We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Ranked #18 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is one beautiful hotel. It is really beautiful. The service was exceptional as well. The location is excellent. It is convenient to the business areas and restaurants.The room was so nice. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    298
    43
    9
    1
See reviews for
184
266
38
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We drove to San Diego for the weekend to attend the annual La Jolla Festival of the Arts. We like staying downtown for the convenience of the walkablity of restaurants. We hadn't stayed at this property before but the hotels.com rate was killer so here we went!

First of all the property once you find it is awesome. It is a converted historical bank building with all the old time beautiful architectural embellishments that one rarely sees anymore. Make sure that you look up at the beautiful painted ceilings. There is also plenty of comfy seating in the lobby in case you want to sit down or have a drink.

The check-in process was easy and rapid. We were assigned a room on the second floor which seemed great. Recently remodelled and spic and span. Our hallway was a little loud but I thought the voices were from World Cup Fans watching a game. We dropped our bags, cleaned up a bit and headed out to Ostetra for a fantastic dinner. We wandered back about 9:30pm and the hallway was still a little loud. No problem for me as I went out like a light but my husband was never able to get to sleep with the noise (I sometimes sleep with a pillow over my head when in a hotel...muffles sounds). About 3pm I did wake up with loud yelling in the hallway and my husband was dialing the front desk for help with quieting the rabble down. Security did come up and knocked on several doors and things finally quieted down.

Here is the service save which would make me stay and recommend this property again. When hubby wandered down to request a room change..NO PROBLEM! We left our bags with the front desk and went to the art show, albeit a bit tired. Came back to a wonderful quiet room on the ninth floor. Fantastic nights sleep on Saturday.

All of the staff at the hotel were California nice and super helpful. The valet parking folks had no problem running the two blocks for the car multiple times in the day.

Great Stay!

Room Tip: As for a high floor and stay away from second floor, I think this is where the discounted rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoAZ85251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the service outstanding. From the minute we walked in until the moment we left, we felt welcome, special and appreciated. Sergio at the Front Desk is extremely helpful and called ahead when we told him where we were going for dinner. Once we arrived for dinner, we were treated to free appetizers. The building itself is quite something and has so much history attached, it stands out among all the Courtyards I've stayed.

However, our favourite part of staying at the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown was hands down, without a doubt, our bartender and Food and Beverage Supervisor, Krys and Jilyan. These two ladies made our stay at the Courtyard. We would return to this hotel simply to spend a few more hours with these ladies. Krys is the most inventive bartender ever and she went the extra mile to make drinks we enjoyed. Both ladies have an excellent grasp of the all the liquor behind their bar and aren't afraid to suggest something special. Jilyan goes above and beyond on about seven different levels - we noticed how attentive she was to all the other Customers even when she was busy multi-tasking. We enjoyed every minute of her company right up until the last evening when she hugged us goodbye. I only wish San Diego weren't so far from our hometown, Toronto. I could honestly see my husband and I dropping in for a drink just to say hi to these ladies if only they were closer.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the main street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honfleur28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

First of all this hotel is amazing with incredible history! The fact that it used to be a bank is awesome they even have the old vault inside! The check in part was great. We were greeted by Dennis the bellman who is great at his job! He was very friendly! We checked in with Jesus who was also friendly and courteous. He made sure we had an amazing room with an amazing view of the city and we really appreciated that. He was very knowledgeable when it came to asking him for advice on where to go and what to do in Downtown. Our room was very nice and roomy, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very clean! When we needed extra towels housekeeping made sure we got them in a fast and timely manner. Overall this stay was great! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that stays in Downtown San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask them if there's room available for an upgrade. They will be more than happy to check for you...
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer points for Marriott rewards members every time you decline housekeeping!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlgng89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I come to San Diego pretty often for work. I usually stay at the Marriott in the Gaslamp. It was my first time staying at this Courtyard and I'm so glad I did! First, I walk in and get greeted by a friendly front desk staff. I absolutely have to mention one girl in particular. Her name was Sandy. She was so personable and informative. It's people like her that make Marriott great. She made sure to give me directions and was always very attentive. The hotel itself is beautiful. Rooms are clean and decor is nice. Also, staff at the bar were very friendly. Will be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodgarcia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed 4 nights at the hotel. Great location near restaurants and Horton Plaza. Clean and well appointed rooms. Service staff especially concierge were very helpful. Special thanks to Analaura Becera who went the mile to secure dinner reservations at a popular restaurant for the entourage.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeWangLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second visit to The Courtyard San Diego. This is such a unique property. It was an old bank building that was converted into a hotel and it is beautiful. Take a trip down to the basement and see the old vault! The staff are very friendly and efficient. I would like to mention Conor at the Front Desk and the housekeeper on the 7th floor (Racarro ?), both made our trip even nicer. The valets were quick to get our car and they were always welcoming when we would return from our day. The property is walking distance to many nice restaurants and many of San Diego's downtown attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Downtown

Property: Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-5206
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing