We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star service. Beautiful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Ranked #15 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I've written very few reviews and none while I was still staying at the hotel but I feel compelled to review this Courtyard now so that my review doesn't fall "through the cracks." Before coming here, I read reviews about how helpful the staff was. But even so, I'm overwhelmed at how anxious to please and what wonderful service both Sean and John have provided. Both of these fine gentlemen work at the front desk. When I arrived, Sean went out of his way to help me choose a room that best suited my needs. I never felt rushed and as a result, I love the room I am in. Since the room was so nice and John and Sean were so helpful, I extended my stay at the Courtyard by two nights.

I've stayed at luxury 5 star hotels and never had such excellent service. This is true too of the person who has cleaned my room (excellent) and everyone else I've had dealings with. The location of the hotel is great. I do not have a car and with John and Sean's help, I've been able to get around using the bus and the trolley.

BTW, I'm loving San Diego too.

Room Tip: Higher up the better. Ask to face the water. Saw a beautiful sunset tonight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Carol O, Thank you for such a great review. Everyone was very happy to hear how much you were enjoying your stay. John and Sean were especially pleased to have made such an impression on you. I am glad you received such great service and were able to enjoy our convenient downtown location. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel with a great location . Rooms were clean , excellent atmosphere with a happy hour .

The service was also outstanding . Car valet service was very prompt .

But small things were as a platinum member , no automatic checkout with your bill under the door , no executive lounge ( especially in a large hotel like this ) and no diet soda ? Also no coffee until after 6 am ??? I left every day at 5:30 am. No early breakfast , not even a muffin or bagel . Even Hamptons does this .

But I would still recommend this hotel to anyone .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Mike T, Thank you for your review. I do apologize about the inconveniences you experienced with us. We are an historic property and unfortunately, not all the doors allow enough space for the bills to be slipped underneath. With our historic property and great service we appear to be a full service property. However, we are still a Courtyard and within our brand cannot offer a concierge lounge or complimentary breakfast for our Elite members.
You can pre-order a cold breakfast-to-go the night before to assist you on your early mornings. I do apologize about our Starbucks not being ready for your early departure, normally the hours start at 5:30am. Please feel free to contact our supervisors at Veronica.padilla@cymsandiego.com or Sergio.lee@cymsandiego.com for future assistance. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future and rectifying these issues on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights over New Year. Everything was right about our stay, from check in onwards. We had a fabulous room on 14th floor, accessed by 2 elevators, very generous in size. The staff were very friendly, and we really enjoyed happy hour in the lobby. At midnight on NYE we were treated to a small tasting of sparkling, with others on the bar. Location is very good, convenient to Gastown, transport, etc. I love the Lobby with all the well preserved banking chamber features. And it has a laundry for guest use - what more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Brissie, Thank you for such a great review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay over the holiday with us and were here with us for countdown. I am happy that our staff was able to provide you and your husband with a great stay in the Gaslamp district and that you enjoyed our historic property and private floor. I hope you choose to stay with us in the future on your next trip to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our family was in California for the BSC National Championship Game in Paseneda, CA. We started our trip in San Diego with our main goal being to go to the Zoo. We stayed two nights at the Courtyard Downtown and had a great stay.
We booked two rooms for our family of 5 plus the grandparents. One of our kids slept in their room. We booked this hotel over others due to the fact that it has two queen beds instead of two doubles.
The location was pretty good. It seems on the edge of the Gas Lamp district. Go in one direction and there were plenty of restaurants and shopping and nice hotels. But if you go in the other direction, the area is not so nice.
We were convenient to the Zoo, Old Town, and the Cadillac Diner.
The rooms were a good size. The staff was very helpful.
The historic building was amazing. My mother worked in banking her whole life so she was quite taken with the aspects that were preserved. Be sure to visit the vault in the basement.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Mara J, thank you for such a kind review. I am glad that we were able to start your trip in San Diego as an enjoyable one. I am glad your family enjoyed our historic property as well as our convenient location. I hope when you come back to San Diego you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed one night but wished for more. Old Bank building with tons of history kept by the hotel for all to see. From the open lobby to the bank vault, this hotel exudes class. Comfortable beds, good service, and great location for walking downtown San Diego can't be beat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Sae, thank you for such a kind review. I am glad you were able to enjoy our newly renovated and historic property. I am glad our staff made your stay comfortable and that you enjoyed our convenient location as well. We look forward to your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband, daughter, son in law and I stayed at the Courtyard San Diego for two days prior to boarding a holiday cruise. I selected the hotel because of its location but will return because of the absolutely exceptional service. Everyone working in this hotel was incredibly helpful and made us feel that our "well being" was their number one priority. From the warm greeting as we got out of the taxi and entered the lobby to the upgrade to a suite at check- in, to the service in the bar and restaurant it was outstanding! The breakfast was probably the best hotel breakfast I have ever experienced.I have stayed in many lovely hotels in many countries but never encountered a hotel staff who truly love their work like this and the result is magic. Whoever does the hiring and training at this Courtyard deserves an award from head office. We will without a doubt be back and are enthusiastically recommending it to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had a two room suite that was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Brenda K, Thank you for such a great review. I am glad to hear that you were greeted with our exceptional service and that we could make your stay more enjoyable. Since the hotel is newly renovated so is our restaurant menu. We use local farms so our food is all fresh. I am glad you are so enthusiastic about our hotel and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

There were two specific people who made this stay exceptional, josh and Danny. Both men went above and beyond in their respective areas to make us feel welcome and well attended to. I hope both these men are appreciated by your company in a way that sets them apart.
An overall wonderful stay at a beautiful hotel. Thank you Marriott.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joecaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Joecaryn, Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that Josh and Danny were able to provide you with our exceptional service. They are both very glad that were able to make such a lasting impression on your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our unique property in downtown. We look forward to your next visit with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £96 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect San Diego hotel for your business or leisure stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing