We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Value, Charming Old Bank Building Masterfully Restored”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Ranked #17 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Linz, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Value, Charming Old Bank Building Masterfully Restored”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I spent 18 nights in this property and cannot say enough complimentary words about Analaura Becerra (sales manager) and the whole staff. The building is amazing, and the service is excellent. I really felt like the customer with friendly greetings, and good attitudes from all of the staff. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, the building is a gem, the location is prime, and the staff really helps make life bearable being away from home for so long. I cannot believe Marriott calls this a Courtyard, my experience was the best I have had at any hotel - including the Ritz-Carlton. Thank you, Analaura, Jody, Vance, Jillian, and all the rest!

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher in the hotel overlooking the Gaslamp District, amazing day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Jay W, Thank you so much for a great review. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Analaura, Vance, Jillyin and Jody the General Manager, very much appreciate your kind words about them. I am glad we were able to make your extended stay in downtown a pleasant one. Please feel free to contact any of us directly in the future if you need assistance with future reservations here. You can contact me or the front office supervisors at Ashley.reid@cymsandiego.com, Veronica.padilla@cymsandiego.com, or Sergio.lee@cymsandiego.com. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    298
    43
    9
    1
See reviews for
184
266
38
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helotes
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed here with my family and we had a wonderful stay. Every member of the staff was helpful, welcoming and kind. I will stay here again for sure! This building used to be a bank and all the rooms were formally offices. Cool place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paigemorgan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Paigemorgan44, Thank you for your kind review. I am glad we were able to provide you and your family with a wonderful stay. If you enjoyed the history, next time ask for a tour and we can show you around the historic vaults in the basement area. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Courtyard in Downtown San Diego was our last stop on our California road trip, and we definitely made the right choice. The location is perfect, in the heart of Downtown, but safe and secure. We used the valet parking, and never waited too long for the car to be delivered back to us, and it was always parked as soon as we pulled up. The public spaces are beautiful, and have been sensitively restored to reflect the building's former life as the San Diego Trust and Savings Bank. The basement meeting room is the bank's old vault, and is worth a look even if you're not there for business! The rooms however, are right up to date. Our room had two queen beds but did not feel cramped, and there was a wardrobe with safe and mini fridge for convenience. The decor was very fresh and the carpet was plush, and everywhere was spotlessly clean. The USB charging points on the lamps are a useful touch. The bathroom was accessed by a stiff sliding door off the bedroom: a space saver sure, but a bit noisy and unwieldy. The bathroom itself was spacious and elegant, with a full-sized bath and nice complimentary toiletries. The room got plenty of natural light as there were big windows with views across the city, but the drapes kept the light out at night. We were on a high floor, so did not hear street noise, so would recommend this if you're a light sleeper. We used the Starbucks and 7-11 nearby for breakfast and snacks, but did eat in the hotel bar on the last night. The food was great and the staff were really attentive. This is true of the staff throughout the hotel, who were happy to offer recommendations of places to eat and things to do. We were sorry to head home!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomijosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Northerninvader, Thank you for such kind words about our property and staff. I am glad to hear that we were able to make the last stop of your road trip wonderful. I am happy you were able to enjoy the convenience of our downtown location and our staff was accommodating and friendly. I hope you choose to visit us again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Certainly not the average Courtyard, thank goodness! This is a converted bank from the 20's, and has quite the character. I attended an educational seminar, which was held in the ancient bank vault below street level, complete with giant metal vault door and safety deposit boxes inside. The rooms were new, modern, airy, the 14th floor is a converted shooting range for the female teller staff of old. All staff were ultra accommodating, would definitely return without hesitation.

Room Tip: The higher the better, I was lucky to get the 15th floor, killer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeconger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dianeconger, thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad to hear our staff was so accommodating and could make your stay more comfortable. I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days. I loved it the minute I entered. It's an old bank building circa 1920, and it shows in the architecture, ceiling, ornate elevators, and mail chutes. When I got out of the shuttle, I was immediately greeted by friendly faces welcoming me. The amenities are superb. There was a refrigerator and microwave in my room, which certainly came in handy for my "doggie bags." Internet access is free, and if you don't bring your laptop or iPad, no worries -- there are three computers in the lobby. I like room service in the morning, and I highly recommend the French toast. The man who delivered it also had a nice surprise for me -- a side of strawberries with whipped cream. It wasn't even on the menu. I just loved the room service staff. They were genuinely friendly and made me smile. Nice way to start the day. In fact, the whole staff was genuinely friendly. Every time I came back in the evening, the people at the front desk would say, "Welcome back!" My room was clean and quiet, and my bed was so-ooo comfortable. Loved the black-out curtains, too. I went to San Diego to attend a conference. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the convention center, which was nice for me because I needed the exercise, and the weather was beautiful. Plus, there are plenty of fun things to look at on the way, including lots of nice restaurants. The shuttle from the airport to the hotel only costed $10, and a taxi back to the airport costed about $14. I travel frequently for work and have become fussy about hotels. All too often, one thing or another is broken, or the staff strains to be friendly and helpful. So once I find a good hotel, it's a keeper. If I go to San Diego again, I will definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the 10th floor in a corner room and had a beautiful view. Not sure if it was north, south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Lorene L, Thank you so much for your kind review. I am glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us and that our staff was able to make your stay feel like home. Although you were here for a convention, I am glad you were able to enjoy the convenience of our location as well. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. If you need help with reservations, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We chose this hotel based on its good reviews and also we wanted a hotel close to the cruise terminal (5/10 mins by taxi)..It is situated on the edge of the gaslight district, which was very lively on the Friday night we were there with any number of good restaurants to choose from if you are looking for somewhere to eat.
Our room was on the third floor and looked out on the city. Not much of a view, but better than nothing. No street noise. The rooms are excellent; very big,modern & tastefully furnished.
The hotel has a happy hour late afternoon which was a popular spot the night we stayed but the service was slow.
Because we stayed at the hotel on Friday night, we got the "stay for breakfast" rate, which includes breakfast for two. Unfortunately, the hotel limits your choice of breakfast dishes from the menu to one (plus juice, toast etc) which is not good PR for the hotel & makes them look a bit mean. So if breakfast means a lot to you, you will be disappointed..
Overall though we enjoyed our brief stay at the Courtyard Marriott and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Aussie-Traveller3121, I apologize that the breakfast options you had were not what you were expecting. We do not have a Courtyard Bistro as we have fresh, local items instead. We are only able to offer certain items as the breakfast is included in the room rate. I am glad you enjoyed you unique property and convenient location. I hope next time you stay with us you will be able to enjoy the restaurant for the great service we are known for. We also have a variety of room types, so please contact the hotel before your next stay so that we can find a room that best suites you. We look forward to having you as our guest and providing you with a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Loved staying her for 3 nights over Halloween. I love the fact that even though this is a converted hotel it is still quiet considering where it is located. I stayed in a corner king room and between the black out curtains and the reinforced windows, there was virtually no noise. Staff was great and very attentive. Got some great dinner recommendations from John? at the front desk. I ordered lunch one day to take up to my room so I could work and was a little disappointed at the quality of the food I ordered although there are many great restaurants to choose from in the area. I stay at a lot of Marriott hotels and was a little shocked that the valet parking was $36.00 per night. I do not think I have ever paid that much to park overnight at a Marriott although the valet guys were very helpful and friendly. Great place to stay, centrally located and the nicest Courtyard I have stayed at. Loved the history of the building and that they kept much of the bank features intact.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and corner room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
M K, Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that John was so helpful. I apologize that the food was not the quality you were expecting, and I will talk to our restaurant staff about that. We have a special menu for our property and strive to go beyond what is expected. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our convenient location and wonderful staff though. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next Visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Downtown

Property: Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-5206
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing