We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Weekend in San Diego.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Ranked #17 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Weekend in San Diego.....”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were looking for a downtown hotel for our visit and this hotel fit the bill...on 6th Ave/Broadway and just on the edge of the Gas Lamp District and close to the waterfront. Good spot to walk to almost anything downtown. Hotel is in a beautiful renovated bank building and we found it comfortable. Some minor negatives; we were using Marriott points to stay for the weekend. Upon check in we were told we had been upgraded to a room which was described as having wonderful windows, architectural features etc....we get to the room and it is directly over the main entrance one level above the street. Was willing to give it a go re: noise, but we are in the room 5 minutes and a large fan of some type kicks in and is making considerable noise right behind the bed. I consider myself low maintenance but there was no way I could deal with that noise. The good news is that the hotel changed my room immediately and we ended up in an interior room of the same size and type and all ended well. I guess my point is I always wonder when staying on loyalty points at a hotel if one is given a "good" room or a "lesser" room given the lack of money changing hands. In this situation I feel like we were being given a lesser room hoping we would be OK with it. Again, the hotel accomodated our change request without any issues and I compliment them on that. I would recommend the hotel for someone looking to be downtown.

Room Tip: An interior, upper level room best to avoid street noise. The hallways are noisy due to the nature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brysully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    296
    43
    9
    1
See reviews for
184
265
38
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel staff are very friendly and nice! They took us to visit the old safe and provide a nice tour of this historical hotel. The lobby is the most amazing - feel like we stay in a museum! Room is clean and nice. Parking is very expensive though.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeiraGnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is in a historic bank building. It is gorgeous. The rooms are very good size and very comfortable. They have kept so many of the original features. It went through a renovation in 2013. The bar in the lobby is a quiet respite from the surrounding area and Josh the bartender hooked us up with some late night pizza delivery. Roger was so helpful on checking us in. He was able to give us an upgrade. They really take care of you. There are so many great restaurants in the area within walking of the hotel. We felt taken care of and really enjoyed our stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cin1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Wa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here twice in June on business and had a fabulous time. The location is nearly perfect - just blocks from the waterfront, great restaurants, Petco Park, my client, yada yada. Had a nice water view the second stay and had a hard time tearing myself away from the window. I plan to return. We also can't say enough about the bar and the service there. Found happy hour a pleasure.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markorcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I choose the King size bed with bay view room and it was AWESOME!!. Perfect view of the bay and Coronado bridge & Island, Also you see Petco Park. It was overall a great experience staying at this hotel. The room was very nice size, front desk staff were all professional and attentive. Valet service was fast and easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WESLEY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americana, SP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel, and they were all great nights. The location is just perfect! You can reach all the famous spots walking, no taxi necessary. Great restaurants, good mall and the coast/beach is 5 blocks from hotel. Breakfast is good, ordered from menu. Parking a car is too expensive (USD 38/day).

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovani_Guidolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The lobby of this old bank turned into a hotel is superb. The last time I saw hand-painted ceilings like this was in a old monastery of Spanish brothers! The staff are equally impressive -- my husband and I particularly liked Ramon in the Lobby Bar. The rooms can't quite compare, but are comfortable and spotless.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,054 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Downtown

Property: Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Address: 530 Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-5206
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in San Diego
#20 Family Hotel in San Diego
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#34 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the perfect hotel for your San Diego stay. Housed in a 1920's historic landmark building, the reinvented Courtyard San Diego Downtown welcomes guests with the sophisticated comfort of modern accommodations, while embracing the character of the distinguished former financial institution. From the moment you step through the revolving front doors, you will be whisked away to an inviting and intimate space to unwind, gather your thoughts, or share a laugh and a beverage with friends. Exquisite remnants of the former bank grace the interior of our hotel and mix with a fresh, contemporary style. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, you can expect impeccable service and an unbeatable location in the Gaslamp Quarter, offering hundreds of dining and entertainment options. We are conveniently located in the heart of the business district, walking distance to the waterfront and San Diego Convention Center, and minutes away from the San Diego International Airport and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. We are also just steps away from the San Diego Trolley which connects downtown to Mission Valley, Chula Vista, and the International Border. Reinvented with fresh decor and design, our guest rooms and suites provide superior accommodations for individual travelers, business groups, event groups and families. Each of our rooms offers luxury bedding, free high-speed Internet and microwaves, refrigerators and safes in every room. After sightseeing or a day of meetings, enjoy delicious California cuisine at THE LOBBY or grab a snack at our 24-hour market. At the Courtyard San Diego Downtown, we're ready to serve up what you want - where you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
San Diego Courtyard
San Diego Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing