We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad, quiet and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Americana Inn
Ranked #119 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not too bad, quiet and comfortable”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just arrived from my week stay at this hotel while in San Diego on business. The entire stay was paid for by the company so I cannot say price wise (not even sure what the rates are as we have our own corporate rates that are direct bill), but seems like it would be at least on par with average rates in the area.

*TIP* If you are new to San Diego, and unsure of the area to stay I will warn you this is nowhere near the city. On the contrary you are about 1.8 miles from the Mexican Border off of what seems like the end of a side/bypass road. I was looking for more in the city to be centrally located to my associates and training reqs. but had no idea and booked this one. I won't give bad for location because it was my fault for not checking and quite surprising actually it was very quiet and pleasant.

Now for my list of pros and cons:

Pros:
Staff is courteous, at least in my opinion. Check in and Check out literally took seconds. I was not bugged about anything, and any concerns I had were responded too pretty quickly. At times they could take a bit to answer the phone, but I never had an issue with impoliteness or lack professionalism.

I can't remark on the breakfast because I was always out early mornings and never went to it.

It was very clean, I never saw a single bug, spider or stain/crumb in there when I arrived. Cleaning staff were also very kind and polite (anytime I asked for an extra coffee and fixings I would get a hand full of each lol).

TV comes with HBO.

Beds are pretty comfy in my opinion. They are firm, but I do not like soft mattresses for for me it was perfect. I could sleep like a baby every night after work. AC is very cold and very quick so you have to remember not to leave it on for too long.

Good water pressure in the bathroom and the mini fridge worked like charm.

Outside of my own dislike of where I was located (again only for work purposes, made my commute longer, and again was my fault here) it was centered around pretty much what you would need. You had Carl's Jr right next to you, Burger King down the street, McDonalds, Coco's Bakery restaurant next door and a 24 hour gas station all within stones throw distance. WalMart was about 2 miles down the road, so for what you would need the location was pretty spot on.

Cons:

Alarm clock was broke. (not a big deal as wake up call worked fine and I just used the alarm on my phone)

TV, while having HBO was a standard non HD setup with basic cable.

My bathtub had an intermittent drip. Not horrible as you close the door and the sound disappears.

Wifi is very spotty, sometimes it works great, other times I couldn't keep a connection for more than a couple minutes at a time. This seemed mainly to happen towards Thurs-Friday night when I'm sure peak hotel capacity is reached.

All in all for a business trip and picking a hotel I had no clue where it was located, it was a very good stay. If it wasn't about location, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DustinCasano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your comments we will use this in our meeting. Yes if you do not know the area, it can be a bit out of central S.D. We do our best to be hospitable and thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    110
    58
    14
    12
See reviews for
111
73
32
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I've stayed at both terrible and really nice places, this falls somewhere in between. It was easy to access right off of the I-5, the exterior looks pleasant and the rooms are ok. The bed was hard, I like a firm mattress so I was ok with this, the pillows were really hard. The bathroom door does not lock, they do not offer free water like many hotels. The included breakfast was only okay, we gave up on it after the first day and ate elsewhere instead. The main issue is the location, it is only a few miles from Tijuana and the border crossing, if this is your destination I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this establishment. If you plan on visiting downtown San Diego or any of the beaches it's a good 30 minute drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for the feedback and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Room very clean and bed extremely comfortable. Flat screen TV with HBO. Good water pressure in shower. Good options at breakfast including eggs and waffles. Room gets crowded if you are not early riser. Night check in person very friendly. Only minus during stay is that free wifi is spotty and my room was not in range. Easy access to highway and sights. Got an extremely favorable rate on Orbitz.

Room Tip: A room near breakfast area would offer better wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qlidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your patronage and yes we have had a little trouble wiht the WiFi and we have hopefully recitfied the situation. Thanks for the tips and again we do appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Love love loved the hotel.It was clean, cozy and wonderful. Especially with a toddler I just felt relaxed at all times. Their breakfast is not the best but it is not bad either. So yes will stay here next time

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roopache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for the kind words, we work to make our guests stay comfortable and we appreciate all comments and will take the breakfast information into consideration. Please come and stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a surprisingly nice hotel for the price. It is located right off of I-5 in with a few restaurants nearby. It takes about 15-20 minutes to get to downtown San Diego, but if you are looking for great value in San Diego, I highly recommend this hotel.

The room itself was very spacious, very clean, and nicely decorated. There is a flat screen TV in the room and fast Wi-Fi.

Staff members were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was pretty standard but had enough options and was well-stocked. There was a breakfast attendant on station in case you needed anything.

There is plenty of parking and a very nice pool and hot tub.

I will definitely stay here the next time I am in San Diego. For the price, this hotel can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inquisitive_Wayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you and please come again, we appreciate your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The staff was very nice, even though we came in very late. The room was amazing; especially for the price. The pool was clean, but it wasn't the biggest pool in the world. I know you can't really rate a hotel based on the guests, but even the guests were amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAB40AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for the kind words and please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed a night here on a road trip from Vegas to San Fransisco. It was ok. The girl at Reception was very welcoming and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet, the air con worked, but was a bit rattley, the breakfast room was tiny for the number of guests but the staff there worked hard and the food was ok, and the wifi signal was very patchy, to say the least. Like I say, it was ok. Great for a stopover, but I'd be hacked off if we'd booked to stay there for a week.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyTweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P P, Manager at Best Western Americana Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#189 of 278 in San Diego
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Mission Bay
#109 of 278 in San Diego
584 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#166 of 278 in San Diego
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Americana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Americana Inn

Property: Best Western Americana Inn
Address: 815 W San Ysidro Blvd, San Diego, CA 92173-1827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Americana Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a gem situated near the Border of Mexico and very near downtown San Diego. We have close to 120 rooms! We have Free Hot Breakfast as well as Free WiFi, In Room Microwave/Fridge, LCD Flat Screen TV cable and HBO and Pool and Jacuzzi as well as Free off street parking and we have eateries in the adjacent parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Americana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Americana Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing