We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Roadside Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Ranked #224 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Roadside Motel”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Were were booked into this 'hotel' by our travel agent, when we arrived we were greatly dissapointed!! It is just off the sliproad of the freeway, so as you can imagine it is contantly noisy with traffic! i would avoid the pool as is situated in the middle of the carpark with no privacy so when people drive in they can clearly see you sunbathing, and you can also hear the contant traffic passing so it is not very relaxing.
Breakfast was included but would give this a miss aswell, unless you like dry cereals, croissants and waffles, in a cafeteria like setting just inside the reception area! The double rooms are quite small and dingy, no net curtains so had to keep the curtains closed the whole time!, decoration was dated. It is also quite far from the downtown area, about 8 miles/ $30 in taxi / about 40 mins on the trolly service with a few changes, so not very convienient either!
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and we contacted our agent asap to be moved to a much nicer holiday in the downtown city of San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clare_curtis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaMV, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
I am truly sorry that your stay with us was not what you were looking for. I am happy that you were able to find another hotel that you enjoyed. Thank you for sharing your experience with the readers of Trip Advisor. Our hotel my not be the newest in the area but we have clean rooms and exceptional staff that take care of all our guest's.
Thank you again for your observation.

Best regards,
Mitchell David Buser, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    49
    60
    23
    42
See reviews for
84
37
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

This was 1 of 3 hotels we stayed in during our visit to San Diego.
I chose this hotel for 3 nights because of the price and we weren’t going to spend a lot of time in the room.

Cons:
1. Location is right next to freeway and there is nothing walking distance. If your room is on the side facing the freeway you will hear the cars passing when the room a/c is not on.
2. There is a pool but it is on the freeway side.

Pros:
1. Price of $60 from otel site is a very good deal expecially with the nice breakfast. .
2. Breakfast included - make your own waffles with 2 heavy-duty waffle makers, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, breads, muffins, danish, cereals. But Juices are watered down.
3. Room was clean, beds ok. Some rooms do have refrigerator. The 1st night had one but when we came back for 3'rd and 4th night, this room did not.
4. Marie Calendar and DZ Akins (NY style deli) restaurants are close by.
5. There is a fitness center that is small with about 4 pieces of equipment but at least there is one.

This hotel is adequate if you just need a place to sleep and want a very nice breakfast included. Ask for a room away from the freeway.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RhonaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaMV, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us here at the Ramada hope that you do come back to stay with us the next time that you are in the San Diego Area.

Best regards,
Mitchell David Buser, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This hotel is a two star motel but no way is it a hotel. It is situated right on a busy highway as a result there is a heavy noise al the time. The room itself was kind of OK no complaints regarding cleanliness.
However the exterior access hallways did have a strong urine odor .We spent a minimum time inside for our one night stay and we been happy when we left the hotel.I wouldn’t stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gigiduru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoManager, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you did not have a pleasant stay with us. This hotel isn’t fancy- but if you are looking for something CLEAN, AFFORDABLE, AND HOSPITABLE than this hotel is for you. We do not try to compare the Ramada brand to other brands like Marriot, but you will receive great customer service. Yes, this hotel is located next to the freeway which is convenient to hop right on the freeway to get anywhere in San Diego in a few minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights from july 5 checked out july 8. Wished we
could of stayed more. The room was very cleaned the staff was very
Friendly. The variety in the breakfast was wonderful. They had belgium
waffles,fresh fruit ,fresh coffee , eggs , juice choice and much more. The
Fitness center was great. My family loved the pool and hot tub. Overall
Our experience was awesome. We will do this again next year for a
week or two. Thank you Ramada !

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoManager, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
We appreciate the great review you have given the Ramada Mission Valley hotel in San Diego. The staff tries their best to assist the guest in any way they can. The employees have been in San Diego for a long time and they love to give out tips on what local restaurants are a must, what area attractions are worth visiting and what shopping malls have great deals. We really hope you and your family can make it out again next year to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 2 yo daughter. Gave up a teeny-tiny room with a microwave and fridge for a more spacious room sans micro and fridge, but double beds. Rooms are updated and very clean. Conveniently located near freeway, so easy to get around San Diego, and I believe the trolly is near by as well. Even though it is next to the freeway, the noise was not an issue for us.

Breakfast was good, very well stocked, so no issue as to what time you showed up for it. Internet access was great.

Management called us on our second day and had to switch our room, yet again, for a plumbing issue (don't know if it was adjacent to us), but they were very kind about it, and we had no issue moving. Luckily they caught us before we left for the zoo.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latinqt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoManager, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
It’s always nice to hear positive feedback from our guest. The guests are always shocked when they don’t hear any highway nose in their room. It’s not as bad as it looks with the rooms facing the freeway. Ramada Mission Valley is located a block from the Trolley line- Grantville Station so it is very easy for people who are travelling without a car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We just returned from a five night stay at the Ramada Mission Valley. Everything was in order...no funky smells, everything worked, the staff was friendly, pool/rooms/lobby were very clean. The beds and pillows were also comfy...we expected less considering the price! The breakfast area each morning blew away our expectations by far...fresh toast, milk, coffee, juices, eggs, fruit, waffles, bagels, muffins and pastries! So, we got 20 breakfasts and our room for five nights...all for an amazing price! This hotel was 12 minutes from the Zoo and Seaworld, 14 minutes from downtown, and 18 minutes from Coronado. It is very close to Qualcomm stadium and several nice malls. Lots of good restaurants in the area too! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coach63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaMV, General Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you taking the time to write a review on our property. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that you will return back to the property the next time that you are the San Diego area.

Best regards,
Mitchell David Buser, CHA
Ramada Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2010

we went to sandeigo fro the family vacation. and stayed at this toel . very frendly and quite hotel. all the staff member are nice and very nicely dressed. manager was really frendly. very helpful with my kids. nice atmospher.. will go thereat every time whn i will visit san deigo ...

very nice place to stay..... best place

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cool85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanDiegoManager, Manager at Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
We are pleased to know you had a great time in San Diego. Please visit the Ramada Mission Valley SDSU soon. There is always plenty of things to do and see- San Diego Zoo, Beaches, Sea World and many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
California Suites Hotel
#225 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
SpringHill Suites San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East

Property: Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
Address: 4380 Alvarado Canyon Rd, Hwy 8 & Mission Gorge Road, San Diego, CA 92120-4301 (Formerly Ramada San Diego Mission Valley)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Mission Valley / Sdsu Hotel San Diego
Ramada San Diego
Ramada Hotel San Diego
Super Eight San Diego
San Diego Super Eight
San Diego Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing