We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Ranked #17 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just got back from a business trip in San Diego. The Hotel is beautiful inside and conference room was very comfortable. We had a wonderful time. Everyone was so pleasant and ready to assist. The food was very well presented and exquisite. We will be back soon.

Thank you for a job well done!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Julie S.,

As a guest that also was booked in our meeting space we are happy to deliver great service on all ends of your stay down to our food and beverage. We hope you and/or your company continue to book your business and leisure plans with us in the future to enjoy many more meetings or stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    296
    43
    9
    1
See reviews for
184
265
38
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I had a very pleasant stay here towards the end of June 2013. I was down in San Diego for a 4 day education training and did not want to commute every day from Orange County.

I paid the premium rate to have a water view room. The first night I was there, I was in a corner room (loved the light from the windows) but didn't have much view of the water (not that it's at the water's edge). When I got back from my training that first day, I asked if it wouldn't be too much trouble if I could get a room that I could actually see the water from. I was moved from the 8th to 12 floor and the view was awesome. I could even see into Petco Field from my bed.

The staff was great, always courteous.

The ONLY downside was the $36/day valet parking fee. If you don't need your car, I would suggest taking the train down.

Room Tip: Try for a 12th floor if you're getting a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Mindy B,

Our staff strives to give top rated and friendly customer service on a daily basis and will love to get the feedback from this review. It is also great to hear your request for a higher view was met and you enjoyed the stay even more. Please keep our hotel in mind when you book lodging for San Diego in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Just got back from a stay here and my only wish is that we had stayed longer.

San Diego is an amazing city. The gas lamp district is just great.
The hotel is in a perfect location with endless bars and restaurants within walking distance. Hotel is clean and staff are friendly.

Be sure to go downstairs and see the old vault doors. Great for novelty photo opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
mikebarr,

We are glad you took advantage of our location which is convenient for out of town visitors looking for a central location to many of the city's attractions while walking distance to 150+ restaurants and shops. We appreciate you liked the original historic bank safe deposit door and vault from 1928 now used as our meeting spaces. We do offer tours so if you find yourself in San Diego again we hope you stay with us and get some of the history told firsthand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Downtown San Diego Courtyard. This hotel is unique because it's built inside an old bank. The lobby is ornate and the conference rooms are really fun. I enjoyed the service and the room was better than expected. It is also in walking distance of the Gas Lamp District. Couple all that with perfect San Diego weather and you have a winner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Jerry P.,

We appreciate your kind regards to our historic property with newly renovated guest rooms, lobby and meeting spaces while still keeping the integrity of the original bank from 1928. Alongside our great service staff we definitely agree our location is a bonus being within the Gaslamp District with over 150+ restaurants and shops. We look forward to your return to our property when you are in San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Here now-booked 2 rooms for a bachelorette partay. Rooms are pretty! Great location. The front desk TERRIBLE service. Attitudes. The service from the valet-GREAT(thanks Danny )! Watching TV or listening to the radio -they keep cutting out and says no signal lb the TV. Really annoying. Check in is at 3, so we arrived AT 3. We had 2 rooms neither were ready. We were told they would be ready in 30 min. So we waited in the lobby. Also requested conjoined rooms (online & confirmed 3 times over the phone). Surprise ... We didn't get it. We finally get in ONE room an hour later. So we all pile up and hang out. The next room isn't ready for about another hour. So we ask if we can get a late check out given the fact that we were given our rooms hours late. We got it @ 1. Gee thanks. And everyone one I talked to at the front desk was skipping rude! For that alone I (& the other 7 of us) don't want to ever come back here. No body likes being TALKED AT.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nstreicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
nstreicker,

I apologize about your check in experience. We try to accommodate every guest request as promised but it seems we were at the mercy of a previous sellout night and a late checkout from the previous guest in the room blocked for you to keep you next to your companions. Defintely a fault on our end that we will discuss to prevent in the future amongst staff. You stated the review was made during this timeframe and not after the stay so I hope the remainder of your stay was recovered from our staff and we were able to compensate from your initial frustration. If so and you do return please reach out to Ashley Reid or Bashir Ramzy in order to make up from this check in experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I was at the Courtyard Marriott this past week on business, and I must say that I was very satisfied with the hotel. I LOVE the building (used to be a bank) with the vault in the basement that has been repurposed to a meeting room. The room doors, the ceilings... it is just gorgeous and I am happy it is well preserved. The location is fantastic for exploring... close to balboa park, the airport and the main drag that runs down the cost. But in reality, the biggest win for this hotel is the staff. From the young man at the bar during happy hour, to the awesome folks at the help desk, and the room service guy that had to run up 7 floors using the stairs to deliver my food because the elevators were not working... everybody was exceptional. I always have issues with my phone charger, and servers from the restaurant and the front desk try to find a solution to my problem. It was a very nice experience, and would highly recommend this particular hotel.

Green Features: I selected to waive the daily housekeeping, as I did not need it. As simple as hanging the notice in the front door. They had recycling bins as well.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
karlushka,

We appreciate your business and the gratitude given from the quality of service you recieved from all departments of our staff. We definitely hope this means many bookings with us by you in the future to prove this same quality with each stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

beautiful hotel..enjoyed our stay very much but every time a young couple goes into a semi nice hotel you always weird looks. yes i can afford to stay in a nice hotel. Even the people working at the front desk gave us weird looks. I left an item in the hotel room and immediately called to let them know. The lady who answered the phone was just, well a pain to talk to. She either just didn't want to help or just didn't care. I told her the room number and all the information i could give, and all she could say was there is no name under that. Would I seriously lie about my name and my room number? I didn't just pull that number out of no where. After the first phone call, i called back to let them know exactly where I left and the lady said she will personally go up and check. Got a phone call back and said that my item was no where to be found. It is MY fault i left it there but i thought calling ASAP would help, especially when she told me house keeping didn't even clean that room yet. My item was quite pricey and wasn't too surprised they couldn't find it. It is what it is.
this is a very beautiful hotel and the area is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayes123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
jayes123456,

Im glad you enjoyed your stay and thought the hotel was beautiful but would definitely want to follow up with your isolated matter. If you could call our property and ask to speak with Bashir Ramzy or Ashley Reid so that we can address the situation with your missing item and the way it was handled it would be greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,054 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Downtown

Property: Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-5206
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing