We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel staff was the friendliest and most courteous ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Ranked #93 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This hotel staff was the friendliest and most courteous ever.”
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed here because they offered a shuttle and the front desk and the shuttle drivers made us feel like we never put them out and were just so awesome and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyfromphilly1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    140
    55
    17
    9
See reviews for
133
59
24
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I was very pleased with our room and with the staff here. From the front desk to housekeeping, the staff was so pleasant, friendly, helpful and very accomodating. They made our stay here feel like home. Special thanks to Vance, Marg & Ivan at the front desk, who always made me feel welcome & special, even when I lost my room key. Another special thanks to our shuttle driver, Gerardo, who made our evenings even better by providing us pleasant & safe transportation. Gerardo also ofered ice & water to those at the pool on hot days when it was definitely needed & much appreciated! Another special thanks to the maintence guy who always had a smile on his face & a kind word to say to all. He also promptly fixed the whirlpool when it was down, which made myself & other guests very happy. The rooms were very nice, comfortable, roomy & clean. Also, a plus is that you allow pets. Its so difficult to find pet friendly hotels these days. Although I didnt bring my pets on this trip, its nice to know I can! The only suggestion I have would be to offer king size beds & ceiling fans in some rooms. It was hard to sleep comfortably with my fiance in our bed. Just wasnt enough room to stretch out. Also, some people, such as myself, like to sleep with a fan on. So I was very impressed that when I asked if a fan was available, one was promptly brought to my room! What great customer service! Other than that, our stay was the best I've had in yrs! Service like this is hard to find. So we will definitely stay here everytime we're in town, which is often, due to his work. Thanks again for such a pleasant stay! Looking foward to staying here again next month!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonna4car24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

The Residence Inn Downtown in San Diego totally rocks. We stayed here last week prior to boarding a cruise to the Mexican Riviera and our stay could not have been more perfect. The rooms are one bedroom suites with a living area which includes a sleeper sofa, small kitchen, bedroom and bath. A full American breakfast is included and there is a very nice swimming pool and outdoor seating area. The hotel is within walking distance of the port, but it offers complimentary shuttle service to the port and the airport. Jacob, at the front desk, could not have been more helpful and pleasant and the staff overall were smiling and helpful. The area surrounding the hotel is very pretty for walking. It is very close to Little Italy and the Farmer's Market on the weekends should not be missed. Also, the Residence Inn is an easy walk to the Embarcado where there are lots of interesting sights. The Residence Inn is near the train tracks, so you may hear some train sounds, but they did not wake us or anything. I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone staying in San Diego who wants a clean, comfortable and well-appointed room to accommodate a family or from which to do work.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

My wife and I chose to stay there for 19 days for our first big trip together. Sure it's near the trains and the airport, but we got used to it right away. The staff was exceptionally helpful, and the shuttle service was a plus, particularily to Ralph's! We reserved a room with a kitchenette, which saved us a lot of money, and made it seem like home. Also, our room had a separate bedroom from the living room, each having it's own tv, which was a thoughtful touch. Hats off to Rudy and the rest of the staff and management for giving our vacation that special touch that I'll never forget. We will be back(in the same room!).

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trotter13
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Train noise, Train whistles starting at 6 am. We are a deep sleepers but this hotel is very noisy, if you are a early riser this hotel might be okay if you want a value. Also the rooms are noisy because you can hear people above walking, flushing the toilet and also you can constantly smell other people's food seeping into your room. Also on sleep quality; the bed is a small queen size and very hard bed, therefore you'll wake up stiff and sore. Parking lot is very tight to maneuver your full size car. Got charged with food and drinks on our bill, never even when through the front door besides check in. Good points; close to downtown, airport, harbor, refrigerator, microwave, excellent TV's, fair size room, good customer service, good wireless free Internet and clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trotter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Thank you for your candid review of our property. I am sorry that certain aspects of our hotel did not meet up to your expectations. Parking can be challenging, especially during peak times such as weekends and Spring Break. I hope that the Guest Service Agent was able to remove the market charges from you room bill. The train noise is an ongoing problem in the downtown area. The Quiet Zone is currently under construction throughout our area and is scheduled for completion in the 4th quarter of 2011. This will substantially reduce the noise from trains. As a matter of fact, if they blow their horns they will be fined. The medians and barriers to allow this to happen are under construction as I write this. I appreciate you taking the time to offer your feedback so other guests traveling to our area and our hotel can get some valuable pre-arrival feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Spent few days in San Diego prior to cruise and enjoyed this hotel very much. The free breakfast was terrific and the free shuttle service that took us the dinner each night and the zoo on one of our days was simply fantastic. All of the staff was very helpful and room accommodations were terrific.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadisonGibsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUENOS AIRES
Level Contributor
342 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

This centrally located hotes is close to the bay and marina and three blocks to the trolley station "Little Italy" and 5 minutes to the San Diegos's downtown heart.
The one bedroon suite is an oversized room with a lot of amenities: 2 flats, a fully equipated kitchen including fridge, micro, coffee maker. A big sofabed at the living room and a desk for bussiness work with high speed wi fi internett access. The queen bed is very comfortable and the hole suite is very clean.
The hotel amenities includes a heated pool (not really heated), a jacuzzi and two barbecues, a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and three miles around the hotel. The hot buffet breakfast is very complete and some days the "social hour" from 5.30 to 7.30 pm provide complimentary hot food and beverages including wines and beers. The entire staff is very helpful. This is a heartly recommend hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICARBSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#75 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Address: 1747 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101-2416
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing