We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Ranked #13 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this property. The staff was stellar, the rooms were very nicely renovated, and the location is hard to beat. This is marketed as a Courtyard and could pass by as a full service Marriott. The nightly rate is hard to beat, and this is by far the best hotel my wife and I have stayed at in all of San Diego. If you're looking for a historical property in a killer downtown location, this is the property for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Benajamin M, Thank you for such kind words about our staff. I am happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed our convenient downtown location and that you received our exceptional service. We hope you chose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Having stayed at many Courtyard's in the past, I was pleasantly surprised to find out this was nothing like the others, and I mean that in a good way.Very elegant hotel, beautiful rooms, and excellent customer service.

Also location is prime, walking distance to Gaslamp Quarter, and a very short cab to Little Italy. Not sure what the regular price tag per night would be since I used points, but I was very impressed and would stay here again if visiting.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MohsinZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

MohsinZ, Thank you for your kind words. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. Our prices vary on special events and room types, so please feel free to contact the hotel directly for more information. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Of the half-dozen or so Courtyards I've stayed at, this property is definitely the nicest--and it's not even close. In fact, it's a better property than most if not all of the Marriotts and JW Marriotts that I've stayed at around the world.
The physical building itself certainly helps. It's a converted heritage building (a bank) that retains a lot of its original grandeur. On the lower level, the original bank vault has been preserved and is now a meeting room.
The room I had was in great shape, quite large and the bed was comfy. It also had a microwave, mini-fridge and safe, all of which worked well. If you're a view person, that would be a strike against this hotel. I had an inward looking room that meant I kept the curtains closed, but maybe the higher outside rooms would be substantially nicer.
I had room service several times and tried three different apps and three different mains. All were really, really good. They come from their restaurant "Lobby", so I would imagine that actually eating there would be a good plan.
The gym has a small rack of dumbbells (5-40 lbs), a small universal machine with two cables, and a few treadmills, bikes and ellipticals machines. There's no swimming pool.
Every employee I've come into contact with has been friendly and welcoming.
The location is convenient, at the top end of the Gaslamp district. It's about a 10-minute walk through Gaslamp to get to the ballpark, and another 5 minutes past there gets you to the convention center.
I think this is my fifth time to San Diego on business, and I've stayed at some high-end properties (Hyatt Manchester, Hilton Bayfront, Sheraton Marina), but I would choose this Courtyard over all of these.
Very impressed!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Moffman, thank you for such a great review. I am glad you were able to enjoy all the conveniences of our property as well as enjoying its history and our staff’s great service. It is good to hear how impressed you were with your stay. We do have many different room types and some do have a city view. Please contact me or the front desk supervisors for your next stay and we can help you find something that best suited you. You can email us at Ashley.reid@cymsandiego.com, Veronica.padilla@cymsandiego.com and Sergio.lee@cymsandiego.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard in downtown San Diego in early October, and it was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is in an old bank building. The lobby ceiling is restored, and blends nicely with the contemporary lobby furnishings. The reception desks are made from the recycled materials from the old teller stations. The hallways are very wide, because the building was previously used for offices. Some of the doors still have mail slots. It adds to the charm.

Our room (2 queen beds) and bathroom were a good size: nicely renovated, contemporary, inviting. My travelling companion thought it was a bit noisy (from hallway noise), but I thought it was average. Some people were loud coming in around 2pm, and I did hear them (I wasn't wearing ear plugs).

The staff were super friendly, except for the reception clerk at first. I would describe her as cooly professional. But she warmed up quite quickly.

This hotel is situated at one end of the gaslamp district - again very convenient. We ate in the Gaslamp for dinner, when we came back, we noticed an illuminated tower on top of our hotel. We were excited to hear it's actually a lighthouse! The Bell captain was so amazing-friendly, knowledgeable, and accomodating. He took us up to the lighthouse for a quick look-see. It was the best unobstructed view of downtown, and he told us stories of the hotel's past. It really made our stay very unique and special. There's also a conference room in the basement inside the old vault! We went down for a look before we left. Apparently the night before they were hosting a murder mystery dinner - How fun! I want to do that next time!

All in all it was a great property, and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Swingbird, Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our unique building and convenient location. We love to share the history of our property and I am happy that our staff was able to provide such a unique and special stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I walked into the lobby, and wow! It's a beautiful lobby with architectural details, marble, chandeliers, and most of the details kept from the old bank that it used to be. The location, right in Old Town, makes it easy to walk to restaurants and look at the architecture. The staff was friendly, and check-in was easy. The hallways are wide with high ceilings and have the original mail chutes. The age of the building did not negatively affect its comfort. I felt the rooms were large, and plenty warm enough on a chilly night. The large old windows were not drafty and let in a lot of natural light. I liked that they gave us more than enough towels and pillows. The bar in the lobby was classy, and we appreciated the friendly bar tender.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluemermaid25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Bluemermaid25, thank you for such kind words. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our newly renovated, historic property comfortable. I am glad you were able to enjoy our convenient downtown location as well. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed four nights and it was the best and beautiful experience in a Courtyard. The front desk staff always with a smile and a pleasant greeting. The best of the best was Ramon , since we ask for some attractions and other places we want to visit, he was always helping us. Ramon explained us about the history of the hotel. I think he is very special always with a smile. The rooms were very clean and modern everything was perfect. The location within walking distance to many good restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fournierSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

FournierSanJuan, Thank you so much for your great review. Ramon and the rest of our staff will be very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am very glad that we were able to provide you with a perfect experience. I will look forward to having you as our guest if you choose to stay with us on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Great downtown location within a short walk of many restaurants, bars, theaters etc. Perfect for the weekend. Nicer than the typical courtyard. Good price. Parking is steep at $36 per day but I hear that's in the normal range for the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Blibberblubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Blibberblubber, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend stay and our convenient location. Being in the downtown we are near the Gaslamp District, but are only able to offer valet parking. I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 286 in San Diego
4,603 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-5206
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £120 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect San Diego hotel for your business or leisure stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing