We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Ranked #16 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tacoma, Wa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stays”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here twice in June on business and had a fabulous time. The location is nearly perfect - just blocks from the waterfront, great restaurants, Petco Park, my client, yada yada. Had a nice water view the second stay and had a hard time tearing myself away from the window. I plan to return. We also can't say enough about the bar and the service there. Found happy hour a pleasure.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markorcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    316
    42
    10
    2
See reviews for
197
283
38
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I choose the King size bed with bay view room and it was AWESOME!!. Perfect view of the bay and Coronado bridge & Island, Also you see Petco Park. It was overall a great experience staying at this hotel. The room was very nice size, front desk staff were all professional and attentive. Valet service was fast and easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WESLEY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americana, SP
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel, and they were all great nights. The location is just perfect! You can reach all the famous spots walking, no taxi necessary. Great restaurants, good mall and the coast/beach is 5 blocks from hotel. Breakfast is good, ordered from menu. Parking a car is too expensive (USD 38/day).

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovani_Guidolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The lobby of this old bank turned into a hotel is superb. The last time I saw hand-painted ceilings like this was in a old monastery of Spanish brothers! The staff are equally impressive -- my husband and I particularly liked Ramon in the Lobby Bar. The rooms can't quite compare, but are comfortable and spotless.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I'm a foodie and this restaurant was ridiculously good!!! I am staying here on business and tried the pizza, by chance. OmG! Get the bbq chicken. ... and the wait staff was top notch! Jillyin was outstanding and very knowledgeable! The hotel itself is beautiful, and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank rjohnson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We only spent 3 nights in San Diego and wished we had spent more. The room was large, big enough to feel like we weren't on top of one another. Great gym facilities and washing facilities. Will cost you around a dollar, coins only. Make sure you do your own research before asking for advice at the front desk though. There was some at the front desk that told us the only way to get to Legoland was by car. WRONG. Make sure to have a look at Amtrak to get details on which train to take. Apart from that piece of misinformation. The staff were extremely friendly. Access is free to the business centre with a printer.

Overall. A great experience that is close to a lot of great bars and restaurants

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Wales
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights at a pre-paid rate of $189 + tax booked through the Marriott website.

Good location but about a 20 min walk to the convention center. It's an old bank and the building is great if you like old buildings. Staff all pleasant and friendly.

Room was fine and, all in all, it's a good example of a Courtyard. For a change, I was so busy I didn't get the chance to check out the gym. Decent bar downstairs but there is so much around it's not necessary to use any of the hotel facilities if you don't want to.

Happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#17 of 278 in San Diego
4,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown

Property: Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect San Diego hotel for your business or leisure stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing