We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Very attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Ranked #108 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Nice hotel. Evening dinner with beer and wine is complimentary. A nice sports lounge area. Also nice pool area with hot tub. Be warned though, the room a/c heater is VERY loud making sleep difficult. I checked out after one night and went to the Courtyard on Spectrum Circle.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank fradel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Hi fradel61,
We greatly appreciate your feedback during your stay at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown. Thanks for your specifics on all of our amenities as well as your comment about the room. We have a phenomenal maintenance team on property and we would have loved the challenge to fix your AC/ Heater. If you would be comfortable in calling us here at 619-338-8200 we would love to find out where this room is and make sure the problem is remedied for the next guest. Again, thanks so much for taking the time to give us this great feedback. We would love an opportunity to serve you again, here at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week in mid-November, what i liked the most about this hotel is the people working in it, very helpful front disk who did everything to make me feel at ease, i liked also the free shuttle that can take everywhere in a 3miles radius ( the zoo the airport the downtown ...) the locations id good too , room are spacious and clean the only bad thing is that the trolleys are really close so you may hear them trough the window

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanaa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Greetings Sanaa K,

We cannot thank you enough for this exceptional review. We went ahead and read this to our team during our daily huddle. Our team will continue to give exceptional effort in serving our wonderful guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Great location, easy access to airport and cruise terminal. Very friendly and efficient staff (especially Mark the shuttle driver). Comfy lobby and area around pool. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Extensive breakfast offerings included. Close to little Italy. Easy area to walk around.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Greetings,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We went ahead and shared your thoughts with our team, more specifically, Mark. He continues to strive in making guests experience memorable.

Please think of us, Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, the next time you are visiting sunny San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The courtesy and service orientation of the staff was exceptional. Without asking for it, I received a room upgrade. Whatever I needed was provided. The room was clean and beautifully decorated. I even tried biscuits and gravy for the first time at the standard Residence Inn free breakfast. I enjoyed the food. However, the most pleasant surprise was the free shuttle service from the airport and to local areas. Drivers offered suggestions about local tourist spots and the hotel had a sign up sheet for trips to these places. I had planned to use local transportation but it was not needed. There is a Jack in the Box restaurant serving fast food in walking distance from the hotel. This Residence Inn is one of the closest hotels to the cruise port.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam L, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Hi lovetotravel06

Thank you so much for your extremely detailed review. We really appreciate it. Here at Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Downtown, we strive to deliver a lasting and memorable experience. We hope we were able to deliver that to you.

Thanks again for taking your time to give us such wonderful feedback.

Our drivers are truly the most important mobile concierges we have. They really know all the great aspects of our wonderful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Room was clean and pleasant. Interior room, but had small balcony overlooking the pool. About a 5 minute walk from Little Italy (good food options) and 2 minutes from the Trolley station. Some might be bothered by the noise of trains passing throughout the night; bring earplugs? Also very convenient to the Int'l Airport - about a 5 minute cab ride; expect to pay $10-15 or take the 992 bus. Receptionists were always very friendly and eager to help. Free buffet breakfast provided, though it would have been nice had it opened a bit early than 7am. A small point - Maids left all room lights on each day after cleaning; seemed wasteful to me. I was also struck by the number of homeless individuals in the general neighborhood - none too confrontational, but expect to be asked for spare change if you go for a walk in the evening.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank gchallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was my first trip to San Diego and it won't be my/our last.
I loved this hotel, the suite, the breakfast and above all - the location!

We were staying here after visiting Taylor Guitars and this gave the opertunity to really explore the bay area properly

The suite was awesome, the staff just brilliant!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We had the 2 bdrm/2 bath suite with a large, separate living-dining-kitchen in this newly remodeled hotel. The full kitchen included standard-size, stainless steel appliances & all the cookware/kitchen items that we needed. There were 3 flat screen TVs, comfortable beds & large, soft towels. After 2 weeks traveling we utilized the laundry room and were pleased that the machines were working well. The full breakfast buffet got a bit overwhelmed when everyone arrived hungry at the same time, but the efficient staff not only got the food out but also happily took care of some guests' special requests. Convenient to the airport, Little Italy, Trolley tour stop & the waterfront, this hotel also boasts a shuttle that they willingly deploy to make your life easier. Clean, comfortable, pleasant staff all at a good price.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank HRH T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Address: 1747 Pacific Hwy, San Diego, CA 92101-2416
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £89 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing