We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Ranked #12 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

From check in to check out everything went smoothly. Nice hotel, great bed and a good location. On top of that Jillyin that worked in the lounge was a wealth of information She welcomes you with a big beautiful smile and is very helpful in finding a place for dinner and things to do after.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cariad66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    313
    42
    10
    2
See reviews for
193
282
38
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This is simply an amazing hotel. The lobby is very well done and my room was great. I recommend the Ocean View room. Hotel is in a great location downtown and literally minutes away (walking) from some great restaurants. The Gaslamp District is also walking distance from the hotel. I had a great stay and highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank juanowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I came to San Diego for vacation and was extremely impressed with this hotel. First, it is beautiful! The lobby is amazing and the rooms are clearly renovated and up to date, not to mention spacious. The original character of the building is well preserved and it creates a very cool experience. The front desk staff was extremely helpful, especially Sau who was upbeat, friendly, and knowledgeable when I checked in late. The desk has maps of the area and offered great restaurant recommendations. They even had the ferry schedule available which was super helpful. The hotel is right in the heart of everything to do downtown. I cannot wait until my next stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Wow, this hotel has it all. We were greeted with warm welcomes and big smiles from all of the staff throughout our entire stay. Our room was immaculate and we had a beautiful view of the city. Food and drinks were excellent as well... the lobby bar was a great place to hang out. Overall, the service is really what made our stay special though.... one of the best hotels I've stayed at-- and that is saying a lot!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karabobara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Writings reviews on hotels is a waste of time... until NOW.. Thanks to the great, friendly and Amazing customer service of this Hotel (special Thanks to SERGIO LEE) and the "I wish I never had to go back home" rooms... here I am eating my own words! Party or Fun or a simple love vacation for Two (as what I did...love you Uly) We had the best time at the hotel and what downtown offers. Will I ever return to this Historic Hollywood Glam Party like "The Great Gatsby" Titanic Customer service kind of Hotel? .... My Answer is you have to check it out on your own!... But MOST definitely will return in July! (FOR MY BDAY)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesselmfao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I was meeting a friend for lunch who was staying in the Courtyard Marriott downtown. While waiting for him to come down from his room I had a chance to check out the lobby. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly. I sat at the Starbucks coffee bar while I waited and Ashley, the barista, took excellent care of me. She had a wonderful personality and started up a friendly conversation right away. I wasn't going to have a drink but Ashley recommended a snicker doodle latte that sounded too good to pass up. And it was! Overall I am extremely satisfied with my visit and would gladly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BrianFatogun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I was treated very professionally by a young lady named Alexandra B. She went above and beyond to help me. I had trouble with printer problems and she even helped me that as well. She was great! Great service by Sau and Carmen, as well. They were very helpful too.Thank you for a nice stay

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Property: Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect San Diego hotel for your business or leisure stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing