We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Ranked #105 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
Reviewed 29 August 2009

My wife and I visited San Diego for a convention that I was attending. We were a bit apprehensive about staying there due to the negative reviews regarding noise from the trolleys and trains. We're glad that we didn't listen to those reviewers and decide to stay elsewhere.

The noise was never really a factor and the customer service was OUTSTANDING.

Upon arrival on the morning of the 22nd (10:30am) after a long flight from Philly (with a stopover in Houston) and after a long last few days of the week (we drove our son to college in NC from NJ and arrived home late Friday) we got our luggage and called the hotel for pick-up at the airport. The shuttle appeared very quickly and we were whisked to the hotel where we were told that they had set aside their best room (Room 103) so that we would not be disturbed by the trains since we would be there for five nights. We thanked them for that but we wanted a room where we could open the windows or have a balcony (only have a French balcony) so we waited for a different room (329). They stored our luggage and we went to lunch in Little Italy at a place called Fillipo's (okay food). We returned and our room was ready by 1:30.

The hotel has a shuttle and they really only take you about three miles from the property but they were very accomodating and took us to/from the zoo (over three miles). All you really have to do is reserve the shuttle and they will take you or pick you up. I took the shuttle to the convention center each morning and they also took us to the Old Town Transit center a few times.

The noise. Yes, there is noise but it's not what it is made out to be by some reviewers. The trolley comes by numerous times per day and the noise it makes is more like background noise. It's a bit noisier when the Amtrak train comes through but it's not something that would preclude you from staying there.

Breakfast is very nice and the evening reception is welcome. Wednesday is a BBQ night where the manager (Jonathan) cooks and serves burgers and dogs. It's a friendly evening.

The rooms were nice and clean although there should be more mirrors other than the one by the sink.

Pool -- nice but the sun doesn't hit it much past 5:15. Overall, it was clean but it needed some TLC by the rim. Staff was quick to act when one of the children threw up after swallowing some water. The pool was closed, shocked and vacuumed.

Smoking is a problem for those of us who don't smoke. Smoking is only allowed outside by the pool but the smoke seems to linger since there isn't much air circulation.

The staff is friendly and goes out of its way to help. I would definitely recommedn this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    141
    57
    17
    10
See reviews for
134
61
24
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We stayed here two nights in a one bedroom suite. Rooms were the standard Residence inn style and comfort. As always they were clean and fine. Residence Inn is a perfect choice for families of 4 the pull out for the kids and bed for the adults is perfect.
Train noise was noticeable but didn't wake me or my wife (who is a lighter sleeper) nor my children (1 & 3) but I would suggest a room at the side of the property (tracks at the back) to minimize the noise.

Parking was hard to come by, which was a bit annoying since they charge $12 a day. Arrived late on first night and was told "there might not be a spot if not park in the handicap spot”, which we didn't have to do as there was one spot open. Would Marriot ensure I didn’t get a ticket? Unsure.

Breakfast was a bit light and picked over if you didn’t get there early. Some Residence Inn’s restock until the end of advertised hours this one appears not to.

Good spot for Sea World (10-15 min.) and Balboa park for a half marathon my wife ran.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseballfan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I really had an enjoyable stay at this hotel despite the noise. The staff is very nice. We had a two bedroom suite and it felt like an apartment instead of a hotel...very comfortable. The breakfasts were much nicer than you usually find. The problem is that there are two trains that run behind the hotel that are annoying until you get use to them. Also, the suite above us was occupied by a family with pre-teen children who liked to run and jump causing quiet a bit of noise in our unit. I would recommend that hotels put families with children of that age on the first floor. Ahh well, at least they were thoughtful enough to provide earplugs on the bedside table.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank circa1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We booked the Residence Inn Downtown for a few reasons:
1. Two bedroom suites
2. We are Marriott reward members
3. Location (according to the website and reviews)
4. Free shuttle service within a 3 mile radius
5. Free hot breakfast
6. Free high speed Internet
7. Heated outdoor pool

Arrival:
The purpose of our trip was primarily because my husband was attending a conference at the convention center but we decided to bring a long our two children, ages 13 and 3, along with my mother so that we could make a family vacation out of it. The hotel shuttle service picked us up within 30 minutes of us calling them from the airport. We arrived at the hotel (which is only about a 3 minute drive from the airport). The shuttle man put our bags on the bell cart and walked us into the lobby. The front desk person was very friendly and welcoming. Although it is not a fancy four star hotel the outside is very pretty and well kept up as was the somewhat small lobby area. We went up to our room on the third floor at the back of the hotel. The hotel is shaped like a square but with the middle cut out. The courtyard holds the heated pool, a fairly large hot tub, as well as a comfortable sitting area with a gas fire pit table. They also have two gas grills for the guests to use.

Room:
Back to the room: it was very clean, nicely decorated, and surprisingly spacious. The kitchen had a full size fridge/freezer, stove top, microwave, coffee pot, dishwasher, along with all the utensils. They also give you coffee, tea, flavored creamers, and my kids favorite POPCORN. The living area had a couch and an armchair along with a console and tv. There is also a sliding glass door that opens up to a balcony which is very small. I guess for those guests who smoke. The bedrooms are on opposite sides of the living area. One bedroom is slighty bigger than the next and it has a desk which the other one does not. Each bedroom has a queen size bed which is firm but comfortable. Each bedroom also has a sliding glass closet and drawers to put your clothes in. Each bedroom also has its own bathroom which is simple but clean. The one thing that I was worried about was the reviewers who said the trains run behind the hotel and they are loud. The ear plugs on the nightstand made me think the worst and the Amtrack line is RIGHT behind the hotel and so is the trolly line but maybe it was the fact I was so exhausted but they didn't bother me one bit. The trains stop around 11 and start back up around 7 I think but I couldn't tell you for sure because it was not a problem for any of us and we were right at the back of the hotel. If you were staying in the front or even the interior part of the hotel you probably wouldn't hear them. Our room was cleaned everyday perfectly and even when we forgot to take of the "later please" sign, they still cleaned it. On our last full day, we even got a handwritten thank you note along with some Hershey Kisses.

Breakfast/Social evenings:
Breakfast was good especially for free! We had breakfast burritos one morning and buscuits and gravy another. They also had pancakes, french toast, sausage, cereals, waffles, yogurt and granola, mixed pastries, ect.. During the week they have complimentary social evenings. Wednesdays we hear they have great BBQ. We were sad we missed it. During social evenings they serve different things different nights and the also have Firehouse beer on tap along with wine and fountain sodas. We got to enjoy it one night and we had a great time hanging out in the hot tub drinking beer!

Shuttle:
The shuttle takes you to San Diego Zoo but it leaves at 10:00 and picks up at 4:00 so make sure you make prior arrangements with them in case there are a lot of people. We found out that picking us up at 4:00 was not going to happen because the ZOO is so big we didn't make it out of there until it closed at 6:30 and we couldn't find a taxi or a shuttle service back to the hotel. We were essentially stranded but we called the hotel and they sent the shuttle for us and we ended up giving the driver a big tip. Why didn't we rent a car? Parking downtown is not only hard to find it is expensive. In fact it is expensive everywhere! My TIP to you is: TIP the shuttle driver. He will be more willing to go out of his way to assist you.

Okay here is my only con:
It is a LONG walk to the convention center which is right across the street from the Gaslamp quarter and a long walk to Horton Plaza. You could take the shuttle but for my husband it was a hassle getting to his conference. He said he would have rather stayed much closer to the "main" part of downtown. Other than that and the rate we got, I can't say anything bad about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keely92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Compared to other Residence, room were very small and I had a Jr Suite (two rooms). Rooms seem to be crammed with furniture. Their staff was excellent and very helpful. The first few days the train was a nouisance but after the third day I got used to it. Not enough parking available and $12 per day.... Recommended for business travel only.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR_Refugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Residence Inns always seem to be our top pick for destinations because of their amenities and value. This location was no different. We were within walking distance to the waterfront and train station. We had a room on the top floor, facing the waterfront. The view of the waterfront was its best at night. We had read previous reviews of this location and were concerned about "train noise" as reported from other advisors. While we did hear some noise from our room - it was never enough to be "bothersome". In fact, when we stay in a different city - we welcome the neighboring noises that make each location unique. (I have to point out, however, we would have been disappointed to hear sirens or heavy street traffic. This was NEVER an issue at this location. When I say "never" - there was not one siren heard while we were in our room. Can you say that about other "downtown" location of any city hotels?)

Breakfast (included), was plentiful and varied for each of the 4 mornings we were here. (They could stand to expand the seating area a little though. But, having said that - we were here in Feb and the temps were a little chilly in the a.m. - so morning breakfasts normally seated alfresco were a no go).

Even with the chilly evenings, the heated pool was a welcome treat for our 6 year old who has never met a pool she hasn't liked.

Tops on our list, for this location, was the shuttle service. With a little planning (calling ahead to make sure the bus was not previously occupied), we were able to get to Seaport Village, rental car offsite location, ferry marina, and airport without paying taxi fees. (Plus, the conversation from the drivers was always much more pleasant than that of the typical "cabbie").

Our room was perfectly appointed with updated furniture and decorations. Bath areas and sink area were always spotless. (Our housekeeper even left us a little treat for Valentines Day). We like to bring home with us when we travel so that our well-traveled daughter acclimates comfortably and we were pleased when her "things" were left exactly as she left them at the beginning of each day. (Yes, some hotels like to move your things where they think they should be and it always seems a little unsettling. It's little things like this that impress us).

This location had a little courtyard surrounding the pool with lounge chairs and a fire pit. It was nice to see people gathering, in the evenings, to socialize in this area - even though it was a more adult age level than we thought appropriate for our daughter.

All in all - a very nice experience in a very nice location in a very nice city. Kudos.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MORRELL_FAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Arriving the night before our seven-day Mexican cruise aboard the m/s Oosterdam (Holland America Line), we opted to spend that night at the Downtown San Diego Residence Inn.

In contrast to some recent disappointments at other hotels, our stay at the Downtown San Diego Residence Inn was entirely pleasant. Our room was clean. The front desk clerk, Michael, was friendly, as was the breakfast staff—who earned a well-deserved tip for the kindness they displayed to my two young daughters.

This hotel’s on-site shuttle and free high-speed internet access (“HISA”) were especially helpful. The shuttle picked me up from our car rental location and also transported my family (and our six pieces of luggage and our child’s stroller) to the cruise ship terminal. Free HISA allowed me to get some last-minute work finished before our cruise ship sailed away.

Our only concern arises from the hotel’s location—it’s near both the waterfront traffic and San Diego train station. The train horns start sounding around 7 am, as does the traffic noise level. Rooms facing the bay will be less affected by the train horns.

Despite these (incurable) problems we liked the place and would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tax_Counsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Pacific Inn Hotel & Suites
#175 of 278 in San Diego
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Downtown

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Downtown
Address: 1747 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92101-2416
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing