We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Term Residents; Not for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Ranked #235 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Half residence place/half Motel. When I arrived, several rooms had their doors propped open and people were loitering/standing in the doorways and on the balconies hanging out. People were coming and going all night. Left for my flight at 4:30a.m. and there were still people just hanging around outside their rooms (room doors open to the outside.) Didn't see anyone smoking. I absolutely would not take my family here. Thought it would be better, given the price but I was taken.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carpetbagger1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Totally unappealing from checkin to checkout. Even the vending machines in the lobby are broke. Our room smelled like cigarette smoke. The room's linens appeared to be designed in the 80s but were clean. Cleanliness was the only bright spot in this totally depressing hotel. Do not stay here. Next time I'll pay more to stay closer to town in a more updated locale.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank LW8415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

When we arrived I had requested a non-smoking room, we noticed we ended up with a smoking room so I was not too happy about that. When we arrived in the room, the room was very dirty, soiled floors, black tub, dried up spaghetti on the floor and carpet. When I went back to the front desk to complain we were moved to a non-smoking room, after that we brought all our bags down to our room we did a quick inspection, what we found was very very shocking! When I peeled back the sheets they were all covered with urine stains! When Informed the front desk about the sheets,she said that they would be right over to change them, that never happened. So we went out to dinner, thinking they would change them by the time we got back. Nope! Now I was really upset so I go to the night clerk to ask for clean sheets, he stated that he would give them to me but I had to change them myself!! NOT COOL! My son cut his leg on the sharp edge of the bed frame which was off center. In closing, this property needs some serious improvements and upgrades in rooms and grounds and just overall cleanness, the carelessness of staff just showed throughout the whole experience. Please enjoy my pictures.

Room Tip: Please make sure rooms are clean, and watch out for the shady characters hanging around the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank omarmoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Clean and quite but was changed only towels.Very close to highway and cafe and restaurant , Walmart not far of way. Pool was freeze,we can't swim.!!!!wifi was free but doesn't work ether. I'm not recommend stay in that hotel mor then one night .

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Makanakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is no longer a Ramada. When we checked in we were informed that it was sold to Motel 6 and that they no longer would be providing the complimentary breakfast service. They did provide a $10 discount on the room price, however, we were never contacted prior to our arrival and notified of the changes. The staff was confused because of the sudden change also.
The hotel is in a very weird spot, right off of and directly next to the freeway. The room was very low budget. Pretty clean, but not nice to look at.
It did the job, but I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank KoOlina_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Corwyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
California Suites Hotel
#232 of 279 in San Diego
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Town and Country San Diego
#182 of 279 in San Diego
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Address: 4380 Alvarado Canyon Rd, Hwy 8 & Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120-4301 (Formerly Ramada San Diego Mission Valley)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range: £63 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Mission Valley / Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Ramada San Diego
Ramada Hotel San Diego
Super Eight San Diego
San Diego Super Eight
San Diego Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing