We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Ranked #109 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We recently stayed two nights at this hotel and it was a very good choice. I was a little nervous at first when we pulled up because it didn't seem like it was a very good neighborhood, but boy was I wrong!! The staff were incredibly nice and helpful. Our room was a little dated, but nice and clean, and even had a partial view of the marina. Within walking distance to the Maritime Museum and the boardwalk along the waterfront. Walking distance to Little Italy as well. Breakfast was good, had something for everyone. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Wow, where do I start... I practically stay at a new Residence Inn nearly every week for work and this one by far blew me away. Everything from the helpful & friendly front desk staff (Paolo), to the nice shuttle driver (Guerrmo) this place was on point. The rooms are very modern, clean and comfy, making for a very homely feel,not to mention the view... We were honored with a beautiful view of the bay with beautiful evening sunsets, really making us feel even more at home. As for the location, it's within blocks to downtown Gaslamp District (great place for food & drinks), Petco Park (catch a Padres game) and they offer a free shuttle there within certain hours as well. Also, during the week they offer a managers reception with complimentary food & drinks (more like appetizers) which is always a good time. We really enjoyed our time there and can't wait to revisit again soon!
BTW, thanks to the staff that accommodated our parking needs due to our oversized vehicle

Room Tip: If you know you are staying for awhile call in advance and ask for bay front views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrldtraveler365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was at the back of the building with a view of the train tracks that run behind the hotel. Those trains are loud (not the Trolley) and they continuously run into the late night. We were only there for 2 nights, so we could deal with it, but I couldn't handle an extended stay. With that said, the service was great and the breakfast was good like any Residence Inn. The location is great and walkable to many restaurants and the waterfront. Unfortunately, we'll probably choose to stay elsewhere next time we're in San Diego.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LACubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were in town for our nephew's bootcamp graduation from the Marine Corps. We absolutely loved this hotel....Awesome rooms, laundry, pool, breakfast, staff...A+++ all around, walking distance to little italy and short drive to MCRD, airport and gaslamp. We were thouroughly happy with our stay here!!!!!!!!! Breakfast was really good, rooms were very very clean, nice pool! Thank you!

Room Tip: stay in room away from the back of the hotel so you will be away from the train tracks--they are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salgal7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I love visiting little Italy when we go down to San Diego. Lots of great restaurants. Hotel is within walking distance to that area with a nice view of the ocean. Staff is friendly and professional. Will stay there every time that we are in San Diego.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We recently had a 2 night stay in a 2 bedroom suite and it was perfect. The hotel was easy to find when driving and we had no problem with parking and as it was such a good location we just parked the car on arrival and didn't use the car again until we had to drive home!!
The room was perfect and had everything you needed, although we didn't use the kitchen the facilities we did look through cupboards and from what we could see everything was supplied if you chose to stay in and cook.
We had 2 bedrooms which were spacious and 2 bathrooms and towels were replenished daily and plenty of toiletries.
As we arrived on a Wednesday evening there was a BBQ by the pool that evening and the food was really good, plus plenty of soft drinks and beer or wine also had some live music which was a nice added touch to the night. We were well impressed by this as it was unexpected and also good food etc. We also had the breakfast that was provided and it was really good.
We found this hotel really good value for money and all the extra's like the BBQ and breakfast provided really made it for us.
San Diego is a great place to visit and we will be back sooner rather than later and we will be returning to this hotel as it was a great location, staff were very helpful and rooms had everything we needed for our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Great location. The staff was wonderful, friendly, and helpful. Big room . Updated. Many hot/cold items on free breakfast. Free shuttle to airport. Plus free shuttle to and from Petco Park for a Pradres game. Free shuttle from Horton Plaza. Parking is self park for 14.00 a day

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#173 of 278 in San Diego
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Address: 1747 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101-2416
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £111 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing