We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Option in San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Central
Ranked #95 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Good Option in San Diego”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Good option, quiet hotel, nice breakfast. Only issue was to go up the stairs of a second floor room with a ton of luggage, include two new 29" and 25" new Samsonite pieces after being to Carsbald Outlet on the road from LA. We got a very nice Studio Suite with a Queen Bed, nice kitchen facility and everything else that we needed. The room rate was excellent as well, less than USD 99 per night. Would be back for the facilities and price, but could look somewhere else if we need something more central.

Actually stayed in February 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodlamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi rodlamas and thank you for your review of the Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego central. I am sorry that you had to carry your luggage up the stairs. Unfortunately, there are no elevators on the entire property. We would have loved to have helped you with your luggage had we known.

Hopefully your travels will bring you back to San Diego and to our hotel in the future.


At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    102
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
173
53
8
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We chose this hotel based on the previous trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed! All the staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we stepped in. They suggested some sights to see during our vacation, including restaurant suggestions with vouchers! We were able to borrow a playpen and a high chair for our 7 month old daughter for the duration of our stay. The breakfast included part was wonderful, and they also had 3 customer appreciation night dinners while we were there on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday nights. This was particularly nice, as after a day of sight-seeing, our daughter did not usually have the patience for another hour or two at a restaurant. The pool is heated and the outside fire pit was a nice touch. There is a small fitness center, and some tennis courts that we saw older kids using as well. The room was very nice, had a beautiful kitchenette stocked with tea, coffee and popcorn, and was always kept clean. I would highly recommend this hotel for families, couples or solo travelers. If we ever go back to San Diego, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi Stephanie P. Thank you so much for your review of our property. Your review was thorough and I am especially proud of the staff that was able to exceed your expectations. we work hard on service and I am so happy that we were able to deliver. The evening social hours are an added bonus and our guests appreciate the value and quality that is associated with this. we look forward to hosting you on your return trip to San Diego and wish you the happiest of travels.


At Your Service,



Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here one night only but plan to go back to stay a few nights to relax. This hotel has a very nice pool area, outdoor patio with fire pit and a great indoor eating space. The happy hour/food "Italian night" was delicious. Our room was beautifully decorated and spacious. We will come back on our next visit and plan to stay a few days! Also, the staff was more than helpful, cheerful and very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 884KathyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi 884KathyG and thank you for your feedback on your stay at our hotel, The Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central. I am so happy that you enjoyed the amenities that the hotel offers such as the pool and firepit. The evening social hour is also well-received by our guests. The staff also works hard to deliver exceptional service and I am glad that we were able to deliver on that promise. Than ks again for your review and please come back and stay with us the next time you are in San Diego.

At Your Service,



Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanton, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

From the friendly staff, heated pool to the large room and complimentary breakfast, this is the place to stay. Took my family and my mom and this place fit us all. We visit Marriott's often and this is by far the friendliest staff. We needed extra towels they brought them. A forgoten toothbrush, no problem. We played in the pool and then sat by the fire pit. I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had the suite, a large king bedroom, a queen loft upstairs and a couch bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa_saldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hi melissa_saldana...and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central. We work hard to deliver exceptional guest service and I am so happy that our staff was able to deliver. I will share your comments with our entire staff tomorrow at our employee luncheon. Your comments truly reinforce our mission each day which is to service our guests and deliver top notch, quality service. Thank you again.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois US
Level Contributor
186 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

You know that feeling that you get upon first interaction with a hotel? Is this going to be good, mediocre or bad? Well, from the get go, this hotel was perfect. You honestly can't expect staff to be better. They are that good. The hotel has recently been renovated. Staff and management are working hard to please customers and smiling all the time! A special thanks to Michelle, Jose, Ivan and Marj...among others that are nameless at the moment. The breakfast and manager's receptions are prepared very well. The dining area is large enough, we never felt cramped. Grounds and buildings are well maintained. A studio room worked well for two people and a dog. If you've stayed in the original style RI's before (which we prefer) you know you have a choice of 2 bedrooms upstairs with a loft or studios or one bedrooms down. This facility seems to have only studios down but the room was plenty large and well designed. If you have the opportunity to avoid a suite "pod" rule out 17. It's location picks up the most noise. We slept well in a mid property East side suite which runs even numbers from about 6 or 8 to number 14. There's not much traffic noise anywhere on the property. Room cleaning staff is responsive and non-intrusive. The location of the hotel is about 10 -15 minutes from most places. Easy access to the 163/805 and 15. Visits to Hill Crest, Mission Bay, Pacific-Mission and Ocean beaches, Torrey Pines, North Park and Balboa Park never seemed to take long to travel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi Richard B. WOW! You really started the day out great for the entire staff at this hotel. I can't wait to print your comments and share them with the entire staff today at our daily huddle. We really work hard to deliver exceptional guest service. This starts when the guest enters the hotel and continues until the guests checks out with us. Service is critical to the success of our Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central and comments such as your help to reinforce our mission. Thank you! Thank You! for taking the time to recognize Marj, Jose and Ivan. They are truly exceptional employees and a tremendous asset to our hotel. We look forward to hosting you on your return trip to San Diego.

At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Four family members enjoyed fine accommodations. A full kitchen with all accoutrements, master bedroom with French doors, sofa bed in adjoining room and an upstairs loft with a queen bed. The beds were extremely comfortable; the rooms including two full bathrooms were very clean. The villa we stayed in was very quiet. We spent time in the spa and swam in the pool which was warm. The buffet breakfasts offered considerable choices: scrambled eggs, hot oatmeal, waffles, yogurt, sausages, fruit and gourmet coffee. The service was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The villa was perfect for a family. It was a relief to return in the evenings after difficult visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veetsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi Veetsala! Thank you so much for your review of our Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central. I am so happy that you were able to take advantage of the pool, spa and the other wonderful amenities we offer. You are welcome back any time. Happy travels and thanks again.

At Your Service,

Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint George, Utah
Level Contributor
102 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We just returned from a three-night stay at this wonderful Residence Inn, which was our second time staying at this hotel. This Residence Inn is the condo-style so you feel like you are in an apartment rather than a hotel. It has been renovated since our first visit and is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are beautifully furnished and have everything you could want; sitting area, dining table and kitchen. The bathroom is great as there is a large counter area and plenty of room to put things away if you want to. There is a large mirror beside the counter which is perfect for those of us who can't see without glasses to put make-up on. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable.

I love the location of this Residence Inn...it's convenient to everywhere in San Diego and the outlying areas. The grounds are lovely and a great place for walking if you have a dog with you. There is a nice patio with fire pit which many people were enjoying while we were there.

The breakfast was great with lots of variety. I believe they also serve a light dinner three nights a week.

About the staff.....WONDERFUL! The customer service here is just the best. If you are looking for the perfect place to stay in San Diego, the Residence Inn San Diego Central would be it. I highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 388lovetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hale1922, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego Central, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi 388lovetravelin! Thank you so much for your comments regarding our Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego Central. I love the fact that enjoyed our newly renovated hotel and all the amenities that we offer. I was especially pleased to hear that the staff was able to deliver exceptional service. We work hard to exceed our guest's expectations and I am so happy that we were able to hit the mark. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to hosting you on your next trip.



At Your Service,


Jonathan Correll
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
5.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Mission Valley
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Central
Courtyard San Diego Central
#11 of 279 in San Diego
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Sorrento Mesa/Sorrento Valley
7.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Rancho Bernardo/Scripps Poway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Central

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Central
Address: 5400 Kearny Mesa Road, San Diego, CA 92111
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Central 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® San Diego Central Kearny Mesa is an upscale San Diego, California extended stay all-suite, apartment style hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the heart of the inland area of San Diego County. With easy access to Interstates 5, 805, and 15, we're the perfect home base for excursions to the many popular attractions that draw visitors from around the world. Beautiful La Jolla, Mission Valley, Coronado Island, the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the San Diego Wild Animal Park, Sea World Adventure Park®, LEGOLAND®, and the vast sunny beaches of San Diego are just short drives from our all-suite upscale hotel in Central San Diego. The San Diego International Airport is about 15 minutes from the hotel as is downtown San Diego and the many attractions that America's Finest City has to offer. Whether you are staying a few days or an extended period, our apartment style suites are sure to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Central Hotel San Diego
San Diego Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing