We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, central, and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #71 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, central, and modern”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My friend and I were on a road trip in California, and of the four hotels we visited, this one was the best. The room was clean, comfortable, and had the necessary amenities including a hair dryer, iron, toiletries, coffee maker, and fridge. We had trouble with the fridge not being cool enough so we called the front desk and a gentleman was up in minutes with a new fridge. The staff were friendly and the hotel is in a great location - just a few minutes from Seaport, the ocean, the gas lamp district, etc. The only thing I would have liked would have been a complementary breakfast, although I understand that breakfast could be purchased at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly_bopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Jilly_bopper,
Road Trip?! That sounds like fun! Thank you for rating the Bristol as the best hotel out of the four that you stayed at and thank you for writing a great review! I am glad you liked our spacious rooms and a number of our complimentary amenities like in-room refrigerators, coffee makers, complimentary Wi-Fi, hairdryers and more. Our location is great as well and I am glad you were able to take advantage of it during your stay with a visit to Seaport Village, the Gaslamp and more.

Thanks again for including us in your road trip adventure and for your nice review.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    446
    117
    48
    41
See reviews for
172
424
73
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a great hotel for our weekend holiday. Located downtown and right around the corner from a trolley stop, getting to wherever you wanted to go was easy. Many of the fun places in San Diego (Seaport Village, bay front, Gaslamp District, Petco Park and Little Italy) were within walking distance. The hotel staff were very courteous and attentive, excellent room service. Our room was spectacular, with a great view of the bay. Excellent hotel for the price and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Though on the street side, the rooms located on the upper floors north end offer views of the bay...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was very impressed with their excellent environmentally-friendly practices
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Jeff D,
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Bristol Hotel, with a great view of the bay!
As you mentioned, we are walking distance to most of the major downtown attractions, especially those along the waterfront, which includes our popular Seaport Village; Petco Park is nearby as well as Little Italy, Gaslamp Quarter, Convention Center and Horton Plaza for shopping. I was happy to read you ordered room service and that you will stay with us again!

Thank you for your complimentary comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

San Diego was our favourite place on our California road trip, and this hotel is a little gem. The rooms are large and very clean, with slippers and dressing gowns for a more homely feel. We were welcomed so warmly when we arrived by the lady at the desk, I think her name might have been Jasmine? It is about 5 minutes to the Gaslamp district which we absolutely loved. We stayed Sunday-Tuesday so probably a quieter time, but we found it to have lots of atmosphere and great bars and restaurants- try one of the Mexican places! Our room overlooked the street but were not disturbed by noise at all in the night. Would thoroughly recommend the Trolley Bus tours, the guides are fantastic and the trip to San Diego Old Town is not to be missed! Wish we had longer in this beautiful, friendly city, will definitely stay here again if we have the fortune to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Emily H,
Thank you for a great 5-star review!!! As we say - all roads lead to the Bristol Hotel! I am happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our special touches including our plush robes and slippers. We're also glad you enjoyed our clean, spacious and nicely appointed guestrooms, which are “quiet” for an urban hotel.

Thank you for mentioning our excellent location within walking distance to the Convention Center, the Gaslamp Quarter, Seaport Village, Petco Park, Horton Plaza for shopping and the many live music and theater venues that surround us.

Jazmine, is a recent employee, and like many of our staff members, she is very friendly and delightful and we will be sure to share your comments with her and place them in her employee file.

Emily H, on behalf of the Bristol Team we thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we sincerely appreciate your accolades; please visit us again soon!.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

excellent hotel - just celebrating 1st year anniversary - so everything still very fresh and new - well situated near Horton Plaza - within 5 -10 mins of Gas lamp quarter, and 15 minutes pleasant walk to convention centre. Staff incredibly helpful and pleasant and several nice touches - like providing 2 $1 vouchers for drinks in bar, free printing of boarding cards, free wifi, half price entrees in restaurant for hotel guests (incredibly good value with high quality 'healthy' and v tasty options - try the signature chicken! would definitely use this again if ever back in San Diego

Green Features: encourage re-use of towels and bed linen, half or full flush for loo
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Janet S.,
Thank you for a nice review! We are happy to read you enjoyed our downtown San Diego location near the convention center, Horton Plaza and the Gaslamp. Thank you for mentioning our complimentary business center and our friendly and courteous Reception Desk Employees who are here to assist you with your every need. I am glad you liked our on-site restaurant, the FIRST avenue bar & grille, as well as the drink vouchers.

Thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we hope you are able to visit us from the UK again soon.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a stylish boutique hotel in the Gaslamp district. The location cannot be beat, as we were within 2 blocks of restaurants and shopping. We loved our room! It was large and well appointed. There was the standard hair dryer, coffee maker, safe, iron, ironing board, and even a refrigerator. And the bed was so comfortable! The decor was delightful and included a fresh flower and candies. The room was clean, and well maintained. The maid service was excellent. There were earplugs in case you needed them, but the room was very quiet, and we were even near the elevator. The staff were friendly and very responsive, and the valet service was also very good. They were fast and courteous. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear KI,
Wow, thank you for a great review and I am glad that your visit was memorable. I will be sure to pass along your comments to the Parking Valet Staff, Reception Agents and our Housekeepers. From the valet to housekeeping to the reception agents, thank you for acknowledging our friendly and responsive staff! I am also pleased you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable accommodations with a variety of amenities. As you mentioned, our downtown San Diego location is close to shopping, restaurants and the Gaslamp, and can’t be beat.

On behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for selecting the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your future visits.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We booked this because of the location. It turned out to be convenient, but we didn't really care for the gaslamp district (too much of a frat party vibe), but the hotel was not so close to that area to be annoying. As others have noted, you do hear drunk people yelling on the street late at night.

Otherwise, the room was clean and spacious (we had a superior king room on the corner). The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was easy to walk to places, and also easy to get on the highway for driving up to La Jolla or other spots.

It was a good value, and if you want to stay downtown, it seems like a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parkplace09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristolMGR, General Manager at The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your spacious and comfortable guest room!

As you mentioned, we are conveniently located in downtown San Diego. If the Gaslamp District isn't for you, we are also very close to Little Italy, Seaport Village, the San Diego Zoo, and the Convention Center.

I'm happy to hear you felt the Bristol Hotel offers a great value for the dollar. The next time you visit us, feel free to take advantage of our 50%-off dining offer on select dinner entrées for overnight guests, available at FIRST Avenue Bar & Grille. Our valet parking also offers a 50% discount should you be driving a hybrid vehicle.

On Behalf of the Bristol Team, thank you for staying at the Bristol Hotel and we look forward to your return visits.

Yours truly,
Gregory T. Rizzi
General Manager
Bristol Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed just one night at The Bristol Hotel. It's walking distance to the convention center (not right across the street, but, it's definitely doable!), close to shopping and a variety of restaurants. Note that parking is $26 per day, but it's valet, and you may come and go as you please.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#79 of 278 in San Diego
1,399 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 278 in San Diego
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel

Property: The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Address: 1055 1st Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#27 Business Hotel in San Diego
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bristol Hotel is a boutique hotel located near San Diego's Gaslamp District and features a variety of amenities for business or leisure travellers. The hotel is a San Diego events and bridal shower venue and also offers meeting space, modern pet-friendly guest rooms, an on-site lounge, fitness center and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing