We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$399
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton San Diego Bayfront(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$493
US$434
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$318
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$251
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
The Westin San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$333
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
165
148
57
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
148
57
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlegreat locationshuttle servicebedroom suiteclose to the airportfree breakfastamtrak stationfire pitwalking distanceseaport villagehotel shuttleconvention centerfront desk staffgas lamplight railcouple blocksfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotel is close to the airport and the breakfast is good. The employees are very nice and rooms are good. However the train can be annoying as others have said. It is close to little italy and the local train stop is convenient. The problem with the train is that amtrak and freight train use same tracks that rub behind hotel. Ask for room closer to front of hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our group of six stayed in a suite while attending a conference. The room was clean, spacious, and easily suited our larger group. There were two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a pull-out bed in the living room. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was above average and hot portion (e.g., eggs, fried potatoes) especially good.

The hotel is next to Little Italy and a 30 minute walk (or $10 cab) to the gaslamp area and the convention center. As others have mentioned, it's near trains but they didn't keep us awake or anything. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

We had three surprises that were bad, good, and neutral:

1. The hotel website lists a manager's reception but it's actually only Monday to Wednesday. This was a disappointment because (in part) we chose the hotel because of that. Staying Wed-Sun meant we missed it.

2. A welcome surprise was the hotel's free shuttle that will take you anywhere within three miles and pick you up too. The drivers were friendly and prompt. This saved us a lot of cab money and certainly made up for item #1. A very special thanks to the front desk staff and shuttle driver who were working the morning of January 29, who retrieved a lost cell phone from our room and shuttled it to the airport. Above and beyond!

3. I asked the front desk to call a taxi, but after getting in the car we realized it was actually much more expensive than a normal cab ($35 to the beach vs. a $20 taxi ride home). When we complained to the front desk (i.e., we had asked for a normal taxi not a luxury car) they said the hotel was trying out a new cab service that claims "luxury cabs at regular taxi prices" but they were quickly finding out that claim wasn't true. So, the hotel refunded the difference in fares! Great customer service there, and special thanks to Ian at the front desk who took my complaint and was very understanding. (I suspect the hotel will not be using that company for much longer.)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tolew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on Dec 26th and 27th. First the positives, and why I say Great:

1) This hotel has great staff and a special thanks to Ian at the front desk. he was wonderful- extremely attentive to detail- went out of his way to try and arrange a big rental car for us- since we were 8 people
2) It is right next to Little Italy - so great eating options right there
3) It is not very far from Seaport, Gaslamp and the airport- so high on the convenience factor
4) They offer a free shuttle- which is excellent and prompt

Decent:
1) this is by no means a 4 or 5 star hotel- hence amenities and rooms are as per a 3 star range
2) Most residence Inn's I have stayed at are certainly more spacious- so in this ones it fell a tad bit short
3) Rooms are nice/ decent. Not too big- even though they have a separate living and bed room- they are tiny. Just enough for 4 of us (2 adult two small kids)
4) right next to railway track

But overall- for the price and location- it was good

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank malhot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I was a little worried before checking in here. I have never stayed at a residence inn, so I didn't know what to expect. Once we got there, we were treated with great hospitality. The men at check in and valet were very nice and helpful. We stayed in a standard queen bed room, with a sofa couch. The room was larger than i expected. A kitchen right when you walk in, and a little vanity/sink area to get ready at. The room was not drab and was definitely renovated recently. It is right next to gaslamp, in downtown. Will definitely be staying here again. We did stay on new years eve, so it was a little expensive, BUT a lot cheaper than every other hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed 4 nights in November 2011. We like the location because we like to walk to Seaport Village and down by the boats. We stayed in the front of the building on the second floor. I don't recommend that. While we loved the space in the room, the view was blocked by trees and every morning at 6 am, you hear the noise down in the lobby as staff is preparing the breakfast and the noise from the street. They are building something across the street from it a park or something so they had construction equipment going. Breakfast is good wide variety of food and that saves some money. Staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. Didn't use the pool because it was chilly and rainy. Exercise room was very small and had older equipment. $14 to park is just too excessive in my opinion for outside parking. Good Location to the downtown area and very clean. Nice out door area but very small. There is a fire pit comfortable seating and barbecue grills to use. Cost for 4 nights using a AAA rate was $700.

Room Tip: Limited view on the second floor in the front of the building.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassiemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews