We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, great staff, interesting location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Ranked #15 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Rooms were clean and well appointed, and the building is absolutely gorgeous, it used to be an old bank and the stone in the lobby is magnificent and all original. The staff are super helpful and nice. The only thing is I wouldn't venture too far down from the hotel, there are panhandlers all over the area.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tibby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Tibby H, thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our historic property, including the newly renovated Lobby. Although we do have a very convenient location and wonderful staff, being in downtown can make some people uncomfortable if they are not used to a large city. We do our best to make our guests feel secure inside the property. I hope when you return to San Diego, you choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

I had an amazing night for New Years Eve when i stayed at the Marriott San Diego Downtown hotel. Everyone was amazing and out of everyone that assisted Ramon was extremely helpful and left a lasting impression. We had a great conversation about more then just my hotel stay. He was very professional and remembered my name and room number, even after I checked out we engaged in conversation. Ramon was the first person that came out and assisted my party with our bags. Had a great time and experience would absolutely come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roordrewroor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Roordrewroor, Thank you for such a kind review. I am glad were able to make your New Year’s more comfortable in downtown. Ramon was also happy that he was able to make such a lasting and wonderful impression on your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I typically stay at Starwood hotels, but the value and location of this property were too good to pass up. After reading the other reviews here on TripAdvisor I decided to give this hotel a try. The hotel definitely delivered.

The location is excellent at the top end of the Gas Lamp district which is filled with restaurants, bars, entertainment, shopping, etc. There is also a Trolley Stop just behind the hotel which makes getting to other San Diego destinations via public transportation quite easy as well.

The hotel is a former bank and in fact, some of the original safe doors and bank equipment remain and are scattered throughout the hotel. The hotel is on the National Register of Historic places and has a lot of character and classic, classy decor.

The staff are proud of their hotel and it shows in their service. Every time we returned to the hotel or encountered a staff member, we were genuinely greeted. The rooms were clean, comfortable, large, and well appointed.

About the only "issue" I have is the valet parking. I realize it is valet parking in the middle of downtown, but $36 per night for hotel guests seemed a bit pricey and the service to bring the car when needed although they offer a convenient TXT message request service still seemed to be a bit slow. I might suggest you look for alternative city parking somewhere else nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TebanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

TebanS, Thank you for such a fantastic review. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It seems you were able to take advantage of our convenient downtown location as well. As you mentioned, parking in the middle of downtown can be difficult. I do highly recommend our Valet service as we have the convenience of 24 hour, in and out privileges. There are other options and any one at the front desk or valet will be able to offer their assistance on recommendations. I am glad our staff was able to meet your expectations, and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, ok hotel, requested an early check in and a high floor room. When i got there at 2 pm neither the lady on the front desk was not very helpful. Wanted to give me a lesser room on the 5th floor. Advised i would wait for my requested room, it was not ready until 3.20pm.
Room was ok, small, had a nice view of downtown especially when the sun went down. Would probably not stay again due to small room size and $36 parking.
The best part about this hotel was looking at the vaults and the original features of the building

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mojomiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Mojomiller, thank you for your review. As an historic property, guest room sizes can vary based on their location. We do have some upgraded rooms that offer more space with King Suites being around 314sqft while our standard rooms range from 254-335sqft.I apologize that you were not happy with being offered the 5th floor as an early check in. Although we cannot guarantee requests, we do our best to accommodate guest’s needs. I hope you choose to stay with us in the future on your next trip to San Diego where you can try out one of our more spacious suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I took my family who was visiting from out of town to San Diego. I'm from Los Angeles. We stayed one night and I booked this hotel for the night because it was in a great location so that we could walk around and see the Gaslamp area and harbor, yet it was still close enough to Balboa Park since we planned on visiting the Zoo the next morning. It was not hard to find and even though there were a lot of one way streets, I did not find it hard to navigate.

I wanted 2 rooms that were connected and since you can not book those online, I called over the phone to book them. The man was nice on the phone and said connecting rooms were available for this specific location. I actually wanted a king in one room and 2 queens in the other room, but the man on the phone said that was not a possibility so I agreed to book 2 rooms with 2 queen beds in each. I received an email confirmation stating such.

Valet parking is $36 daily and I looked online before I visited to see if there was self parking around. There is actually a garage just one block north and it cost $28 to park for the day. I know that's not that much lower than the $36 but if you're like me and don't really like the idea of strangers driving your car and possibly damaging them, then it's good to know there is self parking available nearby. There is also street parking but you would want to check the signs as there is street cleaning on specific days.

When I actually got to the hotel and checked in, they told me that connected rooms were not noted for my reservation and then I was told 2 rooms connected with both queen beds in them were not an option. I was a bit confused and slightly annoyed.
The guy at the front desk then said if I wanted connecting rooms he would check for me. He looked and found connected rooms with one room having a king bed in it and the other having 2 queen beds. This was actually what I had wanted in the very first place when I had called Marriott on the phone at booking, but was told it wasn't a possibility. So it was strange when the front desk told me that was THE only possibility. Sounds like some miscommunication between the hotel and that main phone line for Marriott. Not sure as I was not given any explanations to why this was THE only option but since it was what I wanted in the first place I didn't want to waste my time on trying to figure out why.

The rooms itself were pleasant. I liked the decor. Everything looked maintained and cleaned well. The beds were comfortable. The street noise was not very loud.

We left early the next morning around 8 am. So for what it was, the stay was nice. I did like how the hotel was a bank before so the actual building was unique and different. The only issue was the actual check in miscommunication. If I wasn't able to get connecting rooms I would have been pretty disappointed. I guess for the future if I book with Marriott again I'll call in just to check that it was made properly by Marriott, even though I don't think that should be required to do. If I booked it through a 3rd party site or party, I would understand, but if I called Marriott directly and booked through them, I would like to hope the databases are accurate and trust that what I booked is what I would be getting.
I'm not angry about it, just annoyed. If I visited San Diego again I would still include this hotel as a good option to stay, unless I want to actually stay in a different area of San Diego.

The staff were very nice as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ercw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Ercw, Thank you for your review. I apologize about the confusion about your room types when booking. I will definitely follow up with central reservations to ensure they have correct information for our property. As an historic building we have a limited number of special room types so I am glad that we were able to accommodate your request. I am glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that our staff was able to assist you. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is a really good hotel. I stayed here in Nov 2013. Since the previous time I stayed here (2010), the hotel had been renovated, and that turned out to be a vast improvement (although it was pretty good even then). My room was not very large, but squeaky clean, with free wifi and a safe that was big enough to take my 15 inch macbook as well as other stuff. As noted by other reviewers, the building used to house a bank, and the beautiful old interior has largely been maintained. Staff was courteous and helpful, although booking a taxi in advance proved to be difficult. When exiting the place you walk straight into the Gaslamp quarter with all its bars and restaurants, and it's about a 10 min walk to the conference centre. Breakfast is not included, but that seems to be the standard in the US these days.
All in all a great place to stay, and I will certainly return the next time I'm in San Diego.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanLeiden_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

JohanLeiden_Holland, Thank you for such a kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay as well as the improvements to our property. We did our best to keep the history of the building alive while accommodating today’s travelers. Since you are looking to book with us in the future, please feel free to contact the hotel directly if you need assistance with reservations. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My earlier review of this hotel, which we have visited at least three times, seems to have disappeared from TripAdvisor. :-(

As a Mariott Rewards member, I like to stay mostly at Mariott properties. Whenever we get an email with a special rate, we hop on AMTRAK and head for San Diego from Los Angeles's Union Station Train Station for a short getaway.

The hotel lobby and rooms have been recently upgraded and are beautiful.

The bar and breakfast is great!

It's a 1/3-1/2 mile3 walk from the train station making for a perfect car-less weekend.

With Gaslamp District restaurants literally across the street, Balboa Park a pleasant one mile walk away.

Highly recommend, in fact I think I'll check the inbox right now!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astrojane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Astrojane, thank you for your kind review. I am glad that you were able to enjoy our newly renovated property and great location. With the renovation we do have a new menu with fresh and local produce, I am glad you took the time to enjoy these great amenities. Since you plan on returning, please feel free to contact one of the front office supervisors if you need making reservations. You can contact them at Veronica.padilla@cymsandiego.com or Sergio.lee@cymsandiego.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £102 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect San Diego hotel for your business or leisure stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing