We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Harbour Lights(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Andaz San Diego(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,014)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
619
334
46
13
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
619
334
46
13
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbank buildingmeeting roomvalet parkinghouse of bluesgaslamp quarterbeautiful hotelthe gas lamp districtpresidential suitebeautiful lobbywalking distancebalboa parkhorton plazalobby baruss midwayvalet staffstreet noisecorner room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
724 - 729 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Loved, Loved it. Make sure you speak with Sergio at the front desk and get to know Kamal(concierge). You will not be disappointed. Ask Kamal about the "secret room," and let Sergio recommend the best local eats of San Diego (not the commercial chain restaurants). The entire staff was wonderful and the property was very well positioned to the waterway and the Gas Lamp District. To top it all off, it is a very historic property that was a bank up until 1999. You must go see the vault (ask Kamal and he'll give you a tour). In fact, look at lock box 1225 and open the lockbox to the upper left (red up left from 1225). There is a note there for you (left by my son - leave the note though because he wants to go back in 20 years to retrieve it). What a great find and the family had just a super stay. We'll be back for sure. Oh, the beds are very comfortable - do yourself a favor and sleep in and enjoy the cozy sleep.

Room Tip: get upper floor. city view or water view...can't go wrong
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kraig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a lovely hotel, we had a lovely room, very large. You can go and see the old vaults which are used for meeting rooms. It isn't far to walk to the sea and you are very near to all the places to eat and drink. This hotel has happy hour and gave us home cooked crisps with our drinks. The staff were very helpful when we wanted to book a Whale watching trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jezard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

There is nothing fancy in the hotel - it's a sleep and rest type but its neat and clean and very close to the freeway and old town San Diego. Walking distance to the trolley stop and restaurants. Staff very nice too!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My fiance and I stayed here this past weekend for Memorial Day. The hotel is very cool, an old bank converted into the hotel! Downstairs you can see the old vault and throughout the hotel (including original elevators) there is so much old charm.

I want to give a special shout out to Louis, the hotel's bartender downstairs! My fiance was proposing to me on Sunday evening 5/25/14 and told Louis this during general conversation at the bar. I came back from the proposal (which was amazing and on La Jolla beach by the way!) to a gorgeous room full of red rose petals, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, electric candles lit around the room, soft music playing....it was INCREDIBLE. Total icing on the cake. Louis did all this without even knowing us!

Amazing customer service. I was so beyond thrilled with my stay, but certainly Sunday night for sure. Next time we are in San Diego we will for sure be going back to this Courtyard and for sure be having a drink down at the bar !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a splendid hotel. It used to be a very grand, ornate bank, and a great many of the features have been lovingly retained; especially in the very impressive lobby. At the same time it is a thoroughly modern and very comfortable hotel. The conference areas are the old bank vaults, still with the amazing and beautiful 47000 pound door! (See pix).
The location of the hotel is ideal, right on the edge of the downtown "gaslight" district, which is a pleasure to stroll around. My room was spacious and well appointed and totally clean. There was a room safe, not always found in Courtyards. The restaurant was very good, and breakfast is a la carte and plentiful. If you are on a budget or fancy a change, there are many eateries very close by, including a Chinese just across the road. Basic, but cheap and delicious.
Greatest praise is kept for the bar. What a wonderful selection of excellent craft beers, 7 in all , 5 of which were local to San Diego. The bar staff were enthusiastic, helpful and charming to deal with. This is obviously beer country. But if that were not enough, across the road is the amazing "Beer Co". But that's another story. Well done to all at this fine hotel, I intend to return. There are still some brews I have not yet tried.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews