruit, and pastries. Just enough for my family to be fully satisfied. Free wi-fi in the rooms. Must go to the front desk for a wireless card.

I guess my only complaint would be was that our beds were not that comfortable. Other than that everything was good. If you're looking for luxury this is not the place for you. It's a nice clean place to lay your head down. Would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelElixirBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2008

I read all the reviews available prior to booking a suite at the Lamplighter and the hotel lived up to them really well.

We stayed for 13 nights from mid to end of November 2008. I had asked via e-mail for a suite as far away from the road as possible and was pleased when we arrived to find that this had indeed been possible. Our room was extremely clean and kept that way by housekeeping throughout our stay. Generally the whole place is kept really nicely, everything in its place, clean, organised, smart and presentable. The pool and parking area with the grass and palm trees are very pleasant and given the space available I don't see how they could be made better.

Our suite had 2 queen beds in one room then a door to the sitting room with armchair and sofa bed. TV,s in both rooms. Wash basin just outside bathroom, nice powerful shower with un-ending hot water. Full kitchen with everything you really need but not more. There was plenty of room for my partner and I for our extended stay which was why we booked the suite so we would not be couped up. Beds were very comfortable.

The breakfast room is small but we always managed to find somewhere to sit if we wanted to, just had to wait a few minutes a couple of mornings. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice, the waffles are good and the coffee is ok to start you off in the morning.

Parking was easy, we had no problems at all getting a space almost right outside our room everytime.

As far as the people at the Lamplighter are concerned there are to kinds. 1st the staff who we found to be warm, friendly, welcoming, hospitable, professional, helpful and informative in all of our contact with them, they cannot be faulted. 2nd the other guests who in the overwhelming majority were just ordinary folk. However as will be found wherever you go there was a rogue few percent who had little consideration for others. These ones slammed doors, talked / shouted loud and late, left a mess on the breakfast room floor and their table full of rubbish for someone else to clear. As mentioned previously these were the exception and not at all the norm. If you get one of the noisy ones next door to you it does show up the walls as being rather thin.

We have stayed at many places with higher star ratings than the Lamplighter and have been dissapointed at some of them. The opposite is true at the Lamplighter where the 2 star rating does not do it justice, it really deserves a third star. If you are realastic with your expectations of this 2 star hotel (ie not expecting 4 stars) you will not be dissappointed.

If we ever come back to San Diego I really cannot imagine taking the risk of staying anyware else given the great experience we had this time at the Lamplighter.

  • Liked — room size
  • Disliked — noisy neighbours / thin walls
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LuckyGuyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

We stayed here for a mini-weekend getaway in September 2008. It was last minute and we couldn't find a decent priced room in the area. After visiting TA and seeing the reviews for this hotel we decided to bite the bullet and give the Best Western a shot.

It was a very basic room, but it was clean and close to the Zoo and lots of great restaurants in the area. We went to a nearby store and stocked up on water, soda and white wine for the fridge so it was nice to have cold drinks all weekend.

We even hung out at the pool on our last day, the towels at the pool are a little small and thin, so i would recommend bringing your own beach towels.

Other than that it was a great affordable weekend at the Lamplighter! :) I wish TA would give us the option on giving out half stars, because I would rate the Best Western a 3.5 stars.

  • Liked — Price & Proximity to restaurants & zoo
  • Disliked — The towels at the pool ...
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bebe624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

My family was going to Sea World and after reading all the wonderful reviews of the Lamplighter, I thought I'd give them a try. Some reviews on TripAdvisor had rates under $90/night, but I could only find more expensive prices online. So I called the hotel directly. The lady who answered the phone offered me a lower rate--I was thrilled.

The room was clean, the sheets soft, the beds comfortable. We'd ordered a crib and it was assembled and waiting in our room. Unfortunately, the next morning I found a moldy bagel in the breakfast room. I didn't complain immediately--I was travelling with two toddlers and frankly felt too tired and harrassed. But I did fill out the comment card that was in the room.

To my surprise, the manager of the hotel called me to apologize. He said he was so upset to hear that I'd had a bad experience. Then he insisted on taking $50 off my bill. I was floored. He also said that he'd talked to his whole staff and that "this would never happen again." I believe him.

The bottom line: this hotel really does go the extra mile. It is a fantastic deal close to downtown and Sea World. I will certainly stay there again!!!

  • Liked — customer service
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tallmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScratchSanDiego_CA_, General Manager at Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU, responded to this review, 26 November 2008
Dear Valued Guest - Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I was elated that you enjoyed your stay with us & that my entire staff made your stay an enjoyable one.

It is very important to me that when our guest have a problem I contact them directly & make sure that I resolve the issue they may have had duriing there stay with us. Customer Service is one of our main goals & is exremely important to me.

We look forward to your return visit & once again thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

David Birt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

Stayed four nights for $80/night. Don't let the small lobby fool you. Great place for the price. Two story motel with exterior corridors. Not too fancy, but very nicely decorated, exceptionally clean, and very well maintained. The stairs and corridor were spotless, a door mat perfectly placed in front of every room, towels placed on lounge chairs by the pool ready for the guests. The room was a reasonable size with double queens. Bedding, wall color, and wall pictures all coordinated. Only one sink, but excellent shower head. And, every staff member was extremely pleasant, helpful and friendly. If I was picky, I would point out that the free breakfast room is rather small. We could hear the people in the room next door arguing on the phone (with a raised voice), so I suppose the walls could be better insulated. But, really, everything else was great.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveLebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
227 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

stayed there for few days prior to convention in san fran,,room was clean, no funny odors,confortable bed,, and yes waffles, waffles waffles.,,the free breakfast buffet was better than most hotels, eggs,cereal, numerous kinds of pastries,,and yes a waffles machine,which i took part of everyday,, the staff more than hepful with all my needs.....I.E. directions,computer usage, and overall knowledge of the area and its attractions...would definately stay here again,, oh i didnt mention the prices...excellent..call hotel for unadvertised pricing,,thank you staff at bw lamplighter, i know you guys read these sometimes, great job keep up the great work... brett

  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank brettnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#34 of 279 in San Diego
2,069 reviews
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#108 of 279 in San Diego
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU

Property: Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Address: 6474 El Cajon Blvd, San Diego, CA 92115-2645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites (a AAA 2-diamond hotel) is conveniently located 3/4 miles from San Diego State University, and only 15 minutes from Downtown, the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. Many of the rooms include kitchen facilities, making this the ideal place for an extended stay. Amenities include: complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and parking, and heated outdoor pool, Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lamplighter Inn And Suites At Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Best Western Lamplighter Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing