We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Word of advice from Harold1966”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Ranked #106 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed at this fantastic hotel in October 2010(I know that this review will say 2011, but there was no selection for Oct.2010. I have to say this-all of the people complaining about the noise from the trains are not worth considering. Unless you don't have access to a map, there are multiple train tracks right behind it. What did you expect? Sure it's loud, but you get used to it, and the fact that the train tracks are right by the hotel are not hidden from you! I had great service from the staff. If you get good or bad service from this or any other hotel, by all means leave a comment, but complaining about the noise is pointless with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harold1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our 14 month old son for a 5 night vacation. From check-in to check-out our entire experience was wonderful. The suite we stayed in had a full kitchen, which helps save money for that length of a trip. The continental breakfast they offer is amazing, not juice juice and cereal, but full on breakfast offerings including eggs, sausaage, waffle bar and all of this is included in the stay. The staff were very nice, and accomodating. The on-site washing machine and dryer came in handy. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the San Diego area, and we really can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carrie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Stayed on a freebie. Room 407, 1 bd suite with kitcheon. Really tight, but has everything. Breakfast has great variety. Managers reception, some nights, cheap wine and beer, hot dogs and burgers all free. Parking $14. Mostly blue jean working people. We used for base to go to the zoo and then old town. We live within 30 miles.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranles76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Not a glamorous spot but well located with a very helpful staff. We weren't able to take full advantage of the kitchen, etc. but enjoyed having a 3 room suite for 2 couples. Amtrak trains go very close to the rear of the building but not late at night so that was not an issue. Close proximity to "Little Italy means many restaurants close by and it happernd to be Italien Festival time too. Maritime history and ships also very near.

Room Tip: They'll shuttle you downtown or to restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caper1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Nice clean accommodations. Small bathroom. Close to airport. Only drawback was the train blew its horn and the train tracks are behind hotel and it woke us every time it went by and blew its horn. Parking is $14 a day, and we had no parking available, but they did comp the parking when we told them. I would personally not stay here again. Not after flying for six hours. Bed was okay.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to front, or a quiet room. Late arrivals get stuck in the back with the train bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lr0che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Nice suites with full kitchens and lots of room. Clean and tidy. Front desk staff was exceptional...knowledgeable and very pleasant regardless of time of day. The only con was what seemed like an old mattress that wasn't terribly comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopymaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We found this to be a decent place for an extended stay. It was within walking distance to several attractions and also offered a complimentary ride back from the zoo. No room service but a free buffet in the evening. Rooms were apartment like with daily cleaning upon request.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frado L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residence Inn San Diego Central
#118 of 286 in San Diego
367 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Address: 1747 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2416
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £110 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing