We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel
Ranked #68 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of December and it was just what we wanted! Walking distance from the Gaslamp Quarter and the harbour which was very handy. We had a really comfy, large room on the 8th floor which had a really nice view (you could just about see the harbour) and the free WiFi was also really handy! The parking was a bit expensive but you seemed to have to pay for valet most places we looked downtown.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Buncel,
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your great view and your stay! As you had mentioned, the Bristol Hotel has a very convenient location within walking distance to all the major downtown attractions- the Gaslamp District, Little Italy, the Convention Center, Petco Park, the harbor and more. Thank you for acknowledging our complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

Valet Parking is available at a cost of $26 per night and we extend 50% discounts when you drive a Hybrid Vehicle. We have intentionally priced ourselves between $8 to $10 less than our competing hotels or surface parking lots to offer the best value possible for our guests.

On behalf of the Bristol Team thank you for selecting our hotel.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    441
    116
    48
    40
See reviews for
168
417
73
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed for 3 days in downtown San Diego at the Bristol.
The room was very nice; simple but adequate room , nicely decorated.
The location of the hotel is excellent; right next to the transit store if you are using public transportation and a block from the Civic Centre trolley station. Our bus to the airport stopped right at the corner by the hotel.
Best of all was the value. This hotel was very inexpensive for the quality of hotel in the downtown area, and it included WiFi and free local calls. Parking is pricey if you have a car, but when we booked, the hotel offered a very good package with parking that added only $15/day to the price of the room.
We will definitely stay at the Bristol on our next trip here.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room - it is a direct view of downtown with a partial view of the bay. For day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraserG5685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear FraserG5685,
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. It is greatly appreciated. As you had pointed out, the Bristol Hotel offers not only a great location, which is walking distance to the Convention Center and the Gaslamp Quarter, but we also provide a great value to our guests with affordable rates, package pricing and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to name a few.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you again for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights over the winter holiday. First night was booked thru the app Hotel Tonight and we loved it so much we stayed another night! They didn't keep the special price we got but they did give us a discount over their normal rate. The concierge was very accommodating and even helped me plan my tour of the city. The offer valet parking and discounts for hybrids! There is a bar/restaurant in the back of the lobby that has a good drink selection and although empty the food was great!
The bed was the most comfortable one on my trip from LA to San Diego.
It's right around the corner from the GasLamp Quarter, right across from Horton Plaza, a great walking district. The view from our room could be better, but only being on the third floor, I didn't expect much.
There is also a piano and computer in the lobby.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 317 doesn't have a good view.
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer discounts to hybrids that valet park with them! Other than that I don't recall any other policies outside the norm.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tifetup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Tifetup,
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back for a return visit! I am so glad you found our staff to be courteous and helpful during your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the Gaslamp Quarter and Horton Plaza.

Our restaurant, the First Avenue Bar and Grille has the best cuisine and “libations” in San Diego and we offer guests of the hotel a 50% discount off of select dinner entrée’s. Thank you for your acknowledgement. As you mentioned, we also offer a 50% discount off of our parking rates when driving a Hybrid vehicle.

Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your future visits. Have a Happy and Healthy New Year!

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Spent the night at the Bristol on Christmas Eve. Nicely furnished room, big bathroom with eco-friendly toilet, big windows that opened for air. We were on the sixth floor facing the street; small amount street noise, but only with windows open (trolley runs quite late). Friendly staff. Excellent food and service in bar and restaurant; we had drinks, dinner and breakfast there, Easy walking distance to Gaslamp. Only complaint was the pillows were rock hard and we did not sleep well. Will return with our own pillows! Parking package a great deal.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryandhumphrey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, Front Office Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear MaryandHumphrey20,
I enjoyed reading your review and I was glad that you enjoyed your comfortable accommodations and several of our in-room amenities. A great deal of thought has gone into providing guests with eco-friendly products and I appreciate your acknowledgement. As you mentioned, the Bristol offers great value, such as our Parking Package as well as offering discounts to guests at our on-site restaurant, which I hope you were able to take advantage of.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for staying with us on Christmas Eve and have a Happy New Year.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Hotel Bristol is right across the street from the San Diego Convention Center, which is where I took the CA Bar Examination in July 2013 (along with 700 other folks). Many of us booked rooms at the Bristol, which was a fantastic choice for those not wanting to deal with parking, etc. during the exam. Warning: daily parking fills up very early at the Bristol if you're planning to valet park here during the exam.

The rooms at the Bristol are comfortable and well-appointed, but the best thing about the Bristol is Debra Sanderlin, Conference and Administrative Manager, on the second floor. Ms. Sanderlin assisted both myself and a friend who (idiotically) lost our admissions tickets to the Bar exam. Without Ms. Sanderlin's help, we both would have had to wait another 6 months to complete the exam, hence pushing our careers back by about one year.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. Your kindness will never be forgotten.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails2069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Happytrails2029,
Thank you for your acknowledgement of a deed well done! I have shared your review with Deb and she was overwhelmed to read that you had taken the time out of your busy day to write your accolades. Debra is one of our best employees and an unsung hero of the Bristol Hotel Team. I remember that day well, when Deb assisted you and your friend in printing out your admissions tickets with just minutes to spare until test time! She was extremely pleased that she could help you in your time of need. The Bristol strives to provide every guest with an exceptional service experience, and we greatly appreciate your recognition.

Congratulations on passing the bar exam and good luck to you and your friend on your career path!

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We loved our three nights at the Bristol Hotel. The valet parking was convenient and we booked a rate that included parking. The room was very nice- comfortable bed, nice bathroom, and clean. The bathrobes and sandals are a nice touch and we had a city view but could see the ocean. No fridge, instead you have a mini-bar. Free wi-fi worked great. Location couldn't be much better. We were able to walk to the Gas Lamp and to the harbor. Great experience- I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08Bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear 08Bandit,
Thank you for your wonderful review and I will share your comments with the Bristol Team. They will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as the mini-bar/snacks, complimentary WiFi, slippers, robes and great view. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed our central, downtown San Diego location, walking distance to the Gaslamp and Harbor.

We hope you are able to come stay with us again soon.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful. It is located near a tram stop and near the old town trolley stop too. This made it easy to get around, we only rented a car for two days to drive out to La Jolla. We did stay our first night in a room facing the main street. It was loud even with earplugs (which they provide) We asked to be moved to the opposite side of the hall and they had no problems with that and it was much quieter for sleeping. Other than that it was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Laura R,
Thank you for a great review! As you had mentioned the Bristol is situated in a great location. We are walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter and the trolley stop is around the corner, which will take you to many of the top attractions in San Diego. I am so glad you were able to take advantage of this! Our rooms facing west, have great views of the city’s beautiful skyline and waterfront with its tall ships and like every major, urban city you will hear from time to time the sounds of a typical bustling city. As noted, rooms on the opposite side facing east, tend to be quieter. I was also pleased to read you were able to visit La Jolla, just a short drive away.

On behalf of the Bristol team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your return visits.

Happy New Year!

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
1,372 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#29 of 279 in San Diego
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
The Horton Grand Hotel
#66 of 279 in San Diego
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-4890
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel, a premier boutique hotel in downtown San Diego, offers extreme comfort and friendly service whether your travel is for business or leisure. The Bristol Hotel is a fresh take on modern style - our sophisticated atmosphere awaits you in our contemporary lobby and throughout our eclectically styled San Diego hotel rooms. This modern flair continues throughout the lounge and banquet facilities and is sure to be a perfect choice for business, leisure, group functions, meetings and special events. This downtown hotel’s superb location is within blocks of the Gaslamp Quarter, fine dining, world-class shopping at Horton Plaza, the Cruise Ship Terminal, the Convention Center, Petco Park, Theatre District, East Village, Little Italy, San Diego Concourse and the San Diego Bay. This pet-friendly San Diego hotel is only a short drive to any of the many sunny beaches, the San Diego Zoo, and SeaWorld. The Bristol Hotel is one of only seven hotels in San Diego to receive the Green Eco-Leaf Rating and is also a certified member of the California Green Lodging Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing