We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Mimmo's

Mimmo's
Ranked #98 of 4,751 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We found Mimmo's by accident while looking for another restaurant in the area that was closed on a Monday. When we first went in the restaurant there was only one other table filled; so we were a little nervous. The service was attentive and fast. The menu had many choices for a variety of tastes. My husband had the chicken parm and I had the cannelloni. Both were excellent and delicious. My husband had the lava cake for dessert. He was in heaven. We liked it so much that we went back on another night and had impeccable meals and service once again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MomCPNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    134
    37
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Surprising and Tasty Find in Little Italy”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

As you walk through Little Italy there is no shortage of Italian restaurants to choose from. Most of them look the same. Enter into Mimmo's though and you walk into an Italian street scene (I know some people will say it feels fake like a place in Vegas or disagree that is what Italy is like but sometimes you just have to have a little imagination and go with the flow). The food was tasty and full of garlic! As a group of four we had soup, calamari (very good), pasta and pizza. The staff were friendly and the price very reasonable. This one goes down as a surprising find that we will go back to and visit again in the future. They also have some semi-private area's which could be good for group meals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Prices, Good Italian Food”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Great place, prices were good, dinner for two with drinks and dessert, less than sixty dollars. Backed Macaroni and Cheese was great, and the Fettuccine Bolognese was excellent, big portion with lots of sauce and meat. House Cab was very good. Great place for Italian.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelcey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary,Alberta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had a New Years eve dinner on the patio and got seated around 7PM with no waiting which I thought was not a good sign but all went very well. The service was a little sporatic but since it was busy what the heck. Peroni was great! My wife had a glass of house wine which she enjoyed. Meal itself was good not great but nothing wrong just no pizzazz! Would I go back, maybe but so many more to try in" Little Italy"

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badgerhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great price point and good Italian ”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Went there tonight and had the ziti and sausage. Great hearty dish with some great ingredients. Beer was pricey. I would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Jfealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mimmo's also viewed

 

Been to Mimmo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing