We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Ranked #12 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

From arrival to departure, we had a wonderful stay! The hotel is well managed, well maintained, and well located--we were within an easy walk of Petco Park, USS Midway, Gaslamp eateries, and shopping. This property has the look and feel of an upscale boutique hotel (very charming remodeled 1920s bank building with wonderful craftsmanship) and is certainly the most wonderful Courtyard I have experienced. Kudos on this one, Marriott!!

Room Tip: Our room was situated on an upper floor and proved quiet despite the busy, downtown location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smmbkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
smmbkw,

Thank you for the kind regards towards our hotel. We are proud to be recognized as the best Courtyard by you and will work towards keeping that recognition with all of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    313
    42
    10
    2
See reviews for
193
282
38
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed here in early July, 2013 - my third time. The hotel has made significant improvements to the lobby area and the refurbished rooms (I was in 1112) look simply fantastic. The lobby is designed in a "flexible" style with different areas that can be used for collaboration, private/quiet reading, group meetings at larger tables, etc. A few interesting books were scattered on the tables, begging to be picked up and read. Gone from the lobby are the historic bank teller windows, but this frees up more space for an open, airy, and inviting lobby appearance. (the front desk staff told me that the teller windows are in storage, so history is not lost!) Also gone are the self-serve coffee containers, replaced by more computers in a business center. Oh, also gone is the breakfast buffet area - replaced by a billiards room. Still, despite these changes, all my needs were met in the lobby or in nearby restaurants.

Many have noted the gorgeous details inside this late 1920s bank building - the common areas feature stunning ceilings, lighting fixtures, and details from an era where architectural ornamentation was a true art form. Take the time to sit quietly and drink them in.

If you're a "city person" like me, you won't be bothered by the sometimes "sketchy elements" around the hotel...it sits right on the edge of the vibrant Gaslamp Quarter, but just far enough away that some typical urban ills are quite evident. If you're the type that's put off or scared by such things (homelessness, people loitering, etc.) then you might look elsewhere. For me, I recognize that they are people, too, and I was not hassled or harassed once.

Love, love, love this hotel - totally unique, excellent staff, super location in the Gaslamp and one block from the Trolley....what's not to like?

Keep doing what you're doing, hotel staff! I shall return next summer.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you, request a room that doesn't face west, and at least ten floors up.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins in lobby and in room, signs in bathroom encouraging you to reuse a towel now and then.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
SanFranciscoGuy,

We are delighted that you were able to detail the transition from our previous rooms, lobby and restaurant into our 6 million dollar revitalization firsthand. We definitely are excited to see our guests share the same enthusiasm as we have about the change and love that you will be returning next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Located in the gas lamp district of San Diego. Our room was beautiful and spotless. It had a micro wave and a refrigerator. Our check in was easy and pleasant and we were upgraded to a suite without asking. The hotel was once a bank and the building was built in 1928, It is elegant and I would recommend a tour given by the bell man. The staff is very friendly and the area is loaded with restaurants and bars. I could have spent more time at this hotel. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barpatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
barpatl,

It's our pleasure that you enjoyed the amenities such as refrigerators, blow dryers, microwaves and safes in every one of our guest rooms at our hotel. Likewise, for the convenience of our location and the historic content that we love to display or give tours through. If you would love to spend more time with us be sure to check our website for availability and seasonal specials we offer. We'd love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughson, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

There is not one thing bad that I can say! Beautiful building with lots of history nice to be part of it. Clean rooms, great location in downtown , kid approved! Teenager approved! Service was excellent from bell boys to front desk to maids!!! But I have to point out John Farlee He gave us a tour of the building and told us lots of interesting facts. His customer service was definitely 5 stars!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dourine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dourine,

John and the rest of our staff couldnt be more proud to hear the feedback and we love you found our hotel great for a family stay. We hope you return and prove this service is given consistently with every stay at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just got back from a business trip in San Diego. The Hotel is beautiful inside and conference room was very comfortable. We had a wonderful time. Everyone was so pleasant and ready to assist. The food was very well presented and exquisite. We will be back soon.

Thank you for a job well done!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Julie S.,

As a guest that also was booked in our meeting space we are happy to deliver great service on all ends of your stay down to our food and beverage. We hope you and/or your company continue to book your business and leisure plans with us in the future to enjoy many more meetings or stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I had a very pleasant stay here towards the end of June 2013. I was down in San Diego for a 4 day education training and did not want to commute every day from Orange County.

I paid the premium rate to have a water view room. The first night I was there, I was in a corner room (loved the light from the windows) but didn't have much view of the water (not that it's at the water's edge). When I got back from my training that first day, I asked if it wouldn't be too much trouble if I could get a room that I could actually see the water from. I was moved from the 8th to 12 floor and the view was awesome. I could even see into Petco Field from my bed.

The staff was great, always courteous.

The ONLY downside was the $36/day valet parking fee. If you don't need your car, I would suggest taking the train down.

Room Tip: Try for a 12th floor if you're getting a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Mindy B,

Our staff strives to give top rated and friendly customer service on a daily basis and will love to get the feedback from this review. It is also great to hear your request for a higher view was met and you enjoyed the stay even more. Please keep our hotel in mind when you book lodging for San Diego in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Just got back from a stay here and my only wish is that we had stayed longer.

San Diego is an amazing city. The gas lamp district is just great.
The hotel is in a perfect location with endless bars and restaurants within walking distance. Hotel is clean and staff are friendly.

Be sure to go downstairs and see the old vault doors. Great for novelty photo opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
mikebarr,

We are glad you took advantage of our location which is convenient for out of town visitors looking for a central location to many of the city's attractions while walking distance to 150+ restaurants and shops. We appreciate you liked the original historic bank safe deposit door and vault from 1928 now used as our meeting spaces. We do offer tours so if you find yourself in San Diego again we hope you stay with us and get some of the history told firsthand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Property: Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect San Diego hotel for your business or leisure stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing